科技行业

黄金需求趋势 2019年第三季度

2019年11月05日

科技行业

该行业面临着持续的挑战,但5G基础设施的加速部署减缓了电子行业需求的下降

  • 电子行业中用于发光二极管(LED)和内存领域的黄金需求进一步减弱
  • 这主要是由于5G基础设施部署的快速增长推动了无线行业需求的强劲增长(同比增长30-40%),抵消了上述需求的疲软情况
  • 牙科行业的用金需求继续稳步下降(同比-7%),同时其他行业的黄金应用下降了6%
2018年第
3季度
2019年第
3季度
同比变化
科技 85.4 82.2 -4%
电子行业 68.8 66.5 -3%
其他行业 12.9 12.2 -5%
牙医业 3.7 3.5 -7%

第三季度科技行业黄金使用量同比下降了4%,至82.2吨。虽然这是连续第四个季度需求同比下降,但有迹象表明,一些关键的电子行业的用金需求正开始复苏。

电子行业

第三季度,电子行业的用金量下降了3%,至66.5吨,原因是该行业整体发展放缓。本季度,世界半导体贸易统计组织(WSTS)发布的最新数据显示,2019年全年市场不稳定;全球半导体市场预计将从2018年4,688亿美元的历史高点下滑13%,至4,066亿美元。世界半导体贸易统计组织预测,在2020年出现同样全面复苏之前,所有地区的市场都会持续疲软,复苏后,整体市场将增长4.8%。

LED行业经历了又一个疲软的季度,该行业用金量同比下跌了8-10%。中国汽车市场的疲软导致了整体市场的低迷。迷你LED技术继续立足市场,一些高端笔记本电脑现在正在使用这种技术作为无金替代品。与此同时,中国的显示器市场也持续疲软;即使市场在未来几个季度复苏,业内的高库存量可能还会抑制黄金需求的增长。 

第三季度印刷电路板(PCB)的用金需求保持稳定,增长了1-2%。 智能手机行业的小型化阻碍了黄金用量在该行业的增长。虽然功能的增加推动了产量的增长,但对高密度包装的要求推动了微型化,因此每单位黄金使用量更少了。但是,据估计,5G基础设施中PCB的总需求将是4G的四到五倍。再加上消费者电子和人工智能应用的总体向好,PCB行业的黄金需求前景依然乐观。

内存领域用金量再次出现小幅下滑,同比下降3-5%,与第一季度和第二季度持平。由于本季度一些全球最大的制造商宣布了减产计划,该行业目前面临的持续挑战再次受到关注。尽管分析人士认为内存行业可能已经达到周期的底部,但2019年对三星美光公司来说还是非常艰难。实际上,稳定的库存、个人电脑/笔记本电脑出货量的回升、移动设备需求的增长似乎已经使该行业稳定下来,我们预计第四季度的下降幅度将会收窄。

最后,无线行业的用金量在第三季度令人惊讶地实现了30-40%的同比增长。这是由5G基础设施部署的快速加速推动的。主要制造商的产能正在显著增长;到2020年,先进无线半导体的产量将提高30%,Win半导体也将实现约15%的增长。汽车行业本已乐观的前景再加上这一点,意味着强劲的用金需求可能会持续到第四季度和2020年。第三季度,中国内地、香港和日本这些东部制造业中心的黄金需求量分别下降了3.8%和6.5%。而正如2019年上半年看到的那样,美国逆流而上,小幅增长1.1%。

其他行业及牙科

牙科用金需求继续下降,同比下降7%,至3.5吨,所有地区都出现了下滑。与此同时,用于其他工业用途的黄金需求下跌6%,至12.2吨。在实验室中,黄金仍然是许多研发项目的核心,未来具有巨大的应用潜力。在第三季度, 英国科学家开发了超薄的二维金纳米粒子层,可用于医疗设备、电子墨水、催化剂、水净化系统和柔性设备屏幕等多个领域。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2019

