世界黄金协会2018年度回顾

2018年的关键项目

在2018年,市场上发生了很多重大事件,我们所有的关键项目都非常活跃。从重大的政策建议,到特定季度复兴的黄金购买活动,这一年真正体现了我们努力追求达成的多样性。

响应ESG责任的必要性

Gold and climate change鉴于所有行业的环境、社会和治理(ESG)资质证明日益受到重视,在副主席Gary Goldberg的领导下,我们与会员一起成立了一个工作组,以展示并加强黄金行业的ESG资质。在气候相关财务信息披露工作组(TCFD)提出建议的一年后,我们发布了第一份黄金与气候变化报告。这份报告专注于增进对黄金产业温室气体排放足迹的了解,并展现阶段正在进行的减排努力。报告还强调了黄金产业在提高能效、开发低碳技术方面的作用。

在广泛征询公众意见后,我们还发布了负责任金矿开采原则草案。一旦最终成文,这些原则将为所有利益相关者设定明确的期望,说明负责任的金矿开采包括哪些内容。负责任的金矿开采行业已经开始遵循一定的标准和规范,这些标准和规范定义了良好实践的细则。这些原则将在一个框架下整合和规范诸多现有方法,让精炼商、交易市场、投资者和消费者信任黄金的开采是负责任的。遵守这些原则还能证明负责任的黄金开采行业坚持遵循ESG高标准。展望未来,这将成为一个不间断的工作范畴,致力于让我们的成员成为高度负责的企业公民。

确保符合我们标准的最佳实践

2013年,为了提高黄金开采组织成本报告的透明度和一致性,我们编制了《非公认会计准则指标指引——总维持成本和总投入成本》。此后,这些指标被黄金开采公司广泛采用,作为其总体报告披露的一部分。2018年,我们发布了该指引的更新版,内容包括根据新会计标准增量进行的改进,以加强应用的一致性。

各国央行的黄金需求日益增长

2018年,为了应对地缘政治和宏观经济环境的影响,作为储备资产的黄金的需求比2017年大增74%。黄金需求的范围也扩大了。
我们与新加坡国立大学共同举办的面向黄金储备管理者的旗舰培训课程收到了来自全球央行的申请,申请量刷新了历史纪录。这些央行热切希望了解黄金如何帮助其实现安全、流动性和其他目标。我们的年中央行调查报告表明,五分之一的受访央行有意在未来12个月里增持黄金,没有一家央行打算减持。

2018年初出台的《央行共同会计框架》获得Central Banking首届“专业服务创新奖”。

Hungary central bank事实证实了这一点,2018年超过20家央行购买了黄金。其中包括许多新的购买者或离开黄金市场多年的央行。连一些欧洲央行也购买了黄金,波兰和匈牙利的央行购买量都颇为可观。俄罗斯、哈萨克斯坦和土耳其的央行依然是最大的购买者。为了应对世界上某些地区日益恶化的地缘政治关系,对外汇储备进行去美元化的强烈愿望推动了一些购买行为。而其他央行购买黄金是为了进行多元化投资,匈牙利央行购买黄金的部分原因则是为了对冲国际金融体系的结构性变革带来的风险。我们预计这三种影响因素在今年都会强化。

 

2018年初出台的《央行共同会计框架》获得Central Banking首届“专业服务创意奖”,以表彰该框架的协同努力:支持一致的货币黄金会计实务,以提高透明度,改善央行黄金储备管理。

展望未来,我们将与中国人民银行创建的颇具声望的清华大学五道口金融学院进行合作,共同举办我们下一期黄金储备管理人员培训课程。

 

Gold demand, East to West

 

给伊斯兰投资者提供符合伊斯兰教法的解决方案

伊斯兰教法黄金标准致力于为伊斯兰投资者开发出一种新的资产类别,该标准出台后,迪拜和马来西亚于2018年推出了符合伊斯兰教法的新黄金产品,以满足机构投资和个人投资市场的需求。制定伊斯兰教法黄金标准是为了给伊斯兰投资者开辟一个新的资产类别。为了进一步促进伊斯兰黄金市场发展,我们与国际伊斯兰金融市场(IIFM)合作,编制黄金产品和交易的标准化文件。

为了配合我们对伊斯兰金融机构进行伊斯兰教法黄金标准宣传,我们向其提供了有关消费者对黄金和伊斯兰金融看法的研究报告。这些研究被伊斯兰银行用于进一步了解消费者的偏好,为产品设计提供信息,并支持伊斯兰金融业的发展。伊斯兰金融业目前的估值超过1.5万亿美元。

