投资

黄金需求趋势 2019年第三季度

2019年11月05日

投资

投资同比增长一倍: ETF格外强劲的资金流入,抵消了零售金条和金币需求疲软的影响

  • 投资需求同比增长110%,达到408.6吨 
  • 9月,全球黄金ETF持仓量创下2,855吨(约合1,360亿美元)的历史新高,超过了上一峰值——2012年12月的2,841吨
  • 由于金价高企和经济疲软,金条和金币的需求跌至11年的低点
2018年第
3季度
2019年第
3季度
  同比变化
投资 194.4 408.6 110%
金条和金币总需求量 298.2 150.3 -50%
印度 34.4 22.3 -35%
中国大陆 88.0 42.8 -51%
黄金ETFs及类似产品 -103.8 258.2    -

ETF

受2016年一季度以来最高的258.2吨的单季度流入的推动,第三季度全球黄金ETF持仓量创下历史新高,达到2,855.3吨。这一里程碑超越了2012年末全球黄金ETF持仓量创下的前高,当时的金价几乎比近期水平高出200美元/盎司。以价值计算,由于金价在本季度末跌至1,500美元/盎司以下,全球黄金ETF的资产管理规模(AUM)在季末达到1,360亿美元,略低于近期高点。

9月,全球黄金ETF持仓量创下新高

9月,全球黄金ETF持仓量创下新高

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 上海黄金交易所, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

第三季度,投资者对黄金的总体情绪依然乐观。金价在6月份开启涨势,且美元金价在9月份升至6年高点。金价上涨在一定程度上反映出当前的全球货币政策决策——最明显的是:美联储的降息,欧洲央行宣布将恢复量化宽松政策——也反映了持续的地缘政治不确定性、全球经济放缓以及全球负利率主权债务的水平。在9月创下历史新高的COMEX黄金净多头仓位,也增强了投资者对黄金的积极情绪。

流入北美上市的黄金ETF的资金是该季度整体规模增长的主要来源。第三季度,北美基金的持仓量增长了184.9吨,占全球增量的70%以上。在美元黄金价格不断上涨的吸引下,北美黄金ETF该季度每月都有大量资金流入。更为宽松的货币政策对此也产生支撑作用,美联储选择在第三季度降息两次——每次降息25个基点——并暗示今年还可能进一步降息。在2019年剩余的时间里,货币政策的方向很可能会进一步影响黄金价格和投资者的流向,这在我们的 《年中展望》 和最近法国巴黎银行在《黄金投资者》上的文章中都有所提及。

以英国和德国上市的黄金ETF为首,欧洲的资金流入更为多样化。第三季度,在欧洲上市的黄金ETF的持仓量增加了55.8吨,使总持仓量创下超过1,290吨的历史新高。

由于对英国脱欧谈判走向的担忧继续困扰着投资者,英国黄金ETF的持仓量在第三季度增长了28.6吨。围绕这个问题持续存在的不确定性从最高法院的一场斗争可见一斑,最高法院最终裁定英国首相鲍里斯•约翰逊“暂停议会”是非法的,而这除了进一步削弱英镑,没有其他实质作用。面对英国“硬退欧”的预期持续升温,许多英国投资者开始寻求避险资产。

德国投资者担心全球工业产值下降会将德国经济拖入衰退,因此小幅增持了13.1吨在德国上市的黄金ETF。全球经济增长和贸易的不确定性给依赖出口的德国经济造成了损失。而且预期依然疲弱:10月初,德国ifo研究所的《2019年联合经济预测》将德国经济增长率从0.8%下调至0.5%。在这种背景下,政府债券收益率仍维持在负值区间,降低了持有黄金的机会成本。7月和8月,10年期国债的收益率继续下跌,并于9月初创下-0.725%的历史新低。

全球其它地区的黄金ETF资金流入规模有限。第三季度亚洲地区的黄金ETF持仓规模增长了14.3吨。因投资者受金价上涨的吸引,中国上市的基金——主要是华安易富黄金ETF和博时黄金交易型开放式证券投资基金——是这一增长的主要驱动。截至第三季度末,中国的黄金ETF的总资产管理规模总计达到169亿元人民币(合24亿美元),创下历史新高。其他地区黄金ETF持有量增加了4吨,总数达到35吨,仅为2009年底峰值水平的一半。