5 November, 2019

Technology

The sector faced continued challenges, but accelerating deployment of 5G infrastructure has slowed declines in demand from the electronics sector

  • The electronics sector saw further weakness in gold used for Light Emitting Diode (LED) and memory applications
  • This was offset by strong growth in wireless demand (+30-40% y-o-y), boosted by rapid growth in the deployment of 5G infrastructure
  • Dental demand continued its steady decline (-7% y-o-y), whilst other technology applications weakened by 6%
Tonnes Q3'18 Q3'19 YoY
Technology 85.4 82.2
Electronics 68.8 66.5 -3%
Other Industrial 12.9 12.2 -5%
Dentistry 3.7 3.5 -7%

The third quarter saw a 4% y-o-y drop in the amount of gold used in the technology sector, to 82.2t. Whilst this was the fourth consecutive quarter of falling demand y-o-y, there are indications that some of the key electronics sectors are beginning to recover.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics fell 3% to 66.5t during Q3 due to a broad slowdown across the sector. The World Semiconductor Trade Statistics (WSTS) organisation published updated data during the quarter, which illustrates a stuttering market throughout 2019; the worldwide semiconductor market is forecast to decline 13% to US$406.6bn from 2018’s US$468.8bn record high. The WSTS predicts weakness across all geographical regions before an equally widespread recovery in 2020, with the market up 4.8 percent overall.

The LED sector experienced another weak quarter, with gold used in these applications down 8-10% y-o-y. Weakness in China’s automotive market contributed to the general market sluggishness. Mini-LED technology continued to gain a foothold, with some high-end notebooks now utilising this gold-free alternative. In parallel, the Chinese display market also saw continued weakness; inventories in this sector are high and this may temper growth in gold demand should the market recover in the coming quarters. 

Printed Circuit Board (PCB) demand was stable during Q3, edging higher by 1-2%. Miniaturisation in the smart phone sector has stunted growth in the sector. Although increasing functionality has fuelled production growth, the requirement for high density packaging has driven miniaturisation, hence less gold per unit. However, it is also estimated that total PCB demand in 5G infrastructure will be four to five times greater than 4G’s. Combining this with the generally positive outlook for consumer electronics and artificial intelligence applications, the outlook for gold demand in the PCB sector remains positive.

The memory sector again registered a small decline, in the region of 3-5% y-o-y, mirroring Q1 and Q2. The ongoing challenges in the sector were again under the microscope as some of the world’s largest manufacturers announced reduction plans during the quarter; both Samsung and Micron have had a difficult 2019 although analysts believe the memory sector may have reached the bottom of the cycle. Indeed, a stabilising inventory, a recovery in PC/notebook shipments and rising demand in mobile devices seems to have steadied the ship and we expect to see a smaller decline in Q4.

Finally, the wireless sector surprised during Q3 with significant growth of 30-40% y-o-y. This has been fuelled by the rapid acceleration of 5G infrastructure deployment. Major manufacturers are in the process of implementing significant capacity increases; in 2020 Advanced Wireless Semiconductor will raise production by 30% and Win Semiconductor will implement a ~15% increase. Adding this to the already positive outlook for the automotive sector means strong demand is likely to continue into Q4 and 2020.The key eastern fabrication hubs of Mainland China and Hong Kong (SAR) and Japan registered falls in gold volumes in Q3, of 3.8% and 6.5% respectively. As seen during H1 19, the US bucked this trend with a small increase of 1.1%.

Other industrial and dentistry

Dental demand continued its ongoing decline, falling 7% y-o-y to 3.5t, with losses across all territories. Meanwhile, gold used in other industrial applications fell 6% to 12.2t. In the laboratory, gold continues to be at the heart of many R&D projects with huge potential for future application. During Q3, scientists in the UK developed ultra-thin, two-dimensional layers of gold nanoparticles that could be used across a range of sectors, including medical devices, electronic inks, catalysts, water purification systems and flexible device screens.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]