金饰

黄金需求趋势2018年第三季度

2018年11月01日

金饰

第三季度金价下跌吸引消费者,促使金饰需求增长6%

  • 印度金价下跌吸引了逢低买入者,金饰需求增长10%
  • 在七夕节的推动下,中国的需求继续增长
  • 一些中东市场的需求出现大幅下滑
2017年第
三季度
2018年第
三季度
同比变化
全球总量 505.8 535.7 6%
印度 134.8 148.8 10%
中国 158.5 174.2 10%

价格敏感型消费者逢低买入,推高了第三季度的需求。金饰需求同比增长6%至535.7吨。印度、中国和多个东南亚市场都出现了可观的同比增长,伊朗、土耳其和阿联酋的需求则大幅下滑。

金价下跌成为很多市场的买入机会

金价下跌成为很多市场的买入机会

来源: Datastream, ICE基准管理, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

注:2018年1月1日指数水平 = 100

印度

印度的金饰需求连续两个季度同比下跌,在第三季度增长10%至148.8吨。虽然该季度需求旺盛——与147.5吨的5年季度均值基本持平——但这个同比增幅应该与需求较为疲软的2017年第三季度相比。去年第三季度需求惨淡,原因在于,为了应对新出台的全国性商品服务税,一些消费者在第二季度提前进行购买。2017年8月,印度《防止洗钱法案》扩大监管范围,适用于珠宝首饰行业,令金饰零售商疲于应对。1

2018年第三季度的需求在8月初获得提振,当时印度国内金价跌穿每10克29,700印度卢比——这是1月以来的最低水平。这吸引了逢低买入的消费者,他们一直在等待一个良好的入市时机。由于印度卢比兑美元贬值,8月中旬国内金价暴涨。传统节日和结婚季过后,需求在8月底和9月放缓。在不吉利的祭祖节(Shraaddh,又称 PitruPaksha)期间,消费者暂停购买黄金,金饰需求进一步放缓。2

第三季度的洪灾对喀拉拉邦的金饰需求仅产生了轻微影响。重要的黄金购买中心喀拉拉邦7月和8月发生的严重洪灾对黄金需求产生了负面影响;该地区的金饰商反映了欧南节(Onam)期间不温不火的销量。3 但该季度的婚 礼支撑了需求,帮助抵消了洪灾的影响。

8月的黄金跌价虽然有助于提振该行业,但突显了珠宝商面临的一个结构性挑战。零售商提高销量的主要战略一直是低价促销。例如,在节日期间提供价格折扣或有吸引力的黄金以旧换新计划。虽然一些有组织的大型零售商培育了品牌,但几乎没有投入有针对性的品牌营销活动。消费者的品位不断变化,来自其他产品类别的竞争 也不断加强,金饰行业必须确保开发出符合潜在消费者需求的产品和营销活动。

中国

第三季度中国金饰需求总量达到174.2吨,同比增长10%。需求受益于该季度的七夕节和中秋节,但7天国庆假期的销量却乏善可陈,因为消费者选择了旅游而不是购物,尤其是一线和二线城市的消费者。

七夕节(中国的情人节)的金饰销量强劲。近年来,所有产品类别的零售商都将这个节日当成一个购物时机来开发,这个战略在年轻消费者当中被证明尤其有效。虽然台风山竹对深圳和香港一年一度的主要珠宝展览会产生了轻微影响,但多家制造商仍然表示销量有可观的增幅。

中国的金饰市场继续增长

中国的金饰市场继续增长

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 汤森路透黄金矿业公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

零售商延续了近年来的趋势,更善于创新产品。3D硬金产品的表现再次超越所有其他产品类别。3D硬金产品对零售商和消费者都有吸引力,为前者提供了高利润率,为后者提供了时尚设计。24K黄金的需求——依然是最大的细分市场——在日益丰富的产品组合推动下也出现了明显涨幅,与此同时,消费者的品位转向了更高端的产品。4 9999和99999(分别是纯度为99.99%和99.999%的黄金)等超高纯度产品也表现良好,虽然需求似乎不高。

中东和土耳其

面对地缘政治压力,中东金饰需求依然低迷,同比下滑12%至37.7吨。 伊朗的金饰需求连续第二个季度出现该地区最大跌幅,第三季度同比下滑近60%。该国遭受新的经济制裁,伊朗里亚尔大幅贬值,致使年初至今的需求缩减了36%。相比之下,免收增值税的金条和金币受益于避险买入。详情请阅读“投资”部分。.

第三季度不断上涨和波动的金价致使土耳其的需求同比暴跌31%。在充满政治和经济不确定性的背景下,该季度的金价走势促使消费者继续观望。国内金价在年初达到最高点后,8月中旬再次大涨至273土耳其里拉/克的日内高点,当时土耳其里拉兑美元跌至史上最低水平。这催生了一波回收潮,而不是新的金饰(和投资)购买量。由于整个第三季度期间的价格波动性都很高,金饰消费者的购买决策受到影响。

埃及以17%的金饰需求同比增幅脱颖而出。 这标志着近年来陷入低迷的埃及市场连续第三个季度出现增长,虽然是与一个低基数时期相比。金饰购买量增长的原因是该国的经济状况不断改善。埃及镑企稳——此前在5月下跌超过1.5%——并且消费者如今习惯了较高的金价(在第三季度略有下跌),这也有利于黄金。

伊朗和土耳其的黄金需求暴跌使埃及的小幅增长相形见绌

伊朗和土耳其的黄金需求暴跌使埃及的小幅增长相形见绌

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

阿联酋和沙特阿拉伯的金饰需求南辕北辙。阿联酋的金饰需求跌至6吨(同比下滑13%),原因是该市场继续受到去年出台的5%增值税、整体经济下行和失业担忧的影响。印度卢比的贬值也影响了阿联酋重要的印度籍群体的需求。阿联酋金饰需求的走向依然存疑,尤其是正值一些零售商首次出现亏损之际。沙特阿拉伯的金饰需求同比增长7%至11.9吨。由于沙特里亚尔与美元挂钩,国内消费者可以获得金价下跌带来的所有好处,与此同时,日益上涨的油价增强了他们的信心。

西方国家

美国的金饰需求依然旺盛,在第三季度增长4%至28.3吨。 整个季度经济信心高企,标普 500 指数上涨超过7% 。这帮助增加了可支配的金饰支出,尤其是素黄金饰品。蒂芙尼(Tiffany’s)和Signet等零售商最近几个月都有盈利,为美国金饰市场的更乐观前景提供了支撑。

整个欧洲的金饰需求在该季度几乎不变,同比增长1%至12.7吨。但国家层面的情况比较复杂。法国和意大利都出现了经济停滞,世界杯让法国人分心,影响了金饰需求。在英国,退欧引发的不确定性依然压制着需求。

亚洲其他地区

东亚和东南亚金饰需求增加。在第三季度,所有亚洲主要市场金饰需求的增长都是国内金价下跌直接促成的。

在泰国,对货币进一步贬值的担忧和国际金价的下跌吸引了渴望逢低买入的消费者,使金饰需求增长12%至3.1吨。对本币进一步贬值的担忧提振了黄金销量,尽管 最近几个月的本币小幅升值。印尼和马来西亚的金饰需求都同比增长了11%,主要原因是国内金价下跌,而对印尼卢比进一步贬值的担忧支撑了印尼的避险买入。受 益于金价下跌、强劲的国内经济增长和本地货币疲软,越南的金饰需求同比增长10%。

脚注

  1. 宗教意义中,在这两周内印度教徒购买黄金被认为是不吉利的。

  2. 欧南节(Onam)是喀拉拉邦的秋收节。

  3. 彰显传统24K制金工艺的“古法金”的出现与成功,是中国当代金饰市场的创新典范。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Jewellery

