ETF每月评论

截至9月底,2020年全球黄金ETF的新增需求超1,000吨

Published:

月度流量 月度流量数据

9月回顾

截至9月底,全球黄金ETF创纪录地连续十个月出现净流入,与2008以及2016年出现的连续流入趋势相当。1 全球黄金ETF持仓在九月增长68.1吨(46亿美元)或2%的资产管理规模。今年这些产品1,003吨(557亿美元)的净流入是全球黄金投资需求的主要支撑,这也令全球黄金ETF的总持仓达到了3,880吨或2,350亿美元的纪录新高。2

 

ETF 流量2

ZH ETF flows chart

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

分区域回顾

上个月北美地区的基金的规模增长再次引领全球,净流入达34.6吨(约合22亿美元,资产管理规模的1.8%,下同)。欧洲地区的黄金ETF在经历了8月的净流出后,规模再次出现增长,持仓上升26吨(19亿美元,2%)。亚洲的黄金ETF总持仓上升了6.8吨(4.32亿美元,5.9%),其主要驱动来自于中国新上市的两支上海金ETF,这令该地区2020年新增基金的总数达到了7支。避险需求以及今年以当地货币计价黄金的强劲表现驱动了印度地区的黄金ETF的净流入。其他地区的基金则也有小幅的0.6吨(0.23亿美元,0.6%)的净流入。

三季度黄金ETF的吸引力倍增

随着金价上涨,三季度全球黄金ETF总持仓增幅达7%,约合273吨或164亿美元。北美地区基金的净流入仍旧占据主导。但第三季度亚洲黄金ETF市场表现则更为亮眼,该地区的总持仓上升了17%,同时,4支新的基金在中国陆续上市。欧洲和其他地区的黄金ETF总量同期分别增长了3%和9%。

从流动性和仓位来看,投资者对黄金的战略配置持续上升

金价在9月3.6%的下滑或许本质上是战术性的调整。金价在4月和7月之间涨幅高达22%,8月初更是创历史新高。当价格变动如此之快时,随之而来的通常是与获利了结有关的震荡或回调。近期的COMEX黄金期货净多仓位也出现了下降:与今年2月创下的1,209吨(630亿美元)的历史纪录相比,净多仓下滑了近40%。3 而黄金的日均成交量也出现了下滑,其中全球黄金ETF的日均交易量从8月的52亿美元降至上个月的32亿美元。但尽管价格疲软,净多仓下滑并且日均交易量降低,但黄金ETF的需求仍在上升,表明投资者对于黄金的长期战略性配置需求依旧强劲。

容忍更高通胀的货币政策思路被越来越多的央行采取

上个月的报告中,我们提到,美联储或许再也不会进行控制通胀的预防性加息,其近乎0的政策利率或许将保持较长一段时间,并且这样的货币政策思路很有可能被其他地区的央行和政府所采取,令全球范围内的负实际利率维持更久。而近期欧央行对于其或许将在更长的时间范围内容忍更高的通胀的表述或证实了我们的观点。而这有助于降低持有黄金的机会成本,这也是2020年以来支撑黄金投资需求的重要因素之一。4 

四季度的市场波动率可能会上升

以下因素可能会导致金融市场波动的增加:

  • 美国:诸多分析师认为,美国总统大选的竞争将会十分激烈,并且很有可能在大选日之后仍然悬而不决。而且围绕大规模的经济刺激法案的争议以及关于最高法院大法官的提名已重创股市
  • 欧洲:无协议脱欧的可能性以及可能导致的该区域的贸易争端将影响金融市场
  • 全球:进入秋季,新冠肺炎持续蔓延,且美国总统特朗普也受到感染

但从积极的方面看,中国的经济指标不断改善,并且黄金消费 – 中国的黄金消费占据全球的20% - 也有望在十一黄金周得到提振。此外,全球新冠疫苗研发进展积极,前景向好。

区域流量5

9月,欧洲黄金ETF再度出现强劲的净流入

  • 北美:总持仓上升34.6吨(22亿美元,1.8% AUM)
  • 欧洲:持仓上升26吨(19亿美元,2% AUM)
  • 亚洲:总持仓增加6.8吨(4.32亿美元,5.9% AUM)
  • 其他地区:净流入0.6吨(0.23亿美元,0.6% AUM)。

主要基金流量变动

SPDR® Gold Shares 和 iShares Physical Gold规模上个月共计增长20亿美元

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares持仓量增长17.4吨(11亿美元,1.4%),引领了全球黄金ETF流入, iShares Gold Trust流入12.8吨(8.1亿美元,2.5%)紧随其后;在低成本市场 ,SPDR® Gold MiniShares流入2.8吨(1.69亿美元,4.8%),是所有低成本基金中变动最为明显的
  • 欧洲:iShares Physical Gold持仓上升15.7吨(9.84亿美元,6.6%),Invesco Physical Gold ETC规模上升12.3吨(7.68亿美元,5.6%) 。WisdomTree Physical Gold 主导了全球基金的流出,持仓下滑5.6吨(3.42亿美元, -3.8%),Xtrackers Physical Gold ETC持仓下滑2.1吨 (1.27亿美元, -8.4%)
  • 又有两支新的基金在中国上市(中银上海金ETF以及建信上海金ETF),两基金总持仓超1吨,博时黄金ETF净流入2吨(1.27亿美元,11.9%)

长期趋势

2020截至9月底,全球黄金ETF净流入首次超过1,000吨,远高于2009年646吨的最大年度流入

  • 北美的黄金ETF在前三个季度持仓上升649吨
  • 截至今年9月,全球黄金ETF资产管理总规模共增长67%
  • 以吨位和价值计算的全球黄金ETF持仓量继续创下新高
  • 北美黄金ETF贡献了今年全球净流入的三分之二。

脚注

  1. 自全球金融危机以来,全球黄金ETF出现过三次连续十个月的净流入,分别是2007/6-2009/3, 2016/1-2016/10, 2019/12-目前)

  2. <p>我们会定期核查全球黄金ETF,并根据最新数据和信息调整基金名单和持仓量。在近期的一次例行审查后我们发现了与现有的WisdomTree Physical Gold EUR Daily Hedged fund数据不一致之处并进行了调整,这导致了2018年以后的全球黄金ETF总持仓大约9吨的下滑. </p>

  3. 净多仓包含了基金经理仓位和其他类型交易商的仓位。

  4. 我们曾在《2020下半年黄金市场展望》中提及,机会成本将会是驱动黄金需求的四个主要因素之一

  5. 我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同

  6. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, 与 Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF。

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETFs surpass 1,000 tonnes of new demand in 2020

Published:

PDF XLSX

September highlights

Gold-backed ETFs and similar products (gold ETFs) recorded their tenth consecutive month of net inflows during September, matching equivalent stretches in 2008 and 2016.1 Gold ETF holdings increased by 68.1 tonnes (t) (US$4.6bn) or 2.0% of assets under management (AUM) despite gold’s worst monthly price performance since November 2016. Global net inflows of 1,003t (US$55.7bn) in 2020 have led overall gold investment demand and taken the gold ETF holdings universe to a fresh new all-time high of 3,880t and US$235bn in AUM. 2

 

ETF flows2

ETF flows chart

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Regional overview

Gold was one of several major assets, including stocks and broad-based commodities, that started the quarter strongly, reversed course in September, but closed the quarter higher. This was mirrored by a stronger US dollar that finished the quarter nearly 4% lower.

North American funds led global inflows once again, up 34.6t (US$2.2bn, 1.8% AUM). After seeing outflows in August, European funds added 26.0t (US$1.9bn, 2.0%) in September. Asian funds added 6.8t (US$432mn, 5.9% AUM) as two new funds launched in China for a second straight month, bringing the total number of new funds in the region to seven this year. Safe-haven demand and strong y-t-d returns in the domestic gold price fostered Indian fund inflows during the month. Finally, funds listed in other regions experienced small inflows of 0.6t (US$23mn, 0.6% AUM).

Strong Q3 inflows

Gold ETF holdings grew 7% during the third quarter, adding 273t or US$16.4bn in assets as the price of gold finished nearly 7% higher during the same period. North American funds remained the primary recipients of inflows. However, inflows in Asia stand out, as the region grew holdings by 17% and four new funds listed in China. Assets in Europe and other regions grew by 3% and 9% respectively.

Liquidity and positioning suggest increased strategic investment

Gold’s 3.6% September pullback was likely tactical in nature. Gold rallied sharply (22%) between April and July, reaching an all-time high in early August. When prices move this quickly there is often a subsequent pause or pullback in the price related to profit-taking or positioning. The recent Commitment of Traders (COT) report for gold COMEX futures of 759t (US$46bn) confirms reduced net long positioning. While still above the 2020 average of US$189bn, net long positioning has fallen nearly 40% since the February 2020 all-time highs of 1,209t (US$63bn).3 Volumes also fell from US$228bn in August to US$199bn in September. Notably, global gold ETF volumes fell to US$3.2bn from US$5.2bn the previous month. Despite the weaker prices, positioning and volumes, investment demand via gold ETFs increased, suggesting continued long-term strategic positioning.

