印度发展金银交易银行的必要性

全球金银交易银行业规模庞大,历史悠久,经估算,年收入超过15亿美元。这一市场既包括国际银行,亦包括规模较小的本土银行。

裴尚明 Somasundaram PR
董事总经理,印度
世界黄金协会

不论总部设在何处,黄金市场的市场参与者都在全球主要的金银交易中心——新加坡、上海、伦敦和纽约开展业务。这一现象并非偶然。强大、成功的金银市场依赖并依托强大、成功的商业银行的支持,提供全面的金银交易银行服务。

金银交易银行现在是,并且仍将是市场的关键支柱——它们提高了整个黄金价值链上的信任度,优化了效率,提供了流动性,提高了透明度并支持价格发现机制。这使得客户能够满怀信心地参与到金银市场之中。伦敦和纽约的金银交易历史悠久,但新加坡和上海的黄金市场在15年前才开始形成。2017年,全球金银交易银行业务的收入约为15至18亿美元。但是,印度却未能充分利用这一市场潜力。

印度拥有全球最大的黄金市场之一,但在组织、结构和信任方面尚有不足。但随着大量转型举措的实施,这种情况正开始改变。强劲的金银交易银行业可以支持并加速这一转变,从而激发信任、鼓励创新并推动增长。

印度的金银交易银行业改革正当其时。印度黄金现货交易所预计将在不久的将来成立,这是印度国内黄金市场发展和规范化的关键时刻。商业银行需要参与其中,向黄金价值链上涉及的客户提供一系列金银交易银行产品和服务,进而促进更高的附加值。

本报告概述了金银交易银行在引领世界黄金中心方面所发挥的作用,阐述了印度如何在未来几年间发展繁荣的金银交易银行业,以期支持其总体经济规划,并使黄金在这一过程中发挥作用。本报告基于与世界各地的银行、交易所、黄金精炼厂商、仓储服务机构和监管机构以及印度主要利益相关者的深入探讨和研究。我们提出的见解和建议亦直接源于这些探讨。

印度的商业银行已经做好将黄金视为一种资产类别的万全准备。无论是在黄金市场,还是在更广泛的经济领域,印度都可以受益于蓬勃发展的金银交易银行业。印度的金银交易银行业蓄势待发!

The need for bullion banking in India

The global bullion banking industry is large and well-established with annual revenues estimated at more than US$1.5bn. The market includes both international banks and smaller local players.

Somasundaram PR
Managing Director - India
World Gold Council

No matter where they are headquartered, market participants in the gold market operate in the leading bullion hubs of the world - Singapore, Shanghai, London and New York. This is no accident. Strong, successful bullion markets rely on, and are supported by, strong, successful commercial banks, offering a full range of bullion banking services.

Bullion banks are and continue to be a key pillar of the market - they build greater trust across the gold value chain, drive efficiency, provide liquidity, promote transparency and support price discovery. The result is that customers can participate in the bullion market with confidence. London and New York have a long history of bullion trading, but the Singapore and Shanghai markets have only emerged in the past 15 years. In 2017, the revenue from global bullion banking operations was estimated to be US$1.5-1.8 billion. India leaves much of this potential on the table.

India's gold market is one of the largest in the world, but it lacks organisation, structure and trust. But that is beginning to change with numerous transformational initiatives underway. A robust bullion banking industry could support and accelerate that shift - inspiring trust, bolstering innovation and driving growth.

The timing for bullion banking reforms in India could not be more propitious. The Indian gold spot exchange is expected to launch in the near future, a key moment in the development and formalisation of the domestic gold market. Commercial banks need to be part of that journey, offering a range of bullion banking products and services to customers along the gold value chain and promoting higher value addition.

This report outlines the role that bullion banks play in leading gold centres around the world. It explains how India could develop a thriving bullion banking industry over the coming years to support its overarching economic ambitions, and enable gold to play a role in this journey. The report is based on deep discussions and research with banks, exchanges, refiners, vaulting services and regulators around the world, as well as key stakeholders in India. The insights and recommendations that we make stem directly from these discussions. 

Indian commercial banks are ready to embrace bullion as an asset class. India can reap significant benefits, both within its gold market and across the wider economy with a robust bullion banking industry. The stage is set!