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2018

1 November, 2018

Jewellery

Jewellery demand up 6% in Q3 as lower gold prices enticed consumers

  • Indian jewellery demand grew 10% as the price dip attracted bargain hunters
  • Demand continued to improve in China, boosted by the Qixi Festival
  • Substantial declines were seen in some Middle Eastern markets
Tonnes Q3'17 Q3'18 YoY
World total 505.8 535.7 6%
India 134.8 148.8 10%
China 158.5 174.2 10%

Price-conscious consumers took advantage of a declining gold price to boost Q3 demand. Demand for jewellery increased by 6% y-o-y, to 535.7t. India, China and several South-East Asian markets saw respectable y-o-y increases, while demand in Iran, Turkey and the UAE fell significantly.

Gold price decline proved to be a buying opportunity in many market

Gold price decline proved to be a buying opportunity in many markets

Sources: Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Note: Index level 01/01/2018 = 100

India

After two consecutive quarters of y-o-y declines, Q3 saw jewellery demand in India grow by 10% to 148.8t. While demand was firm  during the quarter – virtually in line with the five-year quarterly average of 147.5t –  the y-o-y growth  should be viewed in comparison to a relatively weak Q3’17. Demand suffered in the third quarter last year, as some purchases were brought forward into Q2 in anticipation of the new pan-India Goods & Services Tax. And in August 2017, gold jewellery retailers grappled with the extension of the Prevention of Money Laundering Act (PMLA) and its application to the gems and jewellery sector.1

Q3’18 demand was boosted in early August when the local gold price dipped below Rs29,700/10g – the lowest level since January. This attracted bargain-hunting consumers who had been waiting for a good time to enter the market. Mid-August saw a sharp rise in the local gold price as the rupee depreciated against the US dollar. Outside the traditional festival and wedding season, demand eased towards the end of the month and into September. Jewellery demand was further dampened by the inauspicious period of Shraaddh (also known as Pitru Paksha), a time when gold purchases are put on hold.2

Q3 Kerala jewellery demand was impacted only marginally by floods. Heavy floods in the important gold-buying centre of Kerala during July and August negatively impacted gold demand; jewellers in the region reported muted sales during Onam.3 But demand was buoyed by marriages during the quarter, helping to offset the impact.

While the price dip in August was a helpful boost to the industry, it highlighted a structural challenge jewellers faces. Retailers’ main strategy to generating sales has been to compete on price. For example, offering price discounts or attractive gold-for-gold exchange programmes during festivals. While a few large, organised retailers have developed brands, little effort has been put into tailored marketing campaigns. As consumer tastes change, and competition from other product categories intensifies, the industry needs to ensure it develops products and marketing campaigns which meets potential consumers’ desires. 

China

Chinese jewellery demand totalled 174.2t in Q3, a 10% increase over Q3’17. Demand benefitted from the Qixi and Mid-Autumn festivals that took place during the quarter but sales were lacklustre during the National Holiday week as people chose travel over shopping, especially those in tier 1 and 2 cities.

Jewellery sales during the Qixi festival (China’s equivalent of Valentine’s Day) were strong. Over recent years, retailers across all product categories have developed this festival as a buying occasion, a strategy that has proved especially effective amongst younger consumers. And despite the major annual jewellery fairs in Shenzhen and Hong Kong being slightly disrupted by Typhoon Mangkhut, several manufacturers reported healthy sales growth.

China's jewellery market continued to grow

China's jewellery market continued to grow

Data as of

Sources: GFMS, Metals Focus, Thomson Reuters, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Extending the recent trend, retailers are becoming more adept at developing innovative products. 3D hard gold products again outperformed all other product segments. These appeal to retailers and consumers alike, providing high-margins to the former and contemporary designs to the latter. 24-carat demand – still the largest segment of the market –  also saw a notable rise thanks to an evolving product mix, with a shift towards more premium pieces.4 Ultra-high purity products such as 9999s and 99999s (99.99% and 99.999% pure gold respectively) performed well, although demand appears to be limited.

