供应

黄金需求趋势 2020年第一季度

2020年04月30日

供应

由于新冠疫情而实施的封锁政策打击了金矿生产和黄金回收,第一季度全球黄金总供应量下滑4%

  • 受新冠疫情影响,第一季度全球金矿产量同比下降3%
  • 新冠疫情的干扰可能会影响全年的黄金供应
  • 尽管价格上涨,全球黄金回收量在第一季度下跌了4%,至280吨。
2019年第
1季度
2020年第
1季度
年同比变化
供应量 1,108.4 1,066.2 -4%
金矿产量 816.9 795.8 -3%
生产商净套保 -1.5 -9.7    -
回收金 293.0 280.2 -4%

新冠疫情造成了严重生产中断,导致第一季度全球黄金总供应量同比下降4%,至1,066吨。这是自2013年第二季度以来季度黄金供应量的最低水平。金矿产量和黄金回收量均受到了新冠疫情的影响而下降,导致了黄金总供应量的整体下降。

金矿产量

初步数据显示,第一季度全球金矿产量同比下降3%,为795.8吨。这是自2015年以来第一季度最低的金矿产量,也是自2017年第一季度以来最大的同比降幅。这也是连续第五个季度出现同比下降。 

 

新冠疫情致使金矿生产中断,全球产量同比下降3%,为五年最低水平

新冠疫情致使金矿生产中断,全球产量同比下降3%,为五年最低水平

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

全球为遏制新冠疫情蔓延的限制措施阻碍了一些采矿作业。考虑到全球新冠疫情造成开采中断的规模,第一季度金矿产量出现同比下降并不令人感到意外。大多数行业都受到了疫情的影响,采矿业也不例外。根据政府应对疫情的指导方针,全球多个项目减少或停止了作业,影响了本季度的金矿总产量。

作为第一个实行严格的隔离措施的国家,中国金矿产量第一季度同比下降12%。虽然预计到金矿产量会因小幅波动而略有下降,但二月和三月初严格的出行限制影响了金矿工作人员在中国春节假期后返工的步伐,从而进一步限制了产量。然而在本季度末,国内许多金矿已经恢复运营,赶上了最初的生产计划。

秘鲁(-17%)、阿根廷(-13%)和南非(-11%)是产量同比大幅下降的几个主要金矿生产国,主要原因是受到了遏制新冠疫情传播措施的影响。

尽管全球范围都受到疫情造成的中断影响,但一些金矿管辖区仍在第一季度实现了产量的同比增长。厄瓜多尔第一季度金矿产量同比增长了51%,这主要是由于北部的 Fruta Del Norte在3月底由于疫情而暂时关停之前产量持续增长。Burkino Faso第一季度的金矿产量同比增长18%,这在很大程度上要归功于Whagnion项目,该项目于2019年底实现了商业化生产。Ada Tepe项目的持续增长帮助保加利亚的金矿产量同比增长了18%。在加拿大,Meliadine、Eagle和Lamaque的商业产量持续增加,帮助该国第一季度产量同比增长5%,抵消了3月晚些时候新冠疫情对该国部分地区生产造成的影响。
 
全球新冠疫情造成的影响将不仅限于第一季度。在中国以外,对开采作业的各种限制措施在本季度末开始生效。目前暂定取消这些限制措施的日期可能在4月中旬至下旬,不过根据疫情的发展情况可能会延长。最终,2020年的全球金矿年产量几乎肯定会受到影响,尤其是考虑到目前受限制的产量若要提高到正常水平,还需要一些时间。
 

生产商净套保

由于生产商解除净套保9.7吨,全球套保总量在第一季度进一步下降。此前在2019年下半年,生产商解除了26.2吨的套保。

金矿商期待金价进一步上涨。尽管第一季度美元计价的黄金价格上涨了6%,而且以主要生产国本币计价的黄金价格涨幅更大,但几乎没有矿商选择套保。

第一季度头两个月,金价自2013年以来首次突破每盎司1,600美元,OceanaGold、Golden Star Resources和Resolute等矿商进行了一些有限的套保操作。由于市场抛售范围扩大,第一季度黄金价格波动加剧,让那些考虑锁定价格的人难以维系。更广泛地说,金矿商选择不做进一步套保,是为金价进一步上涨保留机会。

回收金

尽管国际金价在第一季度大幅上涨,但全球回收金供应量却同比下降4%,至280.2吨的两年低点。这比五年季度平均水平的302.4吨低了7%。

 

由于市场普遍停摆,黄金回收活动大幅放缓

由于市场普遍停摆,黄金回收活动大幅放缓

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

虽然本季度美元计价的黄金价格上涨了6%,但其他主要货币的黄金价格表现更为强劲。印度(+ 10%)、中国(+ 8%)和土耳其(+ 18%)等主要回收市场的金价均创下新高。然而,尽管这种价格表现通常会引发更高水平的黄金回收,但它却被两个重要因素抵消了。

首先,在全球许多重要的回收市场,为了阻止新冠疫情蔓延,消费者被限制在家中,金饰店也在本季度关闭了一段时间,这就减少了黄金与现金之间的实物交换,而这种交换是回收黄金的主要方法。在东亚(尤其是中国)、中东和南欧(尤其是意大利和西班牙),这种情况最为严重。
 
其次,面对因疫情爆发而加剧的广泛的经济不确定性,对金价进一步走强的预期,以及金融市场波动中对避险资产的需求,使得消费者选择持有黄金。

黄金回收市场对这些限制的反应可能会有所延迟。从长远来看,我们认为,一旦取消限制,回收金的交易量可能会有所上升,因为消费者会寻求诸如黄金之类的流动性资产,以帮助缓解封锁造成的经济困难。但由于各国是在不同的时间范围内恢复正常秩序,这种分阶段退出全球限制的行为可能会抵消任何可能的回售上涨机会。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2020

30 April, 2020

Supply

Total supply fell 4% in Q1 as coronavirus lockdown hit mine production and gold recycling

  • Mine production dropped 3% y-o-y in Q1, hampered by the coronavirus pandemic
  • Coronavirus disruption will likely impact full year gold supply
  • Despite higher prices, recycled gold fell 4% to 280t in Q1.
Tonnes Q1'19 Q1'20 YoY
Total supply 1,108.4 1,066.2 -4%
Mine production 816.9 795.8 -3%
Net producer hedging -1.5 -9.7    -
Recycled gold 293.0 280.2 -4%

Significant disruption caused by the coronavirus pandemic saw total supply fall 4% y-o-y to 1,066t in Q1. This is the lowest level of quarterly gold supply since Q2 2013. Falls in mine production and recycled gold contributed to the overall decline, as both were impacted by the response to the virus outbreak.  

Mine production

In Q1, provisional data indicates that mine production was 3% lower y-o-y at 795.8t. This is the lowest level of Q1 mine production since 2015, and the largest y-o-y decline since Q1 2017. It also marks the fifth consecutive quarter of y-o-y declines.

 

COVID-19 disrupted mine production, which fell 3% y-o-y to five-year low

COVID-19 disrupted mine production, which fell 3% y-o-y to five-year low

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Global coronavirus restrictions hamper some mining operations. The y-o-y decline in mine production in Q1 is somewhat unsurprising given the scale of disruption caused by the global coronavirus pandemic. Most industries have been affected by the spread of the virus, and mining is no exception. In accordance with government guidelines aimed at countering the outbreak, several projects across the globe reduced or halted operations, impacting the total mine output in the quarter.

China – the first country to impose stringent quarantine restrictions – saw a 12% y-o-y fall in Q1. While a slight decline in production was expected due to small y-o-y variations, strict travel restrictions in February and early March impacted employees’ ability to return to mining projects after Chinese New Year, curtailing output. Towards the end of quarter, however, many mining sites had resumed operations, catching up with their original production plans. Peru (-17%), Argentina (-13%) and South Africa (-11%) were the other key producing nations that saw significant y-o-y declines in mine production, mainly due to the implementation of measures to combat the spread of coronavirus. 

Despite the global disruption, some mining jurisdictions still managed to post y-o-y gains in Q1 mine output. Mine production in Ecuador jumped 51% y-o-y in Q1, primarily due to the ongoing ramp-up at Fruta Del Norte before production was suspended towards the end of March due to the pandemic. In Burkino Faso, mine production rose 18% y-o-y in Q1, largely thanks to the Whagnion project, which achieved commercial production in late 2019. The continued ramp-up at the Ada Tepe project helped boost Bulgarian mine production 18% y-o-y. And in Canada, the continued ramp-up of commercial production at Meliadine, Eagle, and Lamaque helped boost Q1 production 5% y-o-y, outweighing coronavirus restrictions that hampered production in some regions of the country later in March.

The disruption caused by the global pandemic will not be confined to Q1. Outside of China, various restrictions on operations came into force towards the end of the quarter. And provisional dates for when these restrictions might be lifted currently range from mid- to late-April, although they could be extended depending on the progression of the pandemic. As a result, annual production in 2020 is almost certain to suffer, especially given that the ramp-up of currently restricted operations to more normal levels will take some time.

Net producer hedging

The global hedge book fell further in Q1 due to net producer de-hedging of 9.7t. This follows de-hedging of 26.2t in the second half of 2019.

Gold miners looked for more price gains. Despite a 6% rise in the US dollar gold price during Q1, and with gold prices in key producer local currencies climbing even more, few miners chose to hedge.

Some limited hedging was seen in the first two months of the quarter – from miners such as OceanaGold, Golden Star Resources and Resolute – at a time when the gold price broke through US$1,600/oz for the first time since 2013. But heightened gold price volatility in Q1 in response to the wider market sell-off, made life difficult for those considering locking in prices. More broadly, gold miners opted against further hedging in order to remain exposed to any further upside in the gold price.

Recycled gold

Despite the steep increase in the international gold price during Q1, recycled gold supply fell 4% y-o-y to a two-year low of 280.2t. This is 7% below the five-year quarterly average of 302.4t.

 

Recycling activity slowed sharply amid widespread market lockdowns

Recycling activity slowed sharply amid widespread market lockdowns

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

While the US dollar gold price gained 6% during the quarter, gold prices in other key currencies saw even stronger performance. Gold prices in key recycling markets such as India (+10%), China (+8%), and Turkey (+18%) all hit new record levels. But although this price performance would typically elicit higher levels of recycling, it was countered by two key factors. 

Firstly in many key recycling markets across the globe, consumers were confined to their homes and jewellery stores closed for some of the quarter in order to stem the spread of the virus. This reduced the physical exchange of gold for cash – the primary method of recycling. This was felt most severely in East Asia (particularly China), the Middle East and Southern Europe, notably Italy and Spain. 

And secondly, consumers chose to hold onto their gold in the face of widespread economic uncertainty exacerbated by the virus outbreak, expectations of further gold price strength, and the need for safe haven assets amidst financial market volatility.

Recycling response to restrictions could be delayed. Over the longer term, we believe it is likely that recycled volumes could rise once restrictions are lifted, with consumers looking for liquid assets – such as gold – to help alleviate any economic hardship caused by the lockdown. But a phased exit from the global restrictions – as countries return to normality within different timescales – could counter any potential spikes in selling back.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]