科技行业

黄金需求趋势 2019年第二季度

2019年08月01日

科技行业

2019年第二季度,尽管下降速度有所放缓,科技行业对黄金的需求依然低迷,我们预计这一趋势将持续到2019年下半年

  • 电子行业的关键领域再次出现需求疲软的迹象,印刷电路板(PCB)需求是唯一的增长领域
  • 其他技术应用出现小幅下降,牙科用金需求持续下降,同比下降7%。
2018年第
2季度
2019年第
2季度
同比变化
科技 83.3 81.1 -3%
电子行业 66.5 64.7 -3%
其他行业 12.8 12.7 -1%
牙医业 4.0 3.7

-7%

今年第二季度,科技行业黄金总消费量降至81.1吨,同比下降3%。由于电子行业面临一系列挑战,包括中美之间持续的贸易争端,这已是连续第三个季度需求出现下降。然而,有复苏的迹象出现,因此我们预计在2019年下半年下降速度将继续放缓。

电子行业

由于整个行业普遍发展放缓,电子产品所用黄金量在第二季度下滑3%,至64.7吨。世界半导体贸易统计组织最近将其此前预测的2019年半导体需求下降3%修正为下降12.1%,到2020年下降率恢复至5.4%。这充分说明了这种放缓趋势。1

印刷电路板的需求是本季度的一个积极因素,同比增长了1-3% 。在传统的第一季度的淡季之后,由于5G相关应用的加速增长,印刷电路板需求出现了小幅增长。预计这将是今年剩余时间的关键驱动因素。而随着电动汽车市场的持续增长,与汽车相关的长期应用有望提供持续的支持。 

发光二极管(LED)用金需求第二季度表现依旧疲软,该领域的黄金使用量同比下降4-8%。持续不断的中美贸易摩擦继续对该行业造成沉重压力,需求下降导致库存水平增高也带来了负面影响。此外,微型LED开始在背光应用中占有一席之地;预计它将在今年开始与含键合金线的OLED在显示器市场展开竞争。随着芯片键合技术向芯片规模封装(CSP)技术的转变,LED领域的黄金需求可能会保持疲软状态。

内存领域的用金需求与第一季度的表现持平,同比平均下降2-6%。智能手机、其它消费产品和数据存储中心的需求依然疲弱。供应过剩造成价格压力,进而导致主要内存制造商降低利用率和资本支出投资,以将损失降至最低;据报道,韩国芯片制造商SK Hynix推迟了其在中国的代工厂增加产量的计划

无线行业用金量同比降幅为6-10%,较第一季度有明显改善。这是由推出的几款5G智能手机,以及增加的5G基站订单带来的。随着5G商业化进程的加快,对功率放大器(PA)模块的需求将显著增加。为了支持多频段的高数据传输速率,PA的使用量将是4G的两至三倍。展望未来,受益于5G应用和光传感器的增长,预计无线工厂的利用率将在每个季度都有所加强。

亚洲的主要制造业中心,中国大陆与香港(特区)和日本第二季度的黄金使用量分别下降了5.3%和4.0%。与第一季度一样,美国的科技用金量逆势上扬,增长了3.0%。

其他行业及牙科

牙科需求继续下降,同比下降7%,至3.7吨,所有地区都出现了下滑。与此同时,其他行业应用领域的黄金使用量下跌1%,至12.7吨。然而,黄金应用领域的研发在本季度取得了一些有趣的进展,其中有关特别设计的金纳米颗粒被用于将二氧化碳转化为有效燃料的报道尤为突出。2 这些技术的发展可能在应对未来气候变化方面发挥重要作用。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2019

1 August, 2019

Technology

Demand for gold in the technology sector remained sluggish in Q2 2019, although declines slowed, a trend we expect to continue into H2 2019

  • The electronics sector again saw weakness across key sectors, with printed circuit board (PCB) demand the only area of growth
  • Other technology applications registered minor falls, but the ongoing decline in dental demand continued, with a 7% y-o-y fall.
Tonnes Q2'18 Q2'19 YoY
Technology 83.3 81.1 -3%
Electronics 66.5 64.7 -3%
Other Industrial 12.8 12.7 -1%
Dentistry 4.0 3.7 -7%

The total volume of gold used in the technology sector fell to 81.1t during Q2, a 3% y-o-y decline. This was the third consecutive quarter of falling demand, due to a range of challenges in the electronics sector, including the ongoing trade dispute between China and the US. However, there are signs of recovery and we expect declines to continue to slow throughout H2 2019.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics fell 3% to 64.7t during Q2, due to a broad slowdown across the sector. This slowdown has been starkly illustrated by the World Semiconductor Trade Statistics Organisation, which recently revised its earlier forecast of a 3% fall in semiconductor demand in 2019 to a fall of 12.1%, followed by a recovery of 5.4% in 2020.1

Printed circuit board (PCB) demand was the one positive of the quarter, rising by 1-3% y-o-y. After the traditionally weak first quarter, PCB demand saw marginal growth on the acceleration of 5G-related applications, which are expected to be the key driver throughout the rest of the year. Longer term automotive-related applications are expected to provide ongoing support as the electric vehicle market continues to grow. 

The light emitting diode (LED) sector recorded another weak quarter, with gold used in these applications down 4-8% y-o-y. The ongoing US-China trade friction continued to weigh heavily on the sector, with pressure also coming in the form of high inventory levels on the back of falling demand. Additionally, mini-LED started to gain share in backlighting applications; this is expected to begin competing with gold bonding wire-containing OLED in the display market this year. Given the shift of chip-bonding technology to chip scale package (CSP), gold offtake in the LED segment is likely to remain soft.

The memory sector saw a repeat performance of Q1, with an average decline of 2-6% y-o-y during the quarter. Demand from smartphones, other consumer products and data storage centres remained weak. Oversupply produced price pressures, which in turn led to major memory manufacturers reducing their utilisation and CAPEX investment to minimise losses; for example, South Korean chip manufacturer SK Hynix has reportedly delayed its plans to ramp up production at its newly commissioned Chinese plant.

The wireless sector recorded a decline in the region of 6-10% y-o-y, a notable improvement on Q1. This was driven by the launch of several 5G smartphones and increased orders for 5G base stations. With the acceleration of 5G commercialisation, demand for power amplifier (PA) modules will rise significantly as the PA usage will be two-to-three times that of 4G in order to support high data transfer rates through multiple frequency bands. Looking further ahead, the utilisation of wireless factories is expected to strengthen each quarter, benefitting from growth in 5G applications and optical sensors.

The key eastern fabrication hubs of Mainland China and Hong Kong (SAR) and Japan registered Q2 falls in gold volumes, of 5.3% and 4.0% respectively. As in Q1, the US bucked this trend, with a 3.0% increase.

Other industrial and dentistry

Dental demand continued its ongoing decline, falling 7% y-o-y to 3.7t, with losses across all territories. Meanwhile, gold used in other industrial applications fell 1% to 12.7t. However, during the quarter several interesting advances in gold R&D were made, highlighted by reports of specially designed gold nanoparticles being used to convert carbon dioxide into useful fuels.2 The development of such technologies may play a considerable role in the fight against future climate change. 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]