金条和金币

全球金条和金币需求同比下降一半,降至150.3吨,为2008年第一季度以来的最低季度水平。该领域今年前三季度的需求同样黯淡:前三个季度的金条金币需求处于2009年以来的最低水平。以多种货币计价的黄金价格的飙升,导致许多市场的零售投资者等待价格回调,或卖出一部分所持黄金以实现获利。但是需求的疲软不仅与价格有关。中国和印度等主要黄金市场的家庭收入受到通胀上涨和经济增长放缓的双重挤压。 

因金价高企,2019前三季度的金条和金币的需求降至2009年以来的最低水平

因金价高企,2019前三季度的金条和金币的需求降至2009年以来的最低水平

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

由于国内黄金价格创多年新高,中国的金条和金币需求下降了51%,至42.8吨,为三年来的最低水平。8月29日,上海黄金交易所的黄金现货合约Au9999升至369.2元/克,达到8年来的最高水平。许多投资者并没有在高价之际入市,而是等待金价回调。 

此外,可支配收入也受到挤压。中国第三季度的经济增长放缓至6%,是27年来的最低增速;同时,受非洲猪瘟影响,国内生猪存栏量出现下滑,致使通胀升至3%。

与低迷的实物市场形成鲜明对比的是,本季度黄金投机活动大幅增加。尽管较高的黄金价格对消费者没有吸引力,但一些投机者将其视为一个机会。由于短期交易者押注价格上涨,8月份,上海黄金交易所保证金交易的黄金合约Au(T+D)的交易量飙升至2,894吨,创下新的纪录高点。 

印度金条和金币需求跌至2009年第一季度以来的最低水平。本已高企的金价在第三季度进一步飙升至39,011卢比/10克,再加上经济不景气,导致零售投资下降至22.3吨,同比下降35%。尽管金价快速上涨,但净卖出量却有限,交易商报告称,许多投资者仍持有金条和金币,期待金价进一步上涨。 

印度的黄金投资需求面临来自其他主流投资渠道日益激烈的竞争。在历史高位徘徊的BSE SENSEX指数 令零售投资者的注意力转向了股市,且今年前三季度的股市成交量创下了2009年以来最高水平。更重要的是, 印度共同基金协会(AMFI) 实施了一场精心策划的营销活动,吸引资金持续不断地流入系统性的投资计划(为定期的固定储蓄提供的投资计划,每月最低只需500卢比),这引起了印度千禧一代的注意。

东南亚最大的黄金市场泰国第三季度出现了罕见黄金投资需求的净下滑,这是10年来的首次。 经济放缓加上美元黄金价格高企,促使一些投资者卖出手中所有的黄金,以锁定部分利润。第三季度黄金投资需求净下滑13.5吨,回购主要由当地生产的金条组成,它们随后被运往瑞士精炼厂,重新提炼成更高纯度的金条,供应国际市场。 

中东所有的市场连续第二个季度出现同比收缩,因为消费者纷纷避开不断上涨的黄金价格,并在持续的经济低迷中苦苦挣扎。第三季度该地区金条与金币需求为17.6吨,其中伊朗占12.6吨。该地区出现了一个亮点:因阿联酋希望提升其作为全球黄金和珠宝贸易中心的地位,该国的政策发展可能会对该地区的黄金需求起到推动作用。

在第三季度,土耳其是独一无二的存在——它是我们数据中唯一的零售投资呈现同比增长的市场。该地区需求上升了45%,至6.7吨。不过,这一增长比例是与2018年第三季度的疲软状况相比的,并不是因为存在真正强劲的零售投资需求。而与2019年第二季度相比,需求下降了32%,因为许多投资者在金价上涨之际高位卖出,根据伊斯坦布尔证券交易所的数据,金价在8月29日升至创纪录的288.9里拉/克。 

第三季度,欧洲金条和金币需求下降了38.9%。今年前三季度的需求量为108.5吨,是2008年以来的最低水平。由于投资者纷纷在9月4日45,200欧元/公斤的创纪录金价上高位卖出,大多数的欧洲市场需求出现了两位数的跌幅。驱动欧洲黄金ETF资金流入的经济和政治不确定性,对零售投资需求影响甚微。 

美国需求同比下降2.9吨,但有改善的迹象。尽管需求仍然相对疲软,并且二级市场的金币继续向德国出口,但交易商报告称,市场的双向交易变得更加健康,一些投资者因近期价格下跌而进入该市场。 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2019

5 November, 2019

Investment

Investment doubled y-o-y: exceptionally strong ETF inflows offset weak retail bar and coin demand

  • Investment demand rose 110% y-o-y to reach 408.6t
  • Gold-backed ETF holdings hit a record high in September of 2,855t (US$136bn), surpassing the previous peak in December 2012 of 2,841t
  • Bar and coin demand slumped to an 11-year low in response to high gold prices and weakening economies
Tonnes Q3'18 Q3'19   YoY
Investment 194.4 408.6 110%
Bar & coin 298.2 150.3 -50%
  India 34.4 22.3 -35%
  China 88.0 42.8 -51%
Gold-backed ETFs -103.8 258.2    -

ETFs

Holdings in gold-backed ETFs hit an all-time high of 2,855.3t in Q3, as investment in global products grew by 258.2t – the highest level of quarterly inflows since Q1 2016. This milestone eclipses the late 2012 peak in holdings, when the gold price was almost US$200/oz higher than recent levels. In value terms, global assets-under-management (AUM) climbed to US$136bn, slightly off recent highs as the gold price dipped below US$1,500/oz at the end of the quarter.

Holdings in global gold-backed ETFs reached a new record in September

Holdings in global gold-backed ETFs reached a new record in September

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Overall sentiment towards gold remained positive in Q3. The gold price rally, which began in June, saw the US dollar price reach a six-year high in September. The rally is partly a reflection of ongoing global monetary policy decisions – most notably, the Federal Reserve (Fed) cutting rates and the European Central Bank announcing that it would resume quantitative easing – but also of continued geopolitical uncertainty, a global economic slowdown, and the level of negative-yielding sovereign debt. This positive sentiment was also reinforced by COMEX net longs, which hit all-time highs during September.

Inflows into North American-listed funds accounted for the bulk of the quarter’s growth. Holdings in North American funds grew by 184.9t in Q3 – over 70% of the global total. Strong inflows were seen each month during the quarter as the rising US dollar gold price attracted further investment. This was supported by more accommodative monetary policy, with the Fed opting to cut rates twice in Q3 – by 25 basis points on each occasion – as well as signalling the potential for an additional cut this year. The direction of monetary policy is likely to further influence the gold price, and investor flows, during the remainder of 2019, something covered in our mid-year outlook  and more recently by BNP Paribas in Gold Investor.

European inflows were more diverse, with UK- and German-listed funds leading the way. Holdings in European-listed gold-backed ETFs rose by 55.8t in Q3, bringing overall holdings to a record high of more than 1,290t.

UK-listed funds grew by 28.6t in Q3 as concerns over the direction of Brexit negotiations continued to rattle investors. The ongoing uncertainty surrounding the issue, exemplified by the Supreme Court battle that ended with the ruling that Prime Minister, Boris Johnson, had unlawfully suspended Parliament, only served to weaken the pound further. Facing the growing prospect of a hard Brexit, many UK investors sought safe haven assets.

German investors, fearing that the economy would be dragged into recession by a fall in global industrial output, added a modest 13.1t to German-listed gold-backed ETF holdings. The uncertainty around global growth and trade has taken a toll on Germany’s export-reliant economy. And the outlook remains weak: at the start of October, the ifo Institute’s Joint Economic Forecast for 2019 was revised from 0.8% to 0.5%. Against this backdrop, government bond yields remained rooted in negative territory, reducing the opportunity cost of holding gold. The yield on 10-year bunds continued to fall during July and August, recording a new all-time low of -0.725% at the start of September.

Inflows into gold-backed ETFs in the rest of the world were modest. Asian-listed funds grew by 14.3t in Q3. Chinese funds – primarily Huaan Yifu Gold ETF and Bosera Gold Exchange Trade Open-End Fund ETF – accounted for most of this increase as investors were attracted by the rally in the gold price. By the end of Q3, AUM in Chinese gold-backed ETFs totalled RMB16.9bn or US$2.4bn, marking a new record high. Gold-backed ETFs in other regions added 4t to their holdings, which brought the total to 35t – half of the end-2009 peak.

