科技行业

黄金需求趋势2018年第三季度

2018年11月01日

科技行业

科技行业的黄金需求连续第8个季度实现增长

  • 电子产品需求同比增长2%,印刷电路板行业增幅明显
  • 其他科技领域的需求也有所增长,但牙医业的需求继续减少,首次跌破4吨
2017年第
三季度
2018年第
三季度
同比变化
科技 84.3 85.3 1%
电子用金 67.4 68.5 2%
其他行业 12.8 12.9 1%
牙医业 4.2 3.9 -5%

科技行业的黄金使用量在第三季度增长1%至85.3吨,连续第8个季度出现同比增长。这种增长再次受到强劲的电子产品需求的推动,尤其是印刷电路板和存储器领域,抵消了无线需求意料之外的下滑。

电子产品

第三季度电子产品的黄金使用量同比增长2%至68.5吨。 存储器行业延续了近期的强势表现,预计整体增幅达2-5%。这是由服务器和智能手机行业的强劲需求驱动的,这两个行业的产品都要不断扩大内存。但这种优势受制于加密采矿基础设施需求的走软和产能问题,导致一些市场出现中央处理器(CPU)短缺。

与第二季度相同,强劲的服务器市场需求再次支撑了印刷电路板需求。加上汽车行业的增长和5G基础设施的部署,预计印刷电路板的黄金使用量将同比增长5-7%。但该行业也可能面临挑战。中国针对氰化物的使用不断收紧其环境法规,这可能意味着印刷电路板的生产受阻,而对中美贸易争端日益加深的担忧也可能会影响未来的增长。

无线行业近期的需求增长止步于第三季度。 由于智能手机面部识别功能的普及慢于预期,对垂直腔面发射激光器(VCSEL)——该行业的关键技术之一——的需求大幅下滑,导致黄金需求下跌5-8%。但我们相信这个问题可能是暂时的,预计随着主要智能手机制造商用完供大于求的库存,需求将在短期内复苏。

LED行业再次出现需求下滑,黄金需求量同比