日新月异的全球黄金对话

我们于2018年4月25日与纽约大学斯特恩商学院联合举办了首届投资峰会。峰会致力于发起与黄金有关的全球对话,既讨论黄金在解决重大的长期投资挑战方面发挥的作用,也讨论黄金在社会中更广泛的重要性。与会者包括顶尖的行业专家、资产所有者、学者、官方机构和央行代表,其中许多与会者此前从未涉足过黄金投资市场。

讨论的主题是未来的宏观社会经济变化,包括:经济实力由西方国家转向东方国家;金融科技和加密资产崛起;ESG问题及其对黄金市场的影响,新兴市场收入增长以及西方市场养老基金赤字不断扩大的影响。峰会还讨论了储备体系从主要以美元为基础向以多种货币为基础的宏观经济转变。

继首届峰会成功举办后,2019年将在北京和纽约再举办两场峰会。

不断演变的印度黄金市场

作为全球第二大黄金消费国和最大黄金库存国,印度的战略地位极为重要,但印度过去的黄金政策并未跟上这个充满活力的行业的需求。在过去5年里,我们一直提倡出台全面的黄金政策,使黄金成为主流金融资产,成为印度经济有组织行业的一部分。在我们的努力下,2018年印度政府的政策发生了重大变化。

印度财政部长表示,印度政府承诺制定全面的黄金政策,使黄金成为一种资产类别,并成立一个黄金交易所。

在2月的联邦预算中,印度财政部长表示印度政府承诺制定全面的黄金政策,使黄金成为一种资产类别,并成立一个黄金交易所。这反映了理念的变革。基于这一承诺,印度政府智库NITI Aayog发布了一份黄金政策报告,提出了在未来数年里黄金市场改革的84项建议。我们曾是该委员会的核心成员。

 

India gold market

 

在从政策考量转向落实的过程中,我们成立了一个由27个来自金融机构和行业协会的参与者组成的指导委员会,为现货黄金交易制定一份蓝图,以对目前的一些做法进行改革,包括私下双边交易、碎片化、不透明、缺乏价格透明度、质量标准不一致和不可靠等问题。我们广泛征询了政策制定者和监管者的意见,完成了这份蓝图,就运营平台和监管改革提出了具体建议。2019年,我们将成立一个联合组织,以便与政策制定者合作,推动蓝图的落实。

11月,我们联合MMTC - PAMP在成立了印度首个贵金属检测机构。

最终在11月,我们联合MMTC - PAMP成立了印度首个贵金属检测机构。为了支持和维护这项倡议,印度六大全国性行业协会担任资助成员,这种参与方式是前所未有的。这个检测机构将彻底改变印度黄金产业,因为新一代熟练检测人员将帮助消除普遍存在的金饰纯度不足现象,规范黄金市场,从而让消费者建立信任和信心。

黄金在中国的作用日益扩大

2018年,我们向中国政府和中国人民银行提出了政策建议,以帮助增强中国国内黄金行业,使该行业发挥更大的国际作用。

正如去年报道的那样,在与中国黄金协会联合举办的2018年中国国际黄金大会上,我们发布了一份新报告《中国黄金市场未来发展方向建议报告》。报告提出了一项五年计划,以帮助中国黄金市场提高效率和透明度,在全球黄金市场上发挥更大作用。不久之后,中国人民银行出台了三个黄金行业的指导意见,涉及:金融机构互联网黄金业务管理、黄金资产管理业务和黄金积存业务管理。此举应该会对中国新的黄金市场起到促进作用。

 

Representatives of the 'China Gold Market Leaders Dinner 2018'

 

2018年,中国银保监会(CBIRC)重组后,我们恢复了与中国保险资产管理业协会(IAMAC)、上海黄金交易所和主要保险基金的接触,并向银保监会提交了一份提案,建议允许保险公司配置黄金。保险公司目前持有的资产价值超过3万亿美元。如果获批,该提案将为中国打开一个新的黄金需求渠道。

我们还开始筹备成立一个 “中国黄金50人”平台,由中国黄金行业的主要利益相关者组成,包括监管机构、中国黄金协会、上海黄金交易所、上海期货交易所、顶级的黄金矿业公司、储金银行、主要金饰企业和其他协会。该团体将每年召开一次会议,讨论中国黄金市场面临的问题,以及如何帮助其增强国际地位。

