ETF每月评论

2019年,全球黄金ETF持仓量上升14%,至历史新高

已发布:

月度流量 月度流量数据

2019年重点回顾

在2019年,全球黄金ETF及类似产品净流入190亿美元(400吨),且所有区域都出现了规模增长。第四季度,全球总持仓更是达到了近2,900吨的历史新高。总体看,在投资需求升温及金价上涨的驱动下,2019年全球黄金ETF总资产管理规模上升了37%。

黄金ETF流量数据1

ZH ETF flows chart

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

各区域流量回顾

2019年,北美地区黄金ETF的净流入引领全球,其持仓量增长达206吨(约合101亿美元,约为资产管理规模的14.4%),持续升温的地缘政治风险以及美联储十年来首次开启降息周期是主要驱动。英国黄金ETF净流入91吨(41亿美元,14.5%),其脱欧进程的不确定性是主推因素。在英国地区强劲的推动下,欧洲地区基金的规模增长则达到了188吨(88亿美元,13.6%)。亚洲地区的基金规模在2019基本持平,持仓量小幅下滑0.1吨(1,200万美元,0.3%)。其他地区的基金规模增长了6.3吨(3.1亿美元,16.3%),澳大利亚地区的基金贡献了主要增长。

金价表现

2019年,美元金价在1,393美元/盎司至1,546美元/盎司区间运行,全年涨幅达18.4%。除了以美元和瑞朗计价的黄金价格外,以其他G10国家货币计价的金价都升至了历史最高或保持在记录高位附近。2019年,金价表现大致经历了以下三个阶段:

  1. 年初至五月,由于美元强势且地缘政治风险尚待发酵,金价表现平淡,于1,300美元/盎司附近震荡运行;
  2. 六月至九月初,金价强势上涨,并触及多年来的记录高位,其主要驱动在于金融危机后美联储首次进行降息,中美贸易摩擦升级以及英国脱欧进程的不确定性上升;
  3. 第四季度初,因地缘政治风险被推迟至2020年(英国脱欧,中美贸易摩擦),且风险资产持续“融涨”,金价回吐部分涨幅。但受部分投资者提前布局仓位影响,十二月金价涨幅达4%,再次达到2019年高位附近。

需求驱动

总体而言,强劲的全球黄金ETF流入与央行持续购金是2019年全球黄金需求的重要支撑。2019年全球黄金交易量升至1,450亿美元/天,年环比增长27%。COMEX的黄金期货净多头持仓4依旧保持在记录高位附近,远高于其长期均值。投资者对于黄金前景的青睐也体现在了期权市场上:相较于看跌期权,投资者愿意为看涨期权支付更多的权利金。

2019年黄金的驱动因素或在2020年持续作用

尽管全球多数权益市场指数在2019年末达到了历史新高附近,但金价表现依旧为十年来最强。金价强劲表现的驱动之一在于美联储向鸽派货币政策的立场转变。我们在《货币政策对黄金的影响》一文中指出,当美联储向更加中立或者鸽派的政策立场转变之际,金价往往表现突出。此外,投资者可能也注意到了我们针对低利率对金价的正面影响的研究以及在低利率环境中增加黄金头寸(通过替代债券)的研究。且由于全球有近乎90%的主权债券是以负实际利率交易,持有黄金的机会成本显著下降。

尽管对于美联储进一步降息的预期已有所下降,但美联储持续对回购市场进行干预,使得部分投资者认为向市场注入流动性是其量化宽松的另一种形式。正如我们在近期发布的博客《2019年黄金趋势总结》中提及的,货币政策方向的不确定性可能会黄金表现产生影响。

而许多在2018年驱动金价的因素也依旧存在。尽管中美已经原则上达成一份初步的贸易协议,其尚未正式签署,其中许多条款也待揭晓。下一阶段的谈判或包括一些仍存争议的领域,如知识产权问题以及货币操控问题。同时,2020年英国脱欧进程的影响仍有待确认。

最后,全球股市的持续上涨以及极低的企业债收益率仍令投资者有所担忧。股市的牛市情绪仍处极端水平,这反映在处在历史低位的VIX(恐慌指数)期货指数上。但从历史上看,处于极值的VIX期货空头头寸有时会造成股市的大幅抛售以及金价的持续上涨。

各地区黄金ETF流量2

北美和欧洲地区的基金资产管理规模均出现了14%的增长,几乎主导了2019年全球黄金ETF的主要流入

  • 北美地区:持仓量上升206吨(约合101亿美元,约为资产管理规模的14.4%)
  • 欧洲地区:持仓量上升188吨(88亿美元,13.6%)
  • 亚洲地区:持仓量微福下滑0.1吨(1,200万美元,0.3%)
  • 其他地区:持仓量上升6.3吨(3.11亿美元,16.3%)

具体基金流量变化

SPDR® Gold Shares 与 iShares Gold Trust合计贡献了近半数的全球黄金ETF流入

  • 北美地区: SPDR® Gold Shares 的净流入(+106吨, 53亿美元,16.3%)冠绝全球,iShares Gold Trust (+80吨, 38亿美元, 33%)与 SPDR® Gold Mini Shares (+13.5吨, 6.02亿美元, 151.7%)的流入紧随其后。
  • 欧洲地区:三支来自英国的黄金ETF的净流入引领欧洲地区基金,其中iShares Physical 持仓上升38吨 (18亿美元, 40.5%), Wisdom Tree Physical Swiss 规模增长37吨 (16亿美元, 218.5%),Invesco Physical 持仓量则出现了25.9吨 (11亿美元, 22.7%)的增长。Wisdom Tree Physical持仓下滑15吨(6.5亿美元,9.8%),是欧洲地区唯一出现值得注意的净流出的基金。
  • 亚洲地区:中国的博时黄金ETF(不含I与D份额)持仓上涨4.4吨(2.25亿美元,59.4%),同时中国的华安易富黄金ETF则在2019年出现了5.5吨(1.95亿美元,18%)的流出。
  • 其他地区:澳大利亚的ETFS Metal Securities出现了4.2吨(2.14亿美元,56.7%)的净流入,引领全球其他地区的基金。

长期趋势

全球黄金ETF总规模在2019年增长了14%,至记录高位

  • 在2019年,全球黄金ETF持仓量增长了400吨(192亿美元,13.6%),主要由下半年强劲的流入驱动。
  • 英国与德国地区的黄金ETF规模分别增长了15%和13%,主要驱动在于英国脱欧的不确定性和德国的负利率债规模的上升。
  • 2019年,北美地区的基金持仓上升了206吨,与此同时,欧洲地区的基金持仓增加188吨。
  • 美国的低成本黄金ETF 在过去的19个月中有18个月都出现了净流入,2019年,其累计资产管理规模上升了60%。3 

十二月黄金ETF流量回顾

全球黄金ETF的持仓规模在十二月有所反弹,总持仓上升13.5吨(4.86亿美元,0.3%),几乎全部由欧洲地区的基金贡献。欧洲地区的黄金ETF总规模上升6.72亿美元。北美地区与其他区域的黄金ETF流量变化不大,亚洲地区的黄金ETF总规模则下降了5.1%。而美元金价在十二月出现了4%的反弹,在2019年收盘于1,515美元/盎司。
 

脚注

  1. 我们会定期审查我们跟踪的全球黄金ETF并根据最新信息调整我们的名单。最近的审查中我们发现了一个基于瑞士的黄金ETF ETC UBS ETF GOLD,原本并不在我们囊括的黄金ETF范围以内。本基金已被加入我们的历史数据中,由于其的加入,全球黄金ETF持仓量上升了44.9吨。

  2. 备注:我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同

  3. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, 与 Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF。

  4. 净多仓位是指在COMEX期货市场上管理基金与其他净多仓位。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold-backed ETF holdings grew 14% in 2019, reaching all-time highs

Published:

PDF XLSX

2019 Highlights

Updated 29 January 2019

Global gold-backed ETFs and similar products had US$19.2bn, or 400 tonnes(t), of net inflows in 2019 in almost all countries, after holdings rebounded in December. Collective ETF holdings reached all-time highs of ~2,900t in the fourth quarter. Overall, global gold-backed assets under management (AUM) grew 37% in US dollars during the year as a result of positive demand combined with an 18.4% increase in the gold price. 

 

ETF flows 1

ETF flows chart

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Regional overview

North American funds led regional inflows in 2019, adding 206t (US$10.1bn, 14.4% AUM) as market uncertainty increased on the back of growing geopolitical tensions and the Federal reserve cut rates for the first time in ten years. European funds had inflows of 188t (US$8.8bn, 13.6%) driven primarily by UK-based funds, which added 91t (US$4.1bn, 14.5%) as Brexit concerns loomed large throughout the year. Asian funds finished the year relatively flat, losing 0.1t (US$12mn, 0.3%). Funds in other regions grew 17.5%, adding 7.6t and US$370mn, with most of the growth coming from Australian-listed funds.

Price performance

Gold reached or was near all-time highs in every major G10 currency apart from the US dollar and Swiss franc. And gold’s US dollar price performance during 2019 (+18.4%, $1,515/oz) tracked three distinct timelines: 

  1. it remained relatively flat, near $1,300/oz, throughout May as the dollar strengthened and geopolitical concerns had yet to come to the forefront
  2. it rallied strongly between early June and early September, reaching a multi-year high of US$1,546/oz, as the Fed shifted to cutting rates for the first time since the financial crisis and US/China trade tensions and Brexit concerns increased
  3. it gave back some of its gains ($1,450/oz) in the early part of the fourth quarter as geopolitical resolutions (Brexit, US/China) were extended into 2020, while risky assets continued to “melt higher.” However, gold finished the year 4% higher in December, near the y-t-d highs, as investors positioned ahead of 2020.

Demand

Ultimately, gold-backed ETF inflows alongside central bank purchases were a large driver of global gold demand in 2019. Increased investor activity in the gold market was also evident through trading volumes and positioning in derivatives markets. Global trading volumes rose 27% y-o-y to US$145bn per day in 2019, up from US$114bn per day in 2018. Gold futures market positioning closed the year on a positive note as COMEX net longs4 remained near all-time highs, well above long-term averages. And bullish sentiment was reflected in the gold options market with large call options purchases, where investors paid an all-time premium for upside calls compared to downside puts.

2019 drivers continue into 2020

Even though most global equity indices finished the year at or near all-time highs, gold shone, having its strongest price increase in ten years. The strength of gold was mainly the by-product of a dovish shift in monetary policy. Our research indicates that a shift from a hawkish or neutral stance to a dovish one has historically led gold to outperform – The impact of monetary policy on gold. Additionally, investors may have been drawn to our research that shows the positive impact of lower rates on gold prices as well as the potential for additional gold exposure (potentially replacing bonds) in a low-rate environment. And with over 90% of sovereign debt trading with negative real rates, the opportunity cost of investing in gold improved.

While expectations for future US Federal Reserve interest rate cuts have fallen, continued Fed intervention in the repo market has led some to consider this a form of quantitative easing through liquidity injection. As discussed in our recent blog Key trends to watch as we conclude 2019, gold price performance is likely to be impacted by uncertainty around monetary policy direction.

Yet many of 2019’s drivers of gold performance remain. While a “lite version” of a US/China trade deal was agreed in principle, it has yet to be formally signed, and terms have yet to be disclosed. Continued discussion of more contentious policies, like intellectual property and currency manipulation, are likely to come to the forefront. And while PM Boris Johnson has secured a commanding majority in the UK parliament, the impact of the 2020 Brexit has yet to be realised.

Finally, multiple expansion in the global stock markets, as well as surprisingly low yields in speculative corporate debt, continue to worry investors. A willingness to add risk, as stock market sentiment remains at extremely bullish levels, is evidenced by VIX futures levels near all-time short levels. At times, historically, significant VIX short positioning has preceded sharp stock market sell-offs and subsequent rallies in the price of gold.

Regional flows1

North American and European funds drove almost all inflows each growing 14% in 2019

  • North American funds had inflows of 206t (US$10.1bn, 14.4% AUM)
  • Holdings in European funds increased by 188t (US$8.8bn, 13.6%) 
  • Funds listed in Asia were nearly flat losing 0.1t (US$12mn, 0.3%)
  • Other regions had inflows of 7.6t (US$370mn, 17.5%).

Individual flows2

SPDR® Gold Shares and iShares Gold Trust collectively represented nearly half the global inflows 

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares led global inflows (106t, US$5.3bn, 16.3%), followed by iShares Gold Trust (+80t, US$3.8bn, 33.0%) and SPDR® Gold Mini Shares (+13.5t, US$602mn, 151.7%)
  • Three UK-based funds led European inflows as iShares Physical added 38t (US$ 1.8bn, 40.5%), WisdomTree Physical Swiss Gold added 37t (US$1.6bn, 218.5%) and Invesco Physical added 25.9t (US$1.1bn, 22.7%). WisdomTree Physical Gold had the only meaningful outflows in Europe, losing 15t (US$650mn, 9.8%), which could have been a shift to similar funds in the region with lower expense ratios.
  • Bosera Gold’s listed fund in China led Asian inflows, adding 4.4t (US$225mn, 59.4%), while Huaan Yifu, in China, lost 5.8t (US$208mn, 19.3%)
  • Australia’s ETFS Metal Securities most of the ‘Other region’ inflows adding 4.2t (US$214mn, 56.7%). 

Long-term trends

Gold-backed ETFs grew 14% in 2019, reaching all-time highs in holdings

  • Global gold-backed ETFs added 400t (US$19.2bn, 13.6%) in 2019, driven by strong inflows in the second half of the year
  • UK- and German-based funds grew 15% and 13% during the year, a by-product of Brexit concerns and negative yields in Germany.
  • North America added 206t compared to 188t in Europe in 2019 
  • Low-cost gold-backed ETFs in the US have seen positive flows for 18 of the past 19 months and increased their collective holdings by 60%.3

December Highlights

Following November outflows, gold-backed ETF holdings bounced back in December as funds added 14t (US$491mn, 0.4%), driven almost entirely by Europe: European funds added US$672mn, split between funds in France, Germany and Switzerland. Flows in North American and Other regions were mostly flat, while Asian funds gave up 5.1% of assets. This came as the US$ gold price rebounded nearly 4% during the month to close the year at US$1,515/oz.

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information. The recent review yielded a Swiss-based ETC UBS ETF Gold, which was not on the prior list. This fund has been added and historical data on it has been updated; this yielded an increase of 44.9 tonnes of total global holdings.

  2. Note: We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month when the price of gold was low but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  3. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange traded open-ended funds listed in the US, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, and Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]