央行

黄金需求趋势2020年第三季度

2020年10月29日

央行

第三季度全球各国央行小幅减持,成为黄金净卖方

  • 全球各国央行从上半年的黄金净买家变为第三季度的净卖家,净减持12吨黄金储备
  • 共有六家央行增加了黄金储备(>1吨),但增量温和
  • 土耳其(-22吨)和乌兹别克斯坦(-35吨)占了售金的大部分。
2019年第
3季度
2020年第
3季度
年同比变化
各国央行和其他机构 141.9 -12.1    -

自2011年初以来,各国央行在每个季度连续净买入黄金,但在今年第三季度出现小幅减持成为黄金净卖方,使得全球黄金储备减少了12.1吨。尽管如此,今年年初截至第三季度末的全球央行黄金需求共计220.6吨,各国央行仍然是黄金净买家。我们预计,2020年各国央行仍将保持黄金净买家的身份,但增持速度较前两年会有所降低。

 

第三季度,各国央行十年来首次转变为黄金净卖方

第三季度,各国央行十年来首次转变为黄金净卖方

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

第三季度全球各国央行的黄金需求反映了两个趋势:一是随着时间的推移,各国央行购金活动放缓,二是第三季度售金量有所增加。1 

常规买家央行仍在增持黄金。尽管本季度全球央行总体上净减持了黄金储备,但仍有六家央行在第三季度的黄金储备增加了一吨或更多,即使总购金量仅为33吨。新冠疫情继续造成广泛的经济困难,困扰着世界各国的中央银行和政府。疫情加剧了不确定性,促使包括各国央行在内的许多投资者都在寻求能够在危机时期分散风险并保护其投资组合价值的资产。主权债券在许多国家的储备资产中所占比例最大,其低利率和负利率对各国央行的打击尤为沉重。本季度,阿拉伯联合酋长国(+7.4吨)、印度(+6.8吨)、卡塔尔(+6.2吨)、吉尔吉斯共和国(+5吨)、哈萨克斯坦(+4.9吨)和柬埔寨(1吨)是本季度引人注目的常规黄金买家。

售金:数量大且集中。第三季度报告的全球央行总售金量跃升至78.9吨,这一增长主要集中在土耳其和乌兹别克斯坦这两个国家的中央银行。

第三季度,土耳其的黄金储备减少了22.3吨,这是该央行自2018年第四季度以来首次出现季度黄金减持。土耳其拥有一系列可能影响官方储备水平的黄金政策工具,特别是在需求较大的时候。2 8、9月份土耳其国内黄金需求上升,导致商业银行和央行之间的黄金交易活动增加,从而导致黄金储备减少。但从年初戒指第三季度末,该国仍是最大的黄金购买国,共增加了148.7吨黄金。目前其官方的黄金持仓量为561吨,占其外汇总储备的47%。

8月,土耳其黄金矿产商协会负责人Hasan Yucel表示,预计今年土耳其全国黄金产量将增长44%。他还表示,自2017年以来,土耳其央行一直是所有国产黄金的唯一购买者,这种情况今年可能仍会持续下去。3

乌兹别克斯坦在第三季度减少了34.9吨的黄金储备,使年初戒指第三季度末的净售金量达到28.6吨。尽管第三季度售出黄金的数量很大,但307吨的黄金储量仍占其外汇总储备的56%。该国今年的黄金出口量有所增加,因为它希望在金价上涨之时,利用其黄金储备应对新冠疫情对国内经济产生的影响。4 在本季度,其他主要售金央行分别为塔吉克斯坦(-9.2吨)、菲律宾(-7.8吨)、蒙古(-2.4吨)和俄罗斯(-1.2吨)。5

脚注

  1. 所有国家级的数据都是根据国际货币基金组织在本报告发布时公布的最新可用数据。综合数据是基于金属聚焦公司提供的专有估计数据,其中可能包含更多最新信息。

  2. 2017年,土耳其出台了立法,赋予其中央银行对所有国产黄金的优先购买权。www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-08-24/turkey-s-record-gold-output-is-all-headed-for-the-central-bank?sref=3W4oJZsn

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2020

29 October, 2020

Central Banks and other institutions

Central banks were modest net sellers in Q3

  • Central banks switched from net buyers in H1 to net sellers of 12t in Q3
  • Six central banks increased gold reserves (>1t), but volumes were modest
  • Turkey (22t) and Uzbekistan (35t) accounted for the bulk of sales.
Tonnes Q3'19 Q3'20 YoY
Central banks & others 141.9 -12.1    -

Following continuous quarterly net purchases since the beginning of 2011, central banks switched to being modest net sellers in Q3, reducing global gold reserves by 12.1t. Nevertheless, central banks remain net purchasers on a y-t-d basis, with demand for the first three quarters totalling 220.6t. We continue to expect central banks to remain net buyers in 2020, albeit at a slower pace than in the previous two years.

 

Central banks turned net sellers in Q3, the first time in ten years

Central banks turned net sellers in Q3, the first time in ten years

Data as of

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Activity in Q3 reflects two trends: a slowdown in purchases as the year has progressed combined with higher sales, which increased during the last quarter.1 

More buying from familiar faces. Despite the quarterly net sales, six central banks increased their reserves in Q3 by a tonne or more, although total gross purchases were a modest 33t. COVID-19 continued to inflict widespread economic hardship, and this pre-occupied central banks and governments around the world. Uncertainty has been elevated by the pandemic, motivating many investors – including central banks – to seek assets that will diversify and protect the value of their portfolios in times of crisis. Central banks have been particularly hard hit by the low and negative interest rates on sovereign bonds, which make up the largest proportion of reserve assets for many. United Arab Emirates (7.4t), India (6.8t), Qatar (6.2t), Kyrgyz Republic (5t), Kazakhstan (4.9t), and Cambodia (1t) were notable, and familiar, buyers during the quarter.

Sales: sizable but concentrated. Reported gross sales jumped to 78.9t in Q3, with the rise mainly attributable to two central banks: Turkey and Uzbekistan.

Turkey reduced gold reserves by 22.3t during the quarter, the first quarterly decline since Q4 2018. Turkey has a range of gold policy tools which can affect the level of official reserves, especially at times of greater demand.2 Higher domestic gold demand in August and September led to heightened gold trading activity between commercial banks and the central bank, resulting in this decline. But on a y-t-d basis, the country remains the biggest gold buyer, adding 148.7t. Its official gold holdings now amount to 561t and 47% of total reserves. In August, Hasan Yucel, the head of Turkey’s Gold Miners Association, indicated that national gold production was expected to increase by 44% this year. He also stated that since 2017 the central bank has been the sole buyer of all domestic output and that will likely continue this year.3

Uzbekistan reduced its gold reserves by 34.9t during Q3, bringing y-t-d net sales to 28.6t. Despite the sizable sale in Q3, gold reserves of 307t still account for 56% of total reserves. The country has seen a rise in gold exports this year as it looks to utilise its gold reserves, capitalising on higher prices to combat the economic impact of the pandemic.4 Tajikistan (9.2t), Philippines (7.8t), Mongolia (2.4t), and Russia (1.2t) were the other notable sellers during the quarter.5

Footnotes

  1. All country-level figures are based on latest available data reported by the IMF at the time of publication. Aggregate figures are based on proprietary estimates provided by Metals Focus, which may incorporate more up to date information.

  2. In 2017, Turkey introduced legislation giving its central bank the right of first refusal on all domestically produced gold. www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-08-24/turkey-s-record-gold-output-is-all-headed-for-the-central-bank?sref=3W4oJZsn

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]