扩展黄金ETF市场

自从近15年前成立以来,以美元计,美国实物黄金ETF行业的资产管理规模每年保持平均27.3%增速,1 这是由多种因素驱动的,包括智能/自主解决方案的迅速普及、丰富的投资选项、管理费降低、以及相对于其他投资工具的易用性。

为了满足不断演变的市场偏好,我们与道富环球投资管理公司(SSGA)在6月推出了SPDR®Gold MiniShares (GLDM)。GLDM立即被包括零售和平台驱动模式在内的重要投资渠道采纳,增长迅速,2018年末的资产价值达到3.974亿美元。GLDM目前是美国市场上最大的低成本黄金ETF。SPDR® Gold Trust (GLD®)仍然是市场领先的黄金ETF,拥有325亿美元资产,占美国ETF市场份额的70%左右。SPDR® Long Dollar Gold Trust (GLDW)补充了GLD的ETF,消除了强势美元对金价的潜在负面影响,为投资者提供了一种创新的黄金投资方式。

金融科技在黄金产业中的作用日益扩大

2018年,金融科技行业对黄金市场的兴趣大增,世界各地出现了各种各样的数字投资平台和产品,还有许多平台和产品处于研发阶段。其中很多平台和产品寻求推出新的商业模式和颠覆性解决方案,以重新定义目前的黄金行业价值流,并有望大幅提高黄金需求。此外,金融科技领域的区块链发展迅猛,众多服务提供商寻求利用该技术确保黄金供应链的溯源性和完整性。

鉴于金融科技对黄金开采行业的深远影响,以及可能由此创造的黄金需求新渠道,我们与会员一起成立了一个金融科技黄金工作组,来探索这些机会。

Safegold is a new Indian website that allows consumers to purchase vaulted gold.
Safegold是印度一个允许消费者购买保险库金条的新网站。

随后,我们决定采取具体措施,帮助黄金市场组织并推进这方面的方案,因此我们转变工作重点,研究如何通过改进流程来增强技术和市场基础设施。其中一项重要成果是《互联网投资黄金(IIG)投资者指南》文件的发布,该指南强调了投资者评估线上销售的黄金投资产品时应当知晓并优先考虑的关键问题和结构要求。该指南发布后,获得了监管者、投资者和产品供应供商等各方受众的如潮好评。

展望未来,金融科技黄金解决方案有望成为重要的市场驱动因素,印度的数字平台Safegold就是其中一例,该平台让消费者能够购买、销售和接收保险库金条。我们对该平台进行了少数股权投资,以丰富印度受保护的数字黄金产品的品类。

2018 annual review

Key programmes in 2018

2018 was a very active year across all of our key programmes with many significant events occurring in the market. From major policy announcements through to renewed gold buying from particular quarters, the year was a true reflection of the diversity of what we strive to achieve.

Responding to the imperative of ESG responsibilities

Gold and climate changeGiven the increasing importance placed on demonstrating environmental, social and governance (ESG) credentials across all industries, we established a taskforce together with members and led by our Vice Chair, Gary Goldberg, to demonstrate and enhance gold’s ESG credentials. Our first report on Gold and climate change, was released one year after the recommendations from the Taskforce on Climate-Related Financial Disclosure (TCFD). It focused on building understanding of the gold industry’s greenhouse gas emissions footprint, and demonstrating the efforts already underway to reduce emissions. It also highlighted the gold industry’s role in improving energy efficiency and developing low carbon technologies.

We also published our draft Responsible Gold Mining Principles following an extensive public consultation. Once finalised, the principles will set out clear expectations for all stakeholders as to what constitutes responsible gold mining. The responsible gold mining industry already operates under a large number of standards and codes that define specific aspects of good practice. The principles will consolidate and frame the multitude of existing approaches under a single framework, which will provide confidence to refiners, trading markets, investors and consumers that gold has been mined responsibly. Conformance with the principles will also demonstrate the continuing commitment of the responsible gold mining industry to operate to high ESG standards. Looking ahead, this will be an ongoing area of work that seeks to position our members as highly responsible corporate citizens.

Ensuring best practice in our standards

In 2013, we developed a Guidance note on non-GAAP metrics – all-in sustaining costs and all-in costs to provide further transparency and greater consistency in the way that mining organisations report their costs. Since then the metrics have been widely adopted by gold mining companies as part of their overall reporting disclosure. This year, we released an updated version of the Guidance Note, which included incremental enhancements in light of new accounting standards to support further consistency of application.

Increasing central bank appetite for gold

Demand for gold as a reserve asset strengthened considerably in 2018, rising by 74% compared to 2017, in response to the geopolitical and macro-economic environment. It also broadened. Our flagship training programme for reserve managers, held in conjunction with the National University of Singapore, received a record number of applications from central banks globally keen to learn how gold can help them meet their safety, liquidity and other objectives. Our mid-year central bank survey reported that one fifth of central banks surveyed intended to increase their gold holdings over the next 12 months, with none planning a decrease.

The Common Accounting Framework for Central Banks, which was launched early in 2018, was awarded Central Banking’s inaugural Professional Services Initiative Award.

Hungary central bankThis was borne out by events, with over 20 central banks purchasing gold in 2018. This included many new buyers or central banks that had been dormant in the gold market for several years. Even some European central banks bought gold, with the national banks of Poland and Hungary both making sizeable purchases. The central banks of Russia, Kazakhstan and Turkey also remained prolific buyers. The desire to de-dollarise foreign exchange reserves, in response to deteriorating geo-political relations in some parts of the world, fuelled some purchases. While other central banks bought gold for diversification reasons and, in Hungary’s case, partly as a hedge against structural changes in the international financial system. We expect all three influences to strengthen this year.

 

The Common Accounting Framework for Central Banks, which was launched early in 2018, was awarded Central Banking’s inaugural Professional Services Initiative Award for the concerted effort to support constant accounting of monetary gold in order to boost transparency and improve central bank gold reserve management. Looking ahead, we will be co-hosting our next executive training programme on reserve management with the PBoC’s prestigious school of finance: Tsinghua University.

 

Gold demand, East to West

 

Bringing Shari’ah compliant solutions to Islamic investors

Following the launch of the Shari’ah Standard on Gold, which was developed to open up a new asset class for Islamic investors, new Shari’ah compliant gold-backed products were launched in Dubai and Malaysia this year, catering to both the institutional and retail investment markets. To further facilitate the growth of the Islamic gold market we collaborated with the International Islamic Finance Market (IIFM) to develop standardised documentation for gold products and transactions.

To complement our marketing of the Shari’ah Standard on Gold to Islamic financial institutions, we provided them with research on consumer perceptions of gold and Islamic finance. This is being used by Islamic banks to better understand consumer preferences, inform product design, and support the growth of the Islamic finance sector currently valued in excess of US$1.5 trillion (tn).

Changing the global dialogue on gold

We held our inaugural Investment Summit on 25 April 2018 in conjunction with NYU Stern Business School. Aimed at raising the global conversation on gold, both in terms of its role in addressing critical long-term investment challenges, as well as its broader relevance in society, attendees included leading industry experts, asset owners, academics, official institutions and central banks, many of whom had no prior involvement in the gold investment markets.

The debate centred on the macro socio-economic changes ahead, including: the shift in economic power from West to East; the rise of fintech and cryptoassets; ESG issues and their implications for the gold market and the impact of rising emerging-market incomes and the widening deficit in pension funds in western markets. The macro-economic shift from a primarily dollar-based to a multi-currency-based reserve system was also considered. Following the success of our first summit, two will be held in 2019 in Beijing and New York.

India’s evolving gold market

India holds a strategically important position as the second largest consumer of gold and the holder of the largest stock of gold, yet its policies on gold in the past have not kept pace with the needs of a dynamic industry. Over the last five years, we have been advocating the need for a comprehensive gold policy to make gold a mainstream financial asset and part of the organised sector of the Indian economy. As a consequence of our efforts, 2018 marked a significant shift in government policy.

India’s Finance Minister indicated the government’s commitment to define comprehensive gold policies that would establish gold as an asset class, together with the creation of a gold exchange.

In February’s Union Budget, India’s Finance Minister indicated the government’s commitment to define comprehensive gold policies that would establish gold as an asset class, together with the creation of a gold exchange. This reflected a profound change in approach. Leading on from this commitment, the government’s think-tank, NITI Aayog, released a gold policy report with 84 recommendations to transform the gold market over the coming years. We were a core member of this committee.

 

India gold market

 

Transitioning from policy considerations to implementation, we established a steering committee made up of 27 participants from financial institutions and trade associations, to develop a blueprint for a spot gold exchange, which will reform current practices that include private bilateral transactions, fragmentation, opacity, lack of price transparency and inconsistent and unreliable quality standards. The blueprint has been completed following wide consultations with policymakers and regulators, giving specific recommendations on operating platforms and regulatory changes. During 2019, a syndicate will be established to work with the policymakers to drive implementation.

