投资

黄金需求趋势2018年第三季度

2018年11月01日

投资

以黄金为依托的ETF遭遇大量卖出;金条和金币需求暴涨

  • 第三季度ETF流出103.2吨。北美占了流出量的73%, 原因是投资者专注于上涨的股票和强劲增长的经济
  • 世界各地的金条和金币投资者都趁金价下跌买入; 需求同比增长28%
  • 股市波动和货币疲软推高了许多新兴市场的需求
2017年第
三季度
2018年第
三季度
同比变化
投资 246.2 194.9 -21%
金条和金币总需求量 233.0 298.1 28%
印度 31.0 34.4 11%
中国 69.3 86.5 25%
黄金ETF及类似产品 13.2 -103.2    -

ETF

全球以黄金为依托的ETF出现了2016年第四季度以来的首次季度外流:该季度的托管资产缩减了103.2吨。 这意味着与去年同期增持13.2吨相比,减少了116吨。虽然流出速度在该季度末有所放缓,但9月依然是连续第4个月外流,创造了2014年以来最长的月度流出期。这抵消了年初的涨幅:截至第三季度末,全球以黄金为依托的ETF流出了42吨。但在10月,流出趋势似乎逆转了,各个地区的ETF整体上出现了增持。

整体需求下滑掩盖了明显的地区差异。作为最大、流动性最好的以黄金为依托ETF市场,北美占了第三季度流出量的73%(75吨左右),以及年初至今流出量的近90%。

这种看空黄金的情绪也出现在美国期货市场,纽约商品交易所报告了2006年以来最低水平的管理资产净做多仓位,投机性净做多仓位自2001年以来首次变成负值。

这主要是由于美国的宏观经济背景向好。股市表现良好,标普500指数、道琼斯指数和纳斯达克指数都在第三季度创下新高。经济高速增长,通胀缓慢爬升,预计美联储将继续收紧货币政策。走出第一季度的低迷后,美元反弹,并一直保持相对强势。美国投资者大体上忽视了对贸易战紧张局面升级的担忧。

流出也受到了惯性的驱动。美元金价在8月上半月下跌3%,这一跌幅在2017年初以来首次跌穿1,200美元/盎司——一个重要的技术支撑点位——之后被放大。

美国投资者专注于强劲的股市表现

美国投资者专注于强劲的股市表现

来源: 彭博社, ICE基准管理, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

第三季度欧洲上市基金的流出量为14吨,较为温和。 该季度风平浪静,投资者活跃度不高。意大利预算引发的担忧和贸易战措辞没有刺激避险买入。但年初至今的需求较为积极:截至第三季度末,欧洲上市基金被增持了37.7吨。

2018年北美和欧洲上市基金截然相反的走势反映了一个长期趋势。欧洲上市基金近年来的全球份额越来越大。在本世纪初期,美国市场在以黄金为依托的ETF数量和托管资产方面都迅速发展,并利用了全球金融危机和后续的欧元区危机来促进欧洲以黄金为依托的ETF市场的发展。近年来的政治不确定性、欧洲主权债务和高评级企业债券的负收益为欧洲以黄金为依托的ETF市场创造了一个繁荣发展的机会。进一步了解该市场的发展,请阅读我们的《市场快讯:德国投资市场》。该快讯展现了以黄金为依托的ETF、金条和金币市场的发展。

欧洲上市黄金ETF在全球资产管理规模中所占的份额日益扩大

欧洲上市黄金ETF在全球资产管理规模中所占的份额日益扩大

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, ICE基准管理, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

第三季度的中国上市ETF也出现了流出,在该季度被流出12.2吨,相当于中国托管资产的20%。中国的ETF吸引了更喜欢投机的投资者,导致ETF流动的波动性高于其他地区。

金条和金币

第三季度全球金条和金币需求反弹恢复至298.1吨,同比增长28%,环比增长20%。不同地区的增速各不相同,大部分市场取得了增长。三个关键因素促使个人投资者在投资组合中增持黄金:

  • 许多市场的价格下跌创造了买入机会
  • 许多新兴市场股市的暴跌刺激了避险买入
  • 对货币进一步贬值的担忧促使一些市场上的投资者转投黄金

金条和金币需求同比增长28%

金条和金币需求同比增长28%

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

全球最大的金条和金币市场出现大幅增长。在第三季度,中国的需求同比和环比大增25%,达到86.5吨,远高于71.4吨和65吨的3年和5年季度均值。

面对脆弱的金融系统,中国投资者在第三季度纷纷买入黄金。随着贸易战紧张局势的升级,国内股票和债券投资者在2018年损失惨重。中国的主要股指沪深300截至9月底下跌15%,

AA+企业债券和中国国家开发银行准主权债券之间的信用利差在同期暴涨至接近190个基点,突显了对国内公司前景的担忧。

该季度金价的下跌被证明是一个买入良机。8月,上海黄金交易所基准金价跌至262元/克,这是2016年来的最低水平。有趣的是,商业银行的金条和金币销量相当好,表明大众零售市场需求强劲。

金价下跌和股市低迷提振了印度需求。 在第三季度,印度的金条和金币需求增至34.4吨,但依然低于43.3吨的3年均值。8月是该季度需求最大的月份,原因是国内金价跌穿29,700印度卢比/10克,跌至2018年最低水平。

金条和金币市场的主要消费者是印度的城市投资者——农村投资者通常投资于22K金饰。1 城市投资者更有可能持有多元化投资组合,对于他们而言,股市波动是一个令人不安的背景。BSE Senex在9月下跌6%,并在10月继续大跌,支撑了金条和金币需求。

亚洲其他地区也有类似的情况。越南、泰国、印尼和马来西亚金价下跌、股市大跌和货币疲软,推高了金条和金币需求。但其他的国家特有因素也产生了影响。马来西亚受益于6%商品和服务税的取消,而泰国市场依然盛传政府可能会仿照印度,打击来源不明的资金。

中东金条和金币市场延续了近期的上行趋势,同比增长144%,环比增长28%。需求达到27.8吨,是2013年第二季度以来的最高水平,当时金价暴跌致使需求达到峰值。

伊朗第三季度延续了近期的积极走势。需求达到21.1吨——2013年第二季度以来的最高水平——占中东市场的四分之三。新的制裁和伊朗里亚尔的暴跌——预期还会继续下跌——支撑了对黄金的避险买入。免收增值税的金条和金币比金饰更受欢迎,后者要缴纳9%的税。

制裁致使伊朗金条和金币需求达到5年半以来最高水平

制裁致使伊朗金条和金币需求达到 5 年半以来最高水平 


来源: GFMS, 金属聚焦公司, Thomson Reuters, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

对于金融不安全和货币疲软的影响,土耳其的金条和金币需求反应并不相同。由于土耳其里拉金价在8月涨至273土耳其里拉/克的创纪录高点,投资者清空了一部分金条和金币持仓来获利。新的净买入量跌至4.6吨,同比下跌69%。

欧洲的需求为51.1吨,同比增长10%。 德国——该国占了欧洲金条和金币投资的一半以上——的需求增长10%至28.4吨。9月底,以欧元计算的金价跌至两年半以来最低的32,638欧元/千克。不同于欧洲ETF市场,意大利的债务及其触发一场更广泛金融危机的可能性引发的担忧促进了个人投资者的避险买入。

美国金条和金币市场走出几个季度的低迷,出现了复苏迹象。需求达到了双位数10.5吨,同比增长74%。增长主要是由6月的逢低买入推动的,当时金价从1,300美元/盎司以上跌至接近1,250美元/盎司。

脚注

  1. 有关印度农村和城市投资习惯的更多信息,请参见2016年12月世界黄金协会发布的《全球投资市场:消费者行为新视角》中的附录。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2018

1 November, 2018

Investment

Significant outflows from gold-backed ETFs; sharp rise in bar and coin demand

  • ETFs shed 103.2t in Q3. North America accounted for 73% of outflows as investors focused on rising equities and strong economic growth
  • Bar and coin investors around the world took advantage of the price dip; demand rose 28% y-o-y 
  • Stock market volatility and currency weakness was a catalyst for demand in many emerging markets
Tonnes Q3'17 Q3'18 YoY
Investment 246.2 194.9 -21%
Bar & coin 233.0 298.1 28%
  India 31.0 34.4 11%
  China 69.3 86.5 25%
Gold-backed ETFs 13.2 -103.2    -

ETFs

Global gold-backed ETFs saw the first quarterly outflows since Q4 2016: AUM fell by 103.2t over the quarter. This represents a 116t decline when compared with inflows of 13.2t  in the same period last year.  While flows decelerated towards the end of the quarter,  September nonetheless was   the fourth consecutive month of outflows, creating the longest period of monthly outflows since 2014. This wiped out gains made earlier in the year: by the end of Q3, global gold-backed ETFs had shed 42t. The trend in October, however, seemed to have reversed as ETFs have generally seen positive flows across regions. 

The overall decline masks notable regional differences. North America, home to the largest and most liquid gold-backed ETFs, accounted for 73% of outflows in Q3 (around 75t) and almost 90% of outflows over the course of the year so far. 

This bearish sentiment towards gold was also present in the US futures market with COMEX reported managed money net longs falling to the lowest level since 2006 and speculative net long positioning turning negative for the first time since 2001. 

This is largely because of the positive macroeconomic backdrop in the US. Equity markets performed well, with the S&P500, Dow Jones and Nasdaq all hitting record highs in Q3.  The economy is motoring, inflation is edging up and the Federal Reserve is expected to continue tightening monetary conditions. And after the low levels of Q1, the US dollar has rebounded and remained relatively strong since. US investors have, by and large, shrugged off concerns around escalating trade war tensions.

US investors focused on strong equity market performance

US investors focused on strong equity market performance

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

The outflows were also momentum-driven. The US dollar gold price lost 3% in the first half of August, a downturn exacerbated when it breached US$1,200/oz – an important technical support level – for the first time since early 2017. 

Outflows from European-listed funds in Q3 were more modest at 14t. The quarter was quiet, with limited investor activity. Italian budget concerns and trade war rhetoric failed to stimulate safe-haven flows. The y-t-d picture, however, is more positive: European-listed funds gained 37.7t to the end of Q3.

The contrasting 2018 fortunes of North American- and European-listed ETFs reflect a longer-term trend. European-listed funds have accounted for an increasing share of the global market in recent years. The US market developed rapidly in the early 2000s, both in terms of the number of gold-backed ETFs and AUM, whereas it took the global financial crisis and subsequent euro area crisis to catalyse the development of the European gold-backed ETF market. Recent political uncertainty, and negative yields on both European sovereign debt and highly-rated corporate bonds, have created an environment for the European gold-backed ETF market to thrive. For more information on the development of this market, please see our  Market Update: German investment market, which shines a spotlight on the development of the gold-backed ETF and bar and coin market.  

European-listed ETFs account for an increasing share of global AUM

European-listed ETFs account for an increasing share of global AUM

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

China-listed ETFs also saw outflows in Q3, losing 12.2t over the quarter, equivalent to 20% of Chinese  AUM. China’s ETFs attract a more speculative investor type, resulting in a relatively high degree of volatility in ETF flows compared to other regions. 

Bars and coins

Global bar and coin demand bounced back in Q3 to 298.1t, rising 28% y-o-y and 20% q-o-q. Growth was geographically diverse, with gains in most markets. Three key factors encouraged retail investors to add gold to their portfolios:

  • A price drop in many markets created a buying opportunity
  • Steep losses on many emerging market stock exchanges spurred a flight to safety
  • Concerns about further currency weakness prompted investors in some markets to turn to gold

Bar and coin demand rose 28% year-on-year

Bar and coin demand rose 28% year-on-year

Data as of

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

The world’s largest bar and coin market saw significant growth. Demand in China shot up 25% y-o-y and q-o-q to reach 86.5t in Q3, comfortably above its three- and five-year quarterly average of 71.4t and 65t respectively.  

Investors flocked to gold in Q3 against a backdrop of financial vulnerability. Domestic equities and bonds have suffered in 2018 as trade war tensions have escalated. The CSI 300, China’s leading equity index, dropped 15% to the end of September, and the credit spread between AA+ corporate bonds and the quasi-sovereign China Development Bank bond ballooned to almost 190bps over the same period, highlighting concerns about prospects for domestic companies.   

The quarter’s price dip proved a good buying opportunity. In August, the Shanghai Gold Exchange benchmark gold price dropped to RMB262/g, its lowest level since 2016. Interestingly, commercial banks’ gold bar and coin sales performed relatively well, indicating strong demand from the mass retail market. 

Demand in India was encouraged by lower prices and equity weakness. India’s bar and coin demand picked up in Q3 to reach 34.4t, but remains below its three-year average of 43.3t. August was the strongest month of the quarter as the domestic gold price fell below Rs29,700/10g, dropping to its lowest 2018 level. 

The bar and coin market is predominantly the preserve of the urban India investor – rural investors typically invest in 22ct jewellery.1 Urban investors are more likely to hold a well-diversified portfolio and, for them, equity market volatility created an unsettling backdrop.  In September the BSE Senex fell 6% and has continued to tumble in October, supporting demand for bars and coins.

The picture was similar elsewhere in Asia. A fall in the gold price, tumbling equity markets and depreciating currencies in Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia boosted bar and coin demand. But other country specific factors were in play.  Malaysia benefited from the removal of 6% GST and rumours remained rife in the Thai market that the government may follow India’s lead and clamp down on unaccounted money. 

The Middle East bar and coin market has continued its recent up trend, rising 144% y-o-y and 28% q-o-q. Demand reached 27.8t, its highest level since Q2 2013, a period when demand spiked in response to a sharp fall in the gold price. 

Recent positive momentum continued in Iran in Q3. Demand hit 21.1t  - the highest since Q2 2013 – and accounted for three-quarters of the Middle East market. Renewed sanctions and the plummeting rial – with expectations for it to fall further – underpinned this flight to gold. VAT-free bars and coins were preferred over jewellery, which is subject to 9% tax. 

Sanctions push Iranian bar and coin demand to a five-and-a-half year high

Sanctions push Iranian bar and coin demand to a five-and-a-half year high

Data as of

Sources: GFMS, Metals Focus, Thomson Reuters, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Bar and coin demand in Turkey reacted differently to the mix of financial insecurity and currency weakness. As the Turkish lira gold price rose in August to a record high of TL273/g, investors liquidated some of their bar and coin holdings to book profits. Net new buying fell to 4.6t, a 69% drop on the same period last year. 

European demand was 51.1t, up 10% y-o-y. Germany – which accounts for more than half of the region’s bar and coin investment – was up 10% to 28.4t. In late September the euro-denominated gold price fell to a two-and-a-half year low of €32,638/kg. Unlike the European-ETF market, concerns around Italian debt and its potential to spark a broader financial crisis, prompted safe-haven buying among retail investors. 

Having been in the doldrums for several quarters, the US bar and coin market showed signs of life.  Demand reached double-digits – 10.5t, up 74% y-o-y. Growth was largely fuelled by bargain hunting in June, when the gold price dropped from more than US$1,300/oz to close on US$1,250/oz.

Footnotes

  1. For more detail of rural and urban investment habits in India, please see the appendix in: World Gold Council, The global investment market: new perspectives on consumer behaviour, December 2016.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]