The higher inflation allowance policy is gaining momentum in multiple regions

Last month, we noted that the US Federal Reserve would no longer pre-emptively increase rates to cool higher inflation, implying that rates could remain near zero for many years, and that this monetary policy philosophy could trickle into other regions, assuring negative global real rates for the foreseeable future. This appears to have been corroborated following the ECB’s announcement that it may consider allowing inflation to run higher for longer than usual. Subsequently, the improved opportunity cost of gold4 has helped investment demand so far in 2020, outweighing decreasing demand in the jewellery and central banks’ spaces.

The fourth quarter could be volatile

There are numerous catalysts for market volatility in the fourth quarter:

  • US - Market analysts believe there is a good chance the US Presidential election will be contested and unresolved for some time after election day. Moreover, contentious dynamics around the stimulus bill and the Supreme Court Justice nomination are already whipsawing markets
  • Europe - a no-deal Brexit scenario is possible and could disrupt trade in the region
  • Global - COVID-19 cases are on the rise as we move into the fall, with President Trump the most recent infected world leader.

On a positive note, economic indicators are improving in China, and during the holiday season there could be an uptick in consumer gold purchases as China single-handedly accounts for over 20% of annual gold demand. Additionally, India (the world’s second largest gold-consuming nation) has seen healthy monsoon rainfall for a second straight year—something that has not happened since the 1950s. This could soften the negative impact of COVID-19 in rural areas which have historically generated around 60% of Indian jewellery demand. Finally, the potential for a COVID-19 vaccine emerging during the quarter has gained momentum.

Regional flows5

European funds resumed strong inflows

  • North American funds had inflows of 34.6t (US$2.2bn, 1.8% AUM)
  • Holdings in European funds increased by 26.0t (US$1.9bn, 2.0%)
  • Funds listed in Asia saw holdings rise by 6.8t (US$432mn, 5.9%)
  • Other regions had inflows of 0.6t (US$23mn, 0.6%).

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares and iShares Physical Gold collectively added over US$2bn in September

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares led global inflows, adding 17.4t (US$1.1bn, 1.4%), followed by iShares Gold Trust, which added 12.8t (US$810mn, 2.5%); the low-cost space6 was fronted by SPDR® Gold MiniShares growing by 2.8t (US$169mn, 4.8%) with minimal to no flows in the other low-cost funds like Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares and Graniteshares Gold Trust
  • In Europe, iShares Physical Gold added 15.7t (US$984mn, 6.6%), followed by Invesco Physical Gold ETC, which added 12.3t (US$768mn, 5.6%). WisdomTree Physical Gold led global outflows with -5.6t (US$342mn, -3.8%) followed by Xtrackers Physical Gold ETC with -2.1t (US$127mn, -8.4%)
  • Two new funds were listed in China (BOC Shanghai China Gold ETF and CCB Principal Shanghai Gold ETF), collectively adding over 1t to the Asian region; Bosera’s listed fund led the region’s inflows with 2.0t (US$127mn, 11.9%).

Long-term trends

Gold ETFs have added more than 1,000t for the first time ever, surpassing the 2009 record of 646t.

  • North American funds have added 649t through the first three quarters
  • Collective gold ETF AUM have grown 67% y-t-d through September
  • Holdings in both tonnage and value terms continue to reach new highs
  • North American funds represent 2/3 of global net inflows on the year.

Footnotes

  1. Since the Financial Crisis, there have been three instances of ten straight months of inflows (June 2007 – March 2008, January 2016 – October 2016, and currently since December 2019).

  2. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information. After a standard periodic review of historical and current fund holdings and reported data, we discovered an inconsistency in the available WisdomTree Physical Gold EUR Daily Hedged fund data, which has been amended. This resulted in a net reduction of total gold holdings of approximately nine tonnes since 2018.

  3. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

  4. As noted in our Gold mid-year outlook that—opportunity cost is one of the four key drivers of gold demand.

  5. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month, when the price of gold was low, but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  6. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange traded open-ended funds listed in the US, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, and Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

Rate this content: