科技行业

黄金需求趋势2018第二季度

2018年08月01日

科技行业

在无线应用的推动下,科技行业的黄金使用量继续增长

  • 在存储器、无线和印刷电路板行业强劲需求的支撑下,电子行业的需求同比增长3%
  • 不间断的电气化将有助于巩固稳定的需求来源,因此需求前景是光明的 
2017年第
2季度
2018年第
2季度
年同比变
化%
科技 81.5 83.3 2%
电子用金 64.4 66.2 3%
其他行业 12.8 12.9 1%
牙医业 4.3 4.2 -4%

科技行业的黄金使用量在第二季度增长2%至83.3吨,连续第7个季度出现同比增长。这种增长同样是由电子行业的强劲需求推动的,尤其是在无线和存储器行业,抵抗了传统的夏季低迷期。

电子行业

电子行业的黄金使用量在第二季度同比增长3%至66.2吨。无线行业的需求同比增长8-12%左右,与智能手机的传统销售淡季形成鲜明对比。这种需求是由5G基础设施使用的功率放大器、虚拟现实(VR)游戏系统中的3D传感器和汽车行业的强劲需求推动的。事实上,目前的供应无法满足非常旺盛的3D传感器需求,短期到中期而言,这是一个好兆头。

LED行业再次滞后于与技术有关的其他黄金需求领域。黄金使用量同比下滑5-8%,主要原因是高端OLED市场继续使用银来代替黄金,以降低成本。1

在存储器行业,市场动态对黄金的使用依然有积极影响。NAND产量的增长拉低了价格,三星和SK海力士等主要制造商将在未来几年里扩大产能,预计NAND闪存的价格将继续下跌。这将有助于笔记本电脑固态硬盘进一步普及,从而支撑黄金使用量。DRAM继续受益于强劲的需求,尤其是在服务器市场,对大数据和云服务的大量需求提振了服务器市场。

强劲的服务器市场需求也支撑着印刷电路板需求。加上汽车行业的持续增长和5G基础设施的部署,预计印刷电路板的黄金使用量将同比增长2-5%。

除了印度1.8%的同比跌幅(至3.3吨)以外,我们所关注的其他国家都录得强劲增幅。传统的科技中心——中国内地/香港和韩国——再次登上榜首,黄金使用量分别为18.4吨(+5.1%)和6.7吨(+5%)。美国紧随其后,同比增长3.0%至14.7吨。

其他行业和牙医业

牙医业需求继续缓慢地稳步下跌,同比下滑4%。其他行业的黄金使用量总体持平,但开发黄金新用途的研发工作进展飞快。2 庄信万丰新推出的商用黄金催化剂现在已进入最后测试阶段:与这种技术有关的更多信息可在7月期《黄金投资者》 中阅读

脚注

  1. 有机发光二极管(OLED)面板比LCD显示屏更纤薄和灵活;可在屏幕上生成高对比度画面,效率更高,更环保。

  2. 需求类别包括化合物生产过程中使用的黄金,例如氰化金钾可用于工业电镀用途,以及镀金首饰和金线等其他饰品的生产。印度占该类别的大部分需求。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2018

1 August, 2018

Technology

Gold used in technology grows further, driven by wireless applications

  • Electronics demand grew 3% on a yearly basis, underpinned by strong demand from memory, wireless and printed circuit board (PCB) sectors
  • The outlook is bright as ongoing electrification will help to bolster established sources of demand 
Tonnes Q2'17 Q2'18 YoY
Technology 81.5 83.3 2%
Electronics 64.4 66.2 3%
Other Industrial 12.8 12.9 1%
Dentistry 4.3 4.2 -4%

Gold used in technology grew 2% to 83.3t in Q2, the seventh quarter of undisrupted y-o-y growth. This uptick was again driven by strong electronics demand, particularly in the wireless and memory sectors, which defied the traditional summer lull.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics grew 3% y-o-y to 66.2t in Q2. Demand in the wireless sector enjoyed some 8-12% growth y-o-y, bucking the traditional slow season for smartphone sales. This was driven by strong demand from power amplifiers used in 5G infrastructure and 3D sensors in VR gaming systems and automobiles. In fact, this very strong demand for 3D sensors is not currently being met by supply, boding well for the short to mid-term.

The LED sector once again lagged other technologyrelated areas of demand for gold. Gold volumes were 5-8% lower y-o-y, primarily due to ongoing cost-driven substitution by silver in the high-end OLED market.1

In the memory sector, market dynamics remain positive for gold usage. Increasing output of NAND has driven prices down, and with major manufacturers such as Samsung and SK Hynix ramping up capacity over the coming couple of years, NAND flash prices are forecast to cool further. This should drive wider adoption of solid-state drives in notebooks, thereby supporting gold volumes. DRAM continued to benefit from strong demand, particularly in the server market, which has been boosted by healthy demand for big data and cloud services.

The strong server market also supported demand for PCBs. Together with ongoing growth in the automotive industry and 5G infrastructure deployment, gold used in PCBs was estimated to be 2-5% higher y-o-y.

Barring a 1.8% y-o-y decline in India (to 3.3t), the other countries monitored have registered strong growth. The traditional technology hubs – Mainland China/HK and South Korea – have once again topped the list with volumes of 18.4t (+5.1%) and 6.7t (+5%) respectively. This was followed by the US, which grew 3.0% y-o-y to 14.7t.

Other Industrial & dentistry

Dental demand continued it’s slow but steady decline, recording a 4% fall y-o-y. Other industrial usage of gold was broadly flat, but R&D efforts in developing new uses for gold continue apace.2 Johnson Matthey’s newly commercialised gold catalyst is now in the final stages of testing: more information about this particular technology can be read in the July issue of Gold Investor here.

Footnotes

  1. Organic Light-Emitting Diode (OLED) panels are thinner and more flexible than LCD displays; they produce a high-contrast picture on screen, and are more efficient and eco-friendly. 

  2. This category of demand includes gold used in the production of compounds, such as Gold Potassium Cyanide, for electro-plating in industrial applications as well as in the production of gold-plated jewellery and other decorative items such as gold thread. India accounts for the bulk of demand in this category. 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]