ETF每月评论

全球黄金ETF持仓自去年11月以来首现净流出

Published:

月度流量 月度流量数据

11月摘要

上个月的全球黄金ETF持仓下降了107吨(约合68亿美元,总资产管理规模的2.9%,下同),为过去一年以来的首次下降,这也是历史上第二高的月度净流出。1  这背后主要原因或在于金价出现了2016年11月以来的最差月度表现 – 月跌幅达6.3%。

尽管如此,2020年前11个月全球黄金ETF 净流入达916吨(503亿美元),虽然这略低于前十个月的1,022吨,但仍远高于此前任何一年的年度纪录。2 目前全球的黄金ETF总持仓为3,793吨,约合2,150亿美元。

 

ZH ETF flows chart

数据截至

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

分区域市场回顾

全球股市的积极势头以及投资者风险偏好的提升是令所有地区黄金ETF出现净流出的主要原因。北美和欧洲的黄金ETF资产管理规模均有近3%的下降(北美:净流出62吨,约合37亿美元;欧洲:净流出43吨,约合29亿美元)。亚洲的基金总持仓小幅下降0.4吨(0.35亿美元,0.5%),其他地区的黄金ETF则出现了2吨的净流出(1.26亿美元,3.3%)。

总交易量继续抬升,期权市场的看跌头寸有所增加

11月,全球黄金日均交易量回升至今年以来的平均水平上方,达1,900亿美元/日。尽管金价下跌,COMEX黄金期货的净多头寸与10月的766吨相比仅有微幅下降,至746吨(约合420亿美元)。3 虽然净多仓与2020年的平均水平相比仍有差距,但这保持在其长期平均水平的上方。

值得注意的是,尽管黄金市场有一定抛售,但黄金期权市场的隐含波动率,即投资者对金价未来波动的预期,并没有显著增加。但看跌/看涨偏度升至一年以来的高位,与此同时,看涨偏度降至过去一年以来的最低。这或许说明虽然投资者不认为未来的金价会有大幅的波动,但他们更倾向于增加金价下方空间的风险暴露,而非其上涨的潜力。

全球市场的不确定性仍存,黄金的投资需求表现强劲

随着美国大选相对平稳和平衡的结果公布以及关于新冠疫苗积极进展消息的传播,前期市场关注的两大风险:美国大选和新冠疫情似乎暂告一段落。全球主要风险资产应声上涨,投资者的避险需求有所下降:黄金ETF出现净流出,国债利率上升,股市看跌看涨比率处于极度牛市区间等。 

在危机时期提供风险分散作用是驱动全球黄金需求的重要因素之一,但在目前的环境中,其他驱动有望继续支撑需求并对金价表现产生影响。尽管我们最近的2020年第三季度黄金需求趋势报告中重点突出了今年的一个重要主题:疲弱的全球经济对金饰和科技用金需求造成了显著的负面影响,但我们最近的数据表明,持续改善的中国经济以及印度的节日季已对黄金的消费需求产生了一定提振。

在第三季度转变为小幅净卖出状态(十年来首次)之后,全球央行的购金需求在10月份转正。最后,我们认为利于降低持有黄金机会成本的全球低利率环境有望持续,尤其是在目前多数国家正准备向其经济注入更多的流动性和刺激政策的情况下。4 

区域流量5

全球所有地区均出现了净流出

  • 北美:总持仓下降62.3吨(37亿美元,2.9%)
  • 欧洲:持仓下降42.4吨(29亿美元,2.9% )
  • 亚洲:总持仓下降0.4吨(0.35亿美元,0.5%)
  • 其他地区:净流出2吨(1.26亿美元,3.3%)

主要基金流量变动

SPDR® Gold Shares 净流出达37亿美元,相当于其总规模的5%

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares持仓量下降62.9吨(37亿美元,4.9%),为全球最高, Graniteshares Gold Trust持仓减少2.2吨(1.32亿美元,10.4%)排名第二。而iShares Gold Trust流入0.8吨(0.57亿美元,0.2%)
  • 欧洲:一些汇率对冲的黄金ETF表现不俗,WisdomTree Physical Gold GBP Hedged 与WisdomTree Physical Swiss Gold 的持仓分别上升了5%和4%。 两只英国的基金出现了欧洲地区最高的净流出,它们分别是 WisdomTree Physical Gold与iShares Physical Gold ,两者持仓分别减少了13.8吨(8.28亿美元,10%)和13.4吨(8.01亿美元,5.3%)

长期趋势

2020截至11月底,全球黄金ETF规模上升了近50%(持仓增长913吨),远高于2009年646吨的最高年度流入

  • 尽管2020年以来的黄金ETF规模显著增长,其净流入在近期放缓并在上个月转为最近一年以来的首次净流出;
  • 今年以来全球的通过ETF的黄金投资需求表现强劲;
  • 北美黄金ETF贡献了今年全球净流入的三分之二。
     

脚注

  1. 历史上最高的月度净流出(约合80亿美元)出现在2013年的4月。

  2. 根据我们最新数据显示,在2020年1月和10月之间,全球黄金ETF的净流入为1,022吨。我们会定期核查全球黄金ETF,并根据最新数据和信息调整基金名单和持仓量。

  3. 包含了基金经理仓位和其他类型交易商的在COMEX黄金期货市场的净多仓位.

  4. 我们曾在《2020下半年黄金市场展望》中提及,机会成本将会是驱动黄金需求的四个主要因素之一

  5. 我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETF outflows for the first time in a year

Published:

PDF XLSX

November highlights

In November, gold-backed ETFs and similar products (gold ETFs) recorded their first net outflows in twelve months and second largest monthly outflows ever.1 Gold ETF holdings decreased by 107 tonnes (t) during the month – US$6.8bn or 2.9% of assets under management (AUM) – as the gold price had its worst monthly move (-6.3%, US$1,763/oz) since November 2016, when it dipped 7.4%.

Despite lacklustre performance this month, net inflows of 916t (US$50.3bn) in 2020 remain well above the highest yearly amount on record, although below the record set last month (+1,022t).2 Total global holdings are now at 3,793t or US$215bn. 

 

ETF flows chart

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Monthly regional overview

Positive equity-market sentiment and a risk-on environment drove gold ETF outflows across all regions during November. Both North American and European funds each lost nearly 3% of assets (North America: -62t US$3.7bn; Europe: -43t, US$2.9bn). Asian funds had outflows of 0.4t (US$35mn, 0.5%), while funds listed in other regions had another month of outflows, relative to their size, of 2.0t (US$126mn, 3.3%).

Higher trading volumes and increased bearish positioning in the options space

In November, daily gold volumes increased, returning to just above the y-t-d averages, trading US$190bn a day. Despite gold’s weak performance, net long positioning – via the recent Commitment of Traders (COT) report for gold COMEX futures – showed minimal reductions at 746t (US$42bn)3, slightly below the 766t level in October. Net longs are well below the 2020 average but still above the long-term average. 

Notably, implied volatility, or the expected future price movement of gold, did not increase meaningfully, despite gold’s sell-off. However, put/call skew increased to one-year highs and call skew decreased to one-year lows. This suggests that while investors may not anticipate large absolute moves in the gold price, they are positioning much more for downside exposure than for upside exposure.

Global uncertainties remain as gold demand trends continue

Two major market risks – the US election and the pandemic - appear to have subsided given a relatively smooth and bi-partisan outcome of the US election and the announcement of successful COVID vaccines. This drove risky assets like stocks to all-time highs in some countries, and the MSCI World Stock index had its best monthly performance ever, highlighting the global impact of both developments. As these two risks subsided, investors reduced hedges, and this was reflected in the gold ETF outflows, higher bond yields, and stock market put/call ratios at extremely bullish levels.

While one of the drivers of gold demand is diversification in times of market stress, in such circumstances other drivers may come into play and influence pricing. Although our Q3 Gold Demand Trends highlighted a common 2020 theme – that a weaker global economy negatively impacted consumer demand for jewellery and technology – our recent data suggests that the improving Chinese economy and the festival season in India may have spurred consumer demand. 

Central banks resumed net gold buying in October having been quarterly net sellers in Q3 for the first time in ten years. Finally, as we have discussed frequently, the low-rate environment that improves gold’s opportunity cost4 is likely to remain, especially as many countries start to inject additional stimuli into their economies.
 

Regional flows5

Strong outflows across all regions

  • North American funds had outflows of 62.3t (US$3.7bn, 2.9% AUM)
  • Holdings in European funds decreased by 42.4t (US$2.9bn, 2.9%)
  • Funds listed in Asia saw holdings fall by 0.4t (US$35mn, 0.5%)
  • Other regions had outflows of 2.0t (US$126mn, 3.3%).

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares led global outflows losing US$3.7bn or nearly 5% of its assets

  • In North America, iShares Gold Trust added 0.8t (US$57mn, 0.2%), while SPDR® Gold Shares lost 62.9t (US$3.7bn, 4.9%), followed by Graniteshares Gold Trust, which lost 2.2t (US$132mn, 10.4%)
  • In Europe, a few currency-hedged funds had meaningful inflows as WisdomTree Physical Gold GBP Hedged and WisdomTree Physical Swiss Gold added 5% and 4% to their holdings, respectively. However, two other UK-based funds led European outflows: WisdomTree Physical Gold lost 13.8t (US$828mn, 10.0%), while iShares Physical Gold lost 13.4t (US$801mn, 5.3%)

Long-term trends

Gold ETFs have added nearly 50% more assets in 2020 (916t) than the 2009 record of 646t. 

  • Despite record-setting inflows in 2020, inflows slowed in recent months and turned negative for the first time in a year
  • Investment demand for gold via ETFs remains strong
  • North American funds represent nearly two-thirds of global net inflows on the year.
     

Footnotes

  1. The record monthly outflows occurred in April 2013 when gold ETFs lost over US$8bn.

  2. Between January and October 2020, net inflows reached a total of 1,022t, based on our most current data. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information. 

  3. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

  4. As noted in our Gold mid-year outlook, opportunity cost is one of the four key drivers of gold demand.

  5. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month, when the price of gold was low, but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

Rate this content: