央行

黄金需求趋势 2019年第二季度

2019年08月01日

央行

上半年央行需求处于全球央行成为净买家的2010年以来的最高水平

  • 第二季度央行净购买量同比增长47%,达到224.4吨
  • 2019年上半年净购买总量为374.1吨,是自2010年全球央行成为黄金净买家以来的最高水平
  • 波兰央行是本季度最大的买家;增持了100吨(+77%)的黄金储备
2018年第
2季度
2019年第
2季度
同比变化
各国央行和其他机构 152.8 224.4 47%

第二季度央行净购买总量为224.4吨,同比增长47%。2019年前6个月的净购买量增加至374.1吨:同比增长57%,是自2010年各国央行成为净买家以来的最高水平(按年度计算)。自去年以来,全球央行的黄金购买势头持续强劲——2018年央行的黄金购买量达到50年来的最高水平——这清楚地表明了央行对黄金的态度。

自央行成为净买家以来最高的上半年央行购金水平

自央行成为净买家以来最高的上半年央行购金水平

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

对于外汇储备管理者们来说,持续的全球的不利环境仍然是一个头痛的问题。因贸易和地缘政治紧张局势而加剧的经济低迷继续给全球经济蒙上阴影。这反映在本季度动荡的金融市场上。和其他普通投资者一样,各国央行在面临许多迫在眉睫的风险时也希望从黄金中寻求对冲,以保护自己。

央行的购金需求仍在地域上相对分散。2019年上半年,有9家央行的黄金储备至少增加了1吨。这延续了近几个季度的趋势,增持黄金的需求已在更多国家(主要是新兴市场国家)的央行之间蔓延开来。1

波兰央行的巨额购买量使得俄罗斯央行的购金量在第二季度的排名下滑至第二位。波兰此前曾在2018年将其黄金储备增加了25.7吨,今年第二季度又购买了100吨。这是自2009年11月印度从国际货币基金组织购买200吨黄金以来的单个央行季度最高购买量。2 波兰国家银行行长Adam Glapiński教授表示, 此次黄金购买具有战略意义,旨在进一步保障该国的金融安全。3

俄罗斯第二季度黄金储备增加38.7吨,使其本年度的净购买量达到了94吨,但仍低于2018年上半年105.3吨的净购买量。截至6月底,该国黄金储备为2,207吨,相当于其总外汇储备的19%。今年5月,俄罗斯央行下调了其黄金购买价,以鼓励国内生产商出口更多黄金。央行行长Elvira Nabiullina说:“我们推出黄金购买折扣,因为我们看到卖方主要向央行出售黄金”,并且“折扣使得国内条件与国外一致,也能够激励黄金生产商…出口”。这与俄罗斯央行在本季度末的购买量略有下降相呼应,但该央行澄清道:“我们并没有特别去决定减少黄金购买量” 4

今年上半年,中国黄金储备增长了74吨。第二季度月度净购买量略有增加,使2019年的月平均购买量达到了12.3吨(第一季度为11吨)。土耳其继续增加黄金储备,上半年增加60.6吨,同期哈萨克斯坦的黄金储备增加24.9吨。上半年至少增加1吨黄金储备的其他央行包括:印度(17.7吨)、厄瓜多尔(10.6吨)、哥伦比亚(6.1吨)、吉尔吉斯共和国(2吨)。

菲律宾央行 5月底宣布,将开始从当地小规模金矿商手中购买黄金。预计每年的购买量将达到100万盎司,远高于目前的2万至3万盎司。5

卖出仍然只占买入的一小部分。在前六个月,公开宣布的总销售量为7.2吨,仅占总购买量的2%。

但在第二季度,有关委内瑞拉黄金储备互换协议的更多消息浮出水面。今年4月有报道称,委内瑞拉被认为在与花旗银行和德意志银行的黄金掉期交易中违约。这意味着银行控制了支撑掉期交易的14亿美元的黄金(约28吨)。

我们对掉期协议的理解是,如果协议以违约告终(即黄金没有按原计划返还),它们将被视为出售。因此,在我们的数据中,第二季度这份掉期协议的终止被视为委内瑞拉的一次黄金的卖出。6 这并不是我们第一个以销售记录的委内瑞拉黄金掉期协议。2017年第四季度,约45吨的掉期交易以违约告终,2019年第一季度的违约掉期交易量约为42吨。委内瑞拉黄金储备的急剧下降仍受到市场参与者和国际政府/官方机构的密切关注。

在其他地区,正如最近几个季度的数据显示,央行宣布的黄金销售量很小而且频率也很低。今年上半年,只有另外四家银行将黄金储备减少了1吨或更多:乌兹别克斯坦(-3.7吨)、德国(-3吨)、塔吉克斯坦(-1.8吨)、蒙古(-1.7吨)—— 前者涉及一项建立多年的铸币计划。

脚注

  1. 本文引用的国家一级活动数据的依据是出版时最新的现有数据。

  2. 中国在2015年6月宣布的604.3吨的购买量被排除在外,因为这是过去5年的采购量。

  3. IMF的国际金融统计数据尚未反映出这一掉期协议对委内瑞拉黄金储备的影响。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2019

1 August, 2019

Central Banks and other institutions

H1 central bank demand at highest level since becoming net buyers in 2010

  • Central bank net purchases rose 47% y-o-y to 224.4t in Q2
  • H1 2019 net purchases totalled 374.1t, the highest level since becoming net buyers in 2010
  • Poland was the largest purchaser in the quarter; reserves grew by 100t (+77%)
Tonnes Q2'18 Q2'19 YoY
Central banks & others 152.8 224.4 47%

Central bank net purchases totalled 224.4t in Q2, 47% higher y-o-y. Total net purchases for the first six months of 2019 rose to 374.1t: 57% higher y-o-y, and the highest level of y-t-d demand since central banks became net purchasers (on an annual basis) in 2010. Buying momentum has continued strongly from last year – 2018 saw the highest level of annual purchases in 50 years – and is a clear indication of the central banking community’s mind-set towards gold.

Highest level of H1 purchases since central banks became net buyers

Highest level of H1 purchases since central banks became net buyers

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Ongoing global struggles remain a headache for reserve managers. Sluggishness, exacerbated by trade and geopolitical tensions, continued to cast a dark cloud over the global economy. This was reflected in volatile financial markets during the quarter. Central banks, like other investors, sought safety in gold as they looked to protect themselves in the face of many looming risks.

Central bank demand still geographically diverse. Nine central banks increased their gold reserves by at least a tonne in the first half of 2019. This continues the trend seen over recent quarters, where demand has been spread amongst a larger number of – primarily emerging market – central banks.1

Poland’s giant purchase bumped Russia into a Q2 second place. Poland, which had previously boosted its gold reserves by 25.7t in 2018, followed this up with a whopping 100t purchase in Q2. This is the highest quarterly purchase by a single central bank since India bought 200t from the IMF in November 2009.2 National Bank of Poland President Professor Adam Glapiński indicated that this purchase was strategic, with the intention of further safeguarding the financial security of the country.3

Russian gold reserves rose by 38.7t in Q2, bringing y-t-d net purchases to 94t, compared with 105.3t in H1 2018. Gold reserves stood at 2,207t at the end of June, equal to 19% of total reserves. In May, the central bank discounted its purchase price to encourage domestic producers to export more gold. Governor, Elvira Nabiullina stated: “We introduced discounts for the purchase of gold because we saw that vendors were selling gold mainly to the central bank,” and “The discount aligns domestic conditions with external ones and motivates gold producers to … export too”. This corresponds to a slight dip in purchases by the central bank towards the end of the quarter, but the bank clarified: “It wasn’t a special decision on our part to reduce gold purchases”. 4

Chinese gold reserves grew by 74t in H1. The volume of monthly net purchases increased marginally in Q2, bringing the monthly average for 2019 to 12.3t (11t in Q1). Turkey continued to increase gold reserves, up 60.6t in H1, while Kazakhstan added 24.9t to its gold reserves over the same period. Other central banks to increase their gold reserves by at least a tonne during H1 were: India (17.7t), Ecuador (10.6t), Colombia (6.1t) and the Kyrgyz Republic (2t).

The Central Bank of the Philippines announced at the end of May that it would begin purchasing gold from local small-scale miners. It is anticipated that buying could reach one million ounces a year, significantly higher than the current 20,000-30,000oz.5

Selling remains a fraction of buying. Over the first six months, declared gross sales amounted to 7.2t, just 2% of gross purchases.

But during Q2 more news emerged regarding the swap agreement involving Venezuelan gold reserves. It was reported in April that Venezuela was deemed to have defaulted on a gold swap with Citibank and Deutsche Bank. This meant the banks took control of the US$1.4bn of gold (~28t) that underpinned the swap.

Our treatment of swap agreements is that they are deemed a sale if the agreement ends in default (i.e. the gold is not returned as originally planned). Therefore, the termination of the swap agreement in Q2 is treated as a sale by Venezuela in our figures.  And this is not the first Venezuelan gold swap agreement we have recorded as a sale. In Q4 2017, a swap for approximately 45t ended in default, as did another for around 42t in Q1 2019. The precipitous decline of Venezuelan gold reserves remains closely watched by both market participants and international governments/authorities.

Elsewhere, and as we’ve seen over many recent quarters, declared gross sales by central banks are few and far between. Only four other banks reduced gold reserves by a tonne or more in H1: Uzbekistan (-3.7t), Germany (-3t), Tajikistan (-1.8t) and Mongolia (-1.7t) – with the former relating to a long-established coin-minting programme.

Footnotes

  1. Figures quoted for country-level activity are based on latest available data at the time of publication.

  2. China’s declared purchase of 604.3t in June 2015 has been excluded as this represents purchases over the preceding five-year period.

  3. The impact of this swap agreement on Venezuelan gold reserves has not yet been reflected in the IMF IFS data.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]