In November we launched India’s first assay institute, in collaboration with MMTC-PAMP.

Finally, in November we launched India’s first assay institute, in collaboration with MMTC-PAMP. To support and sustain this initiative, six large national trade associations came on board as patron members in an unprecedented fashion. The institute will be transformative for the industry, as a new generation of skilled assayers will help eliminate the systemic under caratage of gold jewellery and bring integrity to the gold market, thereby instilling trust and confidence in consumers.

The growing role of gold in China

In 2018, we presented policy recommendations to the Chinese government and the PBoC to help strengthen its domestic gold industry and enable it to take an increasingly international role.

As reported last year, a new paper, Recommendations for the further development of China’s gold market, was released at the 2018 China Gold Congress, which we co-hosted with the China Gold Association. This report set out a five-year plan to help the market drive efficiency, increase transparency and take a greater role in the global gold market. Since then, the PBoC has started working on guidance for three new areas of gold investment: internet investment businesses, asset management and GAP products, which should stimulate new markets for gold in China.

 

Representatives of the 'China Gold Market Leaders Dinner 2018'

 

With the restructuring of the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC) during the year, we have resumed our activities with IAMAC, SGE and leading insurance funds by submitting a proposal to CBIRC to enable insurance companies to make an allocation to gold. The assets currently held by insurance companies exceed US$3tn. If approved, it would open a new channel for demand in China.

We also began preparations to establish a new ‘China Gold 50’ group, which is made up of the key stakeholders in the gold industry in China, including regulators, the CGA, SGE, SHFE, top mining companies, bullion banks, leading jewellers and other associations. This group will gather on an annual basis to discuss issues facing the Chinese gold market and how to help it strengthen its international role.

Extending the gold ETF market

Since its inception nearly 15 years ago, the US physical gold-backed ETF industry continues to experience an average of 27.3% AUM growth per year in US$ terms.1 This is driven by diverse factors including the rapid adoption of robo/self-directed solutions, a wide range of options for exposures, management fee compression, and ease of use relative to other investment vehicles.

In response to evolving market preferences SPDR® Gold MiniShares (GLDM) was launched in June in partnership with State Street Global Advisors (SSGA). Immediately embraced by key investor channels, including retail and platform driven models, GLDM grew rapidly, closing 2018 with US$397.4mn in assets. GLDM is currently the largest low-cost gold-backed ETF in the US market. SPDR® Gold Trust (GLD®) continues to be the market-leading gold-backed ETF, with US$32.5bn assets, representing approximately 70% of the US ETF market. Rounding out the GLD suite of ETFs is “SPDR® Long Dollar Gold Trust (GLDW), which offers investors an innovative way to access the gold market by removing the potential negative influence of a strong US dollar (USD) on the price of gold.

Fintech’s growing role in the gold industry

2018 saw a heightened level of interest in the gold market by the fintech community, with a myriad of different digital investment platforms and products having been launched worldwide and many more under development. Many of these seek to introduce new business models and disruptive solutions to redefine the current gold industry value streams and potentially significantly increase gold demand. In addition, blockchain has rapidly gained traction in the fintech space with a number of providers leveraging the technology in seeking to ensure provenance and integrity in the gold supply chain.

Given the profound impact of fintech on the mining industry and the potential new channels of gold demand this could create, we established a Fintech Gold Working Group with our members to explore these opportunities.

Safegold is a new Indian website that allows consumers to purchase vaulted gold.
Safegold is a new Indian website that allows consumers to purchase vaulted gold.

Subsequently, we decided to take tangible steps to help the gold market organise and advance initiatives in the space, and so we shifted our focus to honing our understanding of how technology and market infrastructure could be enhanced with improved process. One significant outcome was publishing the Internet Investment Gold (IIG) Investor Guidance document which highlights critical questions and structural requirements investors should be cognisant of and prioritise when evaluating online offerings of gold investment products. Since publication of the guidance, feedback has been overwhelmingly positive from the broad range of recipients including regulators, investors and product providers.

Looking ahead, fintech gold solutions are expected to become a significant market driver and one such example is Safegold, a digital platform in India that allows customers to buy, sell and receive vaulted gold. We made a minority investment in it in order to increase the breadth of vaulted digital gold products in India.