Middle East and Turkey

Middle Eastern jewellery demand remained under pressure in the face of geopolitical stress, down 12% y-o-y to 37.7t. Iranian jewellery demand saw the largest fall in the region for the second consecutive quarter, down almost 60% y-o-y in Q3. Y-t-d, demand has shrunk by 36%, suffering under renewed economic sanctions and the steep decline in the rial. By contrast, VAT-exempt bars and coins benefited from a flight to safety. Please see the investment section for more detail.

A rising and volatile gold price during Q3 saw demand in Turkey slump 31% y-o-y. The trajectory of the gold price during the quarter, set against a backdrop of political and economic uncertainty, convinced consumers to remain on the sidelines. After spiking earlier in the year, local prices again jumped in mid-August to an intra-day high of TL273/g, when the lira fell to an all-time low against the US dollar . This prompted a wave of recycling rather than fresh jewellery (and investment) purchases. As high price volatility continued throughout Q3, jewellery buyers shied away from spending decisions. 

Egypt stood out from the crowd with a 17% y-o-y rise in jewellery demand. This marked the third consecutive quarter of growth for a market that has struggled in recent years, although this is in comparison to a low base period. The increase in jewellery buying was due to continued improvements in the country’s economic situation. Stabilisation of the Egyptian pound – after a fall of over 1.5% in May – and consumers now accustomed to higher gold prices (which eased slightly in Q3), also benefitted gold.

Heavy losses in Iran and Turkey dwarf modest gains in Egypt

Heavy losses in Iran and Turkey dwarf modest gains in Egypt

Data as of

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Jewellery demand in the UAE and Saudi Arabia saw contrasting fortunes. In the UAE, jewellery demand fell to 6t (-13% y-o-y) as the market continued to feel the impact of the 5% VAT introduced last year, as well as a general economic downturn and fears over job security. Depreciation of the Indian rupee also affected demand from the important Indian expat community. The direction of jewellery demand in the UAE remains under question, particularly as some retailers registered losses for the first time. In Saudi Arabia, jewellery demand rose 7% y-o-y to 11.9t. As the riyal is pegged to the US dollar, local consumers were able to benefit fully from the falling gold price, while rising oil prices boosted their confidence. 

The West

Gold jewellery demand in the US remained buoyant, growing 4% to 28.3t in Q3. Economic confidence was high throughout the quarter, with the S&P 500 index rising by over 7%. This has helped boost discretionary spending on gold jewellery, especially plain yellow gold pieces. Retailers such as Tiffany’s and Signet have reported positive results in recent months, supporting a more optimistic outlook for the US jewellery market. 

Europe-wide jewellery demand was little changed in the quarter, up 1% y-o-y to 12.7t. But a more mixed picture emerges at country-level. Both France and Italy experienced economic sluggishness, and the distraction of the World Cup in the former weighed on jewellery demand. In the UK, uncertainty around Brexit remained a drag on demand.

Other Asia

An uplift in jewellery demand was seen across east and south-east Asia. Growth in jewellery demand across all key Asian markets was a direct result of lower local gold prices during the quarter. 

In Thailand, fears of further currency depreciation as well as a dip in the international gold price  attracted bargain-hungry consumers, increasing jewellery demand by 12% to 3.1t. Gold buying was boosted by fears of further devaluation in the local currency, despite a small recovery in recent months. Jewellery demand grew 11% y-o-y in both Indonesia and Malaysia, driven principally by lower local gold prices, while fears of further falls in the rupiah supported safe-haven buying in Indonesia. In Vietnam, jewellery demand benefitted from lower gold prices, strong domestic growth and currency depreciation, rising 10% y-o-y.

Footnotes

  1. A fortnight of religious significance during which it is not propitious for Hindus to buy gold

  2. Onam (late August/early September) is Kharif crop harvest festival, which is celebrated in Kerala

  3. The emergence and success of “antique-crafted gold” – pieces that feature traditional designs in 24K – is an example of the innovation now evident in the Chinese jewellery market.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]