全球黄金需求趋势 2021年第三季度

全球黄金需求趋势 2021年第三季度

第三季度全球黄金需求同比下降7%,至831吨

全球黄金ETF持仓规模的下降抵消了其他领域黄金需求的持续复苏

第三季度全球黄金需求量(不含场外交易)同比下降7%,至831吨。此次下降几乎全部源自黄金ETF – 从2020年第三季度的大量流入转为今年第三季度的小幅净流出– 抵消了本季度其他领域黄金需求的复苏势头。金饰、科技用金、金条和金币需求量远高于2020年同期。即便第三季度全球央行净购金量不大,但相比2020年第三季度的小幅净售金的情况还是有所改善。而因回收金供应的显著下跌,全球黄金总供应同比下降了3%。

在全球经济持续复苏的背景下,全球金饰需求表现良好:第三季度需求量同比回升33%,达到443吨。

全球金条和金币投资同比增加18%,达到262吨。许多投资者利用了8月金价的显著回调逢低买入。

全球黄金ETF仅27吨的净流出却造成了整体黄金需求不小的同比降幅,这主要是去年同期的高基数:2020年第三季度全球黄金ETF净流入达274吨,显著推升了当期总黄金需求。

尽管增速相比近几个季度有所放缓,但全球央行购金步伐未停。第三季度的全球黄金储备净增长69吨,今年前三季度的总体增幅达到将近400吨。

受电子产业持续复苏的影响,全球科技用金需求量为84吨,同比增长9%,已恢复至疫情前的季度平均水平。

 

全球黄金ETF现小幅净流出,抵消了其他领域黄金需求的强劲复苏

全球黄金ETF现小幅净流出,抵消了其他领域黄金需求的强劲复苏

第三季度分板块全球黄金需求,吨

全球黄金ETF现小幅净流出,抵消了其他领域黄金需求的强劲复苏
来源:金属聚焦公司,世界黄金协会

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*数据截至2021年9月30日

亮点

第三季度的金价均值为1,789.5美元/盎司,环比略降。但与去年同期相比,却有同比6%的跌幅:2020年8月,美元金价创历史新高。当前利率预期和投资者风险偏好均处于上升状态,黄金表现与这一宏观环境以及供需动态保持一致。

今年前三个季度,全球黄金需求同比下降9%。前三季度,央行购金翻了一番,金饰需求量增长了50%,但这仅能部分抵消全球黄金ETF的净流出。而与疫情前的2019年水平相比,目前的需求仍然明显疲软。

今年一至三季度,全球黄金总供应与去年同期持平。稳步增长是今年全球矿产金供应的主基调,今年截止第三季度,金矿产量同比增幅达5%,但回收金供应同比却减少了12%以上。

我们对2021年全年的展望与今年前三季度的黄金需求表现基本一致持续的经济复苏将使金饰需求和科技用金受益;同时,我们预计持续的通胀担忧会支撑黄金的投资需求,但与2020年创纪录的流入量相比,当前的黄金ETF需求仍显疲软。此外,各国央行的积极态度将使今年的净购金量高于往年平均水平。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Rate this content:

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2021

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2021

Q3 gold demand down 7% to 831 tonnes

ETF outflows outweighed continued recovery in other sectors 

Gold demand (excluding OTC) fell 7% y-o-y to 831t in Q3. This drop was almost exclusively driven by ETFs – which swung from very large inflows in Q3 2020 to modest outflows this year – overshadowing strength in other sectors of demand during the quarter. Jewellery, technology and bar and coin were significantly higher than in 2020. Modest central bank purchases were a solid improvement on the small net sale from Q3’20. Supply was down 3% y-o-y due to a significant drop in recycling.

Jewellery continued to draw strength from the ongoing global economic recovery: Q3 demand rebounded 33% y-o-y to 443t. 

Bar and coin investment increased 18% y-o-y to 262t. The sharp August gold price dip was used by many as a buying opportunity.

Small outflows from global gold ETFs (-27t) had a disproportionate impact on the y-o-y change in gold demand, given the hefty Q3’20 inflows of 274t.  

Central banks continued to buy gold, albeit at a slower pace than in recent quarters. Global reserves grew by 69t in Q3, and almost 400 y-t-d.

Technology gold demand grew 9% y-o-y, driven by continued recovery in electronics. Demand of 84t is back in line with pre-pandemic quarterly averages.

 

ETFs switched to minor outflows, negating strong recovery in other sectors of gold demand

ETFs switched to minor outflows, negating strong recovery in other sectors of gold demand

Q3 demand by sector, tonnes*

ETFs switched to minor outflows, negating strong recovery in other sectors of gold demand
Q3 demand by sector, tonnes*
*Data to 30 September 2021. Source: Metals Focus, World Gold Council

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*Data to 30 September 2021.

 

Highlights

The gold price averaged US$1,789.5/oz in Q3, marginally lower than the Q2 average. The y-o-y comparison shows a 6% fall, reflecting the August 2020 record high US dollar price. Gold’s performance is consistent with its demand and supply dynamics and a macro environment of higher interest rates and risk-on investor appetite. 

Year-to-date, gold demand is 9% lower. A doubling of central bank buying and 50% growth in jewellery demand over the first three quarters only partly offset the decline in ETF demand. Y-t-d demand remains notably weaker when compared with the same pre-pandemic period of 2019.

Gold supply is flat y-t-d. Mine production has steadily increased throughout 2021 and the y-t-d total is up 5%, but recycling has slowed down significantly, contracting by more than 12% over the same period.  

Our full-year 2021 outlook shows a picture similar to the year so far. Ongoing economic recovery will benefit jewellery and technology; investment should draw support from continued inflation fears but relatively modest ETF flows compare negatively with 2020’s record inflows. Central banks are poised for an above-average year of net purchases.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]

Rate this content: