央行

2019全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2020年01月30日

央行

2019年全球各国央行的黄金需求总量为650吨,这是连续第10年出现年度净买入

  • 国央行共在2019年增持了650.3吨的全球官方黄金储备,同比下降1%
  • 共有15家央行净买入1吨或更多黄金,突显出购金国家的范围持续扩大
  • 这标志着连续十年的净买入,全球官方黄金储备目前比2009年底高出5,000吨,约为33,920吨。
2018 2019 年同比变化
各国央行和其他机构 656.2 650.3 -1%

2019年第四季度,全球各国央行的官方黄金储备净增加了109.6吨,同比下降34%。加上前三个季度的净购买,使得全年净购金量达到650.3吨,仅比2018年总增量(656.2吨)少1%。 

全球各国央行在2019年的净购金量令人瞩目。年度黄金购买量达650.3吨,为50年来第二高的年度购买量,突显出各国央行在其储备组合中对配置黄金的重视程度。最高水平出现在2018年,人们普遍预计,2019年的购金量不会连续第二年达到这一水平。

 

新兴市场继续主导着全球各国央行的黄金购买

新兴市场继续主导着全球各国央行的黄金购买

来源: 国际货币基金组织, 各国银行, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

大批黄金买家涌现。2019年,共有15个国家的央行增加了至少1吨的黄金储备,突显出黄金购买国家的范围在扩大。这些需求仅限于新兴市场中央银行,它们希望增加和/或多样化其总体外汇储备。

今年最大的买家大多是熟悉的“老买家”。土耳其从2017年开始购买黄金,在2019年成为最大的买家,黄金储备增加了159吨。  这使其总持有量达到413吨,较上年同比增长63%,相当于其总外汇储备的20%。波兰在2018年购买了25.7吨黄金,并在2019年进行了最大的单笔购买——6月购买了94.9吨黄金。波兰年度净购金量共计100吨,使黄金储备量达到了228.6吨。俄罗斯黄金储备增加了158.1吨,尽管增幅较上年同期下降了42%,但增长良好,这在一定程度上是因为5月份俄罗斯央行开始提供折扣购买价格,以鼓励国内生产商出口更多黄金。今年前九个月,中国的黄金储备增加了95.8吨,使其黄金总储备达到了1,948吨(占总外汇储备的3%)。9月份以后中国没有进一步购金的消息。哈萨克斯坦(35吨)、印度(32.7吨)、阿联酋(13.5吨)、卡塔尔(11吨)、厄瓜多尔(10.6吨)和塞尔维亚(10吨)的央行也增加了10吨以上的官方黄金储备。

令人眼花缭乱的十年需求。自2008年全球金融危机之后,2019年标志着各国央行连续十年成为年度净购金者。人们对黄金的观念发生了根本性的改变,这导致了显著且持续的需求水平,这一点非常重要。在此期间,各国央行为全球官方黄金储备补充了5,019吨黄金,平均每年买入约500吨,而在这之前的10年,平均年净销金443吨。而在最近十年中,与购买规模相比,任何销售量都相形见绌。
 

 

全球各国央行连续第10年净买入黄金

全球各国央行连续第10年净买入黄金

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

在这段时间里,不断加剧的经济和地缘政治不确定性一直是推动各国央行(特别是新兴市场)购买黄金的两大驱动力。为了恢复经济的稳定和增长,这十年受到了非常规货币政策(例如持续的低利率或负利率)的困扰,以及不断攀升的民族主义/民粹主义、贸易战和武装冲突的风险。作为回应,各国央行增加了黄金配置。

在过去十年中,全球各国央行的黄金需求量增加了5,019吨,足以抵消2000-2009年4,426吨的净售金量,这意味着,目前公布的全球官方黄金储备仅比1966年38,491吨的历史最高水平低12%。

脚注

  1. 此处采纳的数据点是本文发布时可获得的最新国际金融统计数据,可能不包括截至2019年12月底的所有购买/销售黄金情况

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2019

30 January, 2020

Central Banks and other institutions

Central bank demand totalled 650t in 2019 – the 10th consecutive year of annual net purchases

  • Central banks added 650.3t to global official gold reserves in 2019, 1% lower y-o-y
  • 15 central banks made net purchases of a tonne or more, highlighting continued breadth of demand
  • This marks ten consecutive years of net purchases, with global official reserves now 5,000t higher than end-2009 at ~33,920t.
Tonnes 2018 2019 YoY
Central banks & others 656.2 650.3 -1%

In the fourth quarter of 2019 central banks added a net 109.6t to global official gold reserves, 34% lower y-o-y. Added to net purchases in the first three quarters, this brought full-year net purchases to 650.3t, just 1% shy of the 2018 total (656.2t). 

Central bank net purchases in 2019 were remarkable. The annual total of 650.3t is the second highest level of annual purchases for 50 years, highlighting the importance central banks place on having an allocation to gold in their reserve portfolio. The highest level was recorded in 2018 and buying in 2019 was not widely expected to repeat these levels for a second consecutive year.

 

Emerging markets continue to dominate central bank gold buying

Emerging markets continue to dominate central bank gold buying

Sources: International Monetary Fund, Respective central banks, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Buyers in force. In total, 15 central banks increased their gold reserves by at least one tonne in 2019, highlighting the breadth of buying. Demand was exclusive to emerging market central banks looking to bolster and/or diversify their overall reserves.

The largest purchasers during the year were mostly familiar faces. Turkey, which began buying gold in 2017, emerged as the largest buyer in 2019, growing gold reserves by 159t.1 This brought total holdings to 413t, 63% higher y-o-y and equal to 20% of total reserves. Poland, which purchased 25.7t in 2018, made the biggest single purchase in 2019, buying 94.9t in June. In total, annual Polish net purchases amounted to 100t, taking reserves to 228.6t. Russian gold reserves rose by a healthy 158.1t, albeit 42% lower than a year earlier, partly because in May the central bank began offering a discounted purchase price aimed at encouraging domestic producers to export more gold.  Chinese gold reserves grew by 95.8t over the first nine months, taking total gold reserves to 1,948t (3% of total reserves). No further purchases were reported after September. Central banks in Kazakhstan (35t), India (32.7t), UAE (13.5t) Qatar (11t), Ecuador (10.6t) and Serbia (10t) also increased official gold reserves by at least 10 tonnes.

Dazzling decade of demand. 2019 marked one decade since central banks became annual net purchasers, following the Global Financial Crisis in 2008. The fundamental change in mindset towards gold has resulted in significant and, importantly, sustained levels of demand. During this time, central banks have added 5,019t back to global official gold reserves, with an annual average of around 500t, compared with average annual net sales of 443t in the preceding decade. And any sales in the last 10 years have been dwarfed by the scale of buying.

 

Central banks net purchasers for tenth consecutive year

Central banks net purchasers for tenth consecutive year

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Over this time, heightened economic and geopolitical uncertainty have been the twin driving forces that have propelled central bank buying, particularly from emerging markets. The decade was beset by unconventional monetary policies (such as consistent low or negative interest rates) in order to restore economic stability and growth, as well as a rise in nationalism/populism, trade wars, and risks of armed conflicts. In response, central banks increased their allocation to gold.

The 5,019t surge in demand over the last decade, more than offsetting the 4,426t of net sales between 2000-2009, means that reported global official gold reserves are now only 12% below the all-time high of 38,491t seen in 1966.

Footnotes

  1. Data points used are the latest IFS statistics available at the time of publication and may not incorporate all purchases/sales to end-Dec 2019

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]