Bar and coin

Global bar and coin demand halved y-o-y, dropping to 150.3t, its lowest quarterly level since Q1 2008. The y-t-d picture is similarly bleak: cumulative demand in the first three quarters was at its lowest level since 2009. A soaring gold price across multiple currencies has prompted retail investors in many markets to either wait in anticipation of a price dip or sell a portion of their holdings to realise profits. But the weakness in demand is not just price related. Households in some major gold markets, such as China and India, have had their incomes squeezed by a combination of rising inflation and slowing economic growth. 

Y-t-d bar and coin demand lowest since 2009 amid higher prices

Y-t-d bar and coin demand lowest since 2009 amidst higher prices

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

China’s bar and coin demand fell 51% to 42.8t, its lowest level in three years, as the domestic gold price hit a multi-year high. On 29 August, Au9999, the Shanghai Gold Exchange’s (SGE) physically-backed contract, hit RMB369.2/g, its highest level in eight years. Rather than enter the market at that level, many investors sat back in the hope of a price correction. 

In addition, disposable income is being squeezed. Economic growth in Q3 slowed to 6%, its slowest pace in 27 years, and inflation edged up to 3%, spurred on by the impact of African Swine Flu on the domestic stock of swine.

In contrast to a lacklustre physical market, gold speculation soared during the quarter. While the higher gold prices were unappealing to consumers, some speculative investors saw this as an opportunity. Trading volumes of Au(T+D), the SGE’s margin-traded gold contract, surged to 2,894t in August, creating a new record high as short-term traders bet on higher prices. 

Indian bar and coin demand slumped to its lowest level since Q1 2009. The already high gold price surged even higher in Q3 to reach Rs39,011/10g which, coupled with a faltering economy, pushed retail investment down to 22.3t, a fall of 35% y-o-y. Despite the rapid uptick in the gold price there was limited net selling, with dealers reporting that many investors were holding on to their bars and coins in the expectation of further prices rises.  

Gold demand in India faces increasingly competitive threats from other mainstream investment opportunities. Retail investors’ attention has been captured by equities, with the BSE SENSEX flirting with record highs and y-t-d trading volumes at their highest since 2009. But, more importantly, a well-executed marketing campaign by the Association of Mutual Funds in India (AMFI) has generated sustained inflows into systematic investment plans (investment plans that facilitate regular, fixed savings from as little as Rs500 a month), capturing the minds of India’s millennials.

Thailand, South East Asia’s largest gold market, experienced a rare quarter of net disinvestment in Q3 – its first in ten years. A slowing economy coupled with high dollar gold prices encouraged some investors to liquidate their holdings and lock in some profits. Net disinvestment in Q3 totalled -13.5t, consisting mainly of locally minted bars that were subsequently shipped off to Swiss refineries to be re-refined into higher purity bars for the international market. 

Every market in the Middle East contracted y-o-y for the second consecutive quarter, as consumers shied away from high and rising gold prices and struggled amidst continued economic malaise. Regional demand in Q3 was 17.6t, with Iran accounting for 12.6t. There was one bright spot: policy developments in the UAE may prove to be a boost for the region, as the country looks to enhance its position as a global hub for gold and jewellery trade.

Turkey was unique in Q3 – it was the only market in our dataset where retail investment grew y-o-y. Demand rose 45% to 6.7t. The percentage growth, however, was in comparison to a weak Q3 2018 rather than being due to any genuine strength in underlying retail investment demand. When compared to Q2 2019, demand slumped 32%, as many investors took advantage of the increase in the gold price, which according to the Borsa Istanbul rose to a record high of TRY288.9/g on 29 August. 

European bar and coin demand fell 38.9% in Q3. Y-t-d demand was 108.5t, the lowest level since 2008. Most markets experienced double digit declines as investors took profits off the back of the record high gold price of €45,200/kg, attained on 4 September. The economic and political uncertainty that has spurred European gold-backed ETF inflows has had little effect on retail investment demand. 

Demand in the US was down 2.9t y-o-y, but there were signs of improvement. While demand remained relatively soft, and coins in the secondary market continued to be exported to Germany, dealers reported a healthier two-way market with some investors entering the market on recent price dips. 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]