供应

黄金需求趋势 2019年第三季度

2019年11月05日

供应

得益于2016年以来的最高黄金回收水平,第三季度的全球黄金供应量增长了4%

  • 第三季度金矿产量同比下降1%,今年前三季度同比保持平稳 
  • 6月至9月的价格上涨促使2019年的生产商净套保水平提高
  • 今年第三季度,黄金回收总量达到354吨,是2016年第一季度以来的最高季度回收量
2018年第
3季度
2019年第
3季度
同比变化
供应量 1,179.7 1,222.3 4%
金矿产量 883.3 877.8 -1%
生产商对冲额 -24.1 -9.2    -
再生金量 320.6 353.7 10%

金矿产量

第三季度金矿产量略低,为877.8吨(同比下降1%)。但仍高于851.9吨的五年季度平均水平。今年前三季度金矿产量为2,583.4吨,与2018年同期基本持平。 

2019年前三季度的全球金矿产量与去年同期持平

2019年前三季度的全球金矿产量与去年同期持平

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

今年第三季度,墨西哥黄金产量同比增长11%。由于当地社区和承包商之间的争端,Peñasquito的生产一度暂停,但随着生产的恢复,产量也有所提高。然而,争端似乎并没有结束;随着谈判破裂,在本季度末,生产再次暂停。受几座矿场产量增长的推动,澳大利亚的黄金产量同比增长7%,,而加纳的黄金产量(4%)则受益于Ahafo和Akyem增产计划。尽管俄罗斯第三季度金矿产量与去年同期持平,但我们继续看到该国增加了多个开采项目,尤其是在远东地区。

中国的黄金产量本季度再次同比下降(-4%),原因是该行业继续受到2017年出台的严格的环境法规的影响。在美国,由于内华达州包括Cortez和Goldstrike在内的多家金矿的计划产量下降,导致全国金矿产量略有下滑(-1%)。南非劳工行动尾声的影响严重阻碍了上半年的生产,南非黄金产量下滑6%。秘鲁金矿产量下降了12%,这是由于矿山调度不当导致的等级下降的结果。印尼的产量在第三季度同比下降幅度最大,下降了41%。除了Batu Hijau的产量受到限制(露天矿场第7期扩建,铜精矿受限,当地冶炼能力不足))的原因之外,造成这一结果的原因还有Grasberg的高等级矿石已然耗竭,以及从露天开采向地下采矿的过渡。

成本的小幅上升并未对利润率造成重大影响。尽管许多主要生产国的货币兑换美元的汇率仍然较低——这有助于降低美国以外 地区的运营成本——但第二季度全球平均总维持成本(AISC)有所上升(最新可用数据)。这一增长反映了持续的运营问题,例如劳工行动和矿山计划过渡。尽管如此,总维持利润率仍然保持着非常健康的水平,这在很大程度上要归功于金价的大幅上涨。而金矿商并未因获得较高的利润而开始开采低品位矿石。

生产商套保

在第三季度,初步估计显示,黄金矿商将全球套保总量减少了9.2吨。1在此之前,上半年套保净值为47.5吨,使得全球套保总量在6月底达到265.8吨,为2018年第一季度以来的最高水平。

金价上涨为生产商提供了绝佳的扩张套保头寸的战术性机会。 2019年的套保活动是对金价大幅上涨的直接回应。最近一年,国际黄金价格上涨超过了200美元/盎司(+16%),但许多主要生产国的货币升值使这一涨幅显得黯然失色。尤其是澳元、俄罗斯卢布和加元等货币都处于或接近历史最高水平。然而,尽管较高的黄金价格促使一些矿商建立新的仓位,但有些矿商可能以此为契机重组现有头寸。

回收

第三季度回收金的供应量增长了10%,至353.7吨。今年前三季度,黄金回收总量为963.1吨,同比增长8%以上。这是自2016年以来的最高水平,今年前三个季度更高的价格环境引发了一波回收潮。实际上,2019年第三季度是自2016年第一季度以来的最高季度回收水平,远高于五年的季度平均水平。

在第三季度金价上涨的带动下,回收金供应显著上升

在第三季度金价上涨的带动下,回收金供应显著上升

注:五年季度平均水平指的是14年第3季度至19年第2季度
 

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

与2016年一样,黄金回收量的增长主要是由金价的大幅上涨推动的。国际黄金价格(美元/盎司)继第二季度上涨了9%之后,在第三季度又上涨了5%。但在许多主要市场,当地的黄金价格令这一状况有所改善。再加上全球经济放缓,导致消费者继续抛售部分黄金。 

在中东,土耳其和伊朗却反其道而行之。尽管中东地区大多数市场在黄金回收量在第三季度有所增加,但土耳其和伊朗的回收量却有所下降。在土耳其,同比变化受到18年第三季度较高回收水平的影响,当时当地金价飞涨,吸引了几乎所有准备卖出黄金的消费者。但是,由于价格仍保持在创纪录的高位附近,可能会在第四季度催生更多的回收金供应。在伊朗,消费者的情绪受到相对较低的黄金价格的影响,由于里亚尔的升值,黄金价格从最高点下跌了20%左右。

随着金价屡创新高,印度的回收金总量在第三季度出现大幅增长。金价在8月份大幅上涨,达到38,795卢比/10克左右,随后在9月初突破39,000卢比/10克,较年初上涨24%。在这种创纪录的价格水平上,消费者的注意力集中在出售黄金而不是购买黄金上。第三季度的回收金供应量与第二季度金价开始上涨时的情况类似。由于金价上涨,中国第三季度的黄金回收水平也明显提高。

在第二季度小幅增长后,北美和欧洲的西方市场的黄金回量在第三季度继续增长。在欧洲,以欧元和英镑计价的的创纪录黄金价格带来了更高的回收量。

脚注

  1. 所有数字均为临时数据,因此在获得更多数据后可能会进行修订。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2019

5 November, 2019

Supply

Total supply rose 4% in Q3, boosted by the highest level of recycling since 2016

  • Mine production softened 1% y-o-y in Q3, flat y-o-y on y-t-d basis 
  • The June to September price rally encouraged higher levels of net producer hedging in 2019
  • Recycled gold volumes reached 354t in Q3, the highest quarterly total since Q1 2016
Tonnes Q3'18 Q3'19 YoY
Total supply 1,179.7 1,222.3 4%
Mine production 883.3 877.8 -1%
Net producer hedging -24.1 -9.2    -
Recycled gold 320.6 353.7 10%

Mine production

Mine production was fractionally lower at 877.8t in Q3 (-1% y-o-y). This is comfortably above the five-year quarterly average of 851.9t. On a y-t-d basis, mine production now amounts to 2,583.4t, virtually unchanged from the same period in 2018. 

Y-t-d mine production is virtually unchanged from 2018

Y-t-d mine production is virtually unchanged from 2018

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Gold output in Mexico saw an 11% increase y-o-y in Q3. Output was boosted as operations resumed at Peñasquito, having been suspended due to a dispute between local communities and contractors. However, the dispute does not seem to be over; operations were suspended again towards the end of the quarter as talks broke down. Gold production in Australia rose 7% y-o-y, boosted by incremental increases at several mines, while Ghanaian gold production (4%) benefitted from scheduled output increases at both Ahafo and Akyem. And while Russian Q3 mine production was flat y-o-y, we continue to see a ramp up of several projects in the country – particularly in the Far East region.

Chinese gold production suffered another quarter of y-o-y declines (-4%) as the industry continues to be impacted by the strict environmental regulations introduced in 2017. In the US, mine production was marginally weaker (-1%) due to lower scheduled output from several Nevada mines – including Cortez and Goldstrike. South African gold output (-6%) was impacted by the tail end of industrial action, which hampered production significantly in H1. Peru’s 12% decline in mine production was a consequence of falling grades due to mine scheduling. Indonesian output saw the largest y-o-y decline in Q3 – down 41%. This was due to the exhaustion of higher-grade ore at Grasberg and transitions from open pit to underground mining, as well as output constraints at Batu Hijau (phase seven open pit expansion, as well as copper concentrate limits and a lack of local smelting capacity).

Slight increase in costs has not dented margins significantly. Despite many key producer currencies remaining weak against the US dollar – which helps reduce costs at operations outside of the US – global average all-in sustaining costs (AISC) increased during Q2 (the latest data available). This rise was reflective of ongoing operational issues, such as industrial action and mine plan transitions. Despite this, all-in sustaining margins remained very healthy, thanks in large part to the significant increase in the gold price. There appears to be little indication that the industry has begun mining lower grade ore in response to the higher margins.

Producer hedging

In Q3, early estimates indicate that gold miners reduced the global hedge book by 9.2t.1 This follows net hedging of 47.5t in H1, which brought the global hedge book to 265.8t at the end of June, its highest level since Q1 2018.  

Tactical opportunity for more hedging. Hedging activity in 2019 has been a direct response to the impressive rise in the gold price. Y-t-d, the international gold price has risen by more than US$200/oz (+16%), but this has been eclipsed by the price rise in many key producers’ currencies. The price is at, or near, record highs in Australian dollars, Russian rubles and Canadian dollars, among others. However, while the higher gold price has encouraged some miners to enter fresh positions, some may have used it as opportunity to restructure existing positions.

Recycling

Recycled gold supply grew 10% in Q3, to 353.7t. On a y-t-d basis, gold recycling totals 963.1t, over 8% higher y-o-y. This is the highest level since 2016, when a higher price environment prompted a wave of selling back in the first three quarters. In fact, Q3 2019 is the highest level of quarterly recycling since Q1 2016, and significantly above the five-year quarterly average.

Recycled gold levels responded strongly to the price rally in Q3

Recycled gold levels responded strongly to the price rally in Q3

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Note: Five-year quarterly average covers Q3'14 to Q2'19.

As in 2016, growth in gold recycling was primarily driven by a significant rise in the gold price. In Q3, the international gold price – in US$/oz – rose by 5%, following a rise of 9% in Q2. But this was bettered by the local gold price in many key markets. This, coupled with the global economic slowdown, resulted in consumers continuing to part with some of their gold holdings. 

In the Middle East, Turkey and Iran bucked the trend. While most markets in the region saw an increase in recycling during Q3, recycling declined in Turkey and Iran. In Turkey, the y-o-y change was impacted by the high levels of recycling seen in Q3’18 when the local price soared, flushing out near-market supplies. But as the price remains near record highs more recycled supply may be coaxed out during Q4. In Iran, consumer sentiment was affected by the relatively low level of the gold price – around 20% down from its peak due to the strengthening rial.

Recycled gold in India saw a dramatic increase in Q3, as the gold price hit multiple record highs. The gold price rose sharply in August, to around Rs38,795/10g, before going on to break the Rs39,000/10g level at the beginning of September, 24% higher than at the start of the year. At such record price levels consumers’ focus remained on selling rather than buying. Recycled gold supply in Q3 was similar to Q2 when the price rally began. China, too, saw noticeably higher gold recycling levels in Q3 owing to the higher gold price.

Following the modest increase in Q2, recycling in the western markets of North America and Europe continued to rise during Q3. In Europe, record prices in both euros and pounds sterling lead to higher levels of selling back.

Footnotes

  1. All figures are provisional so may be revised when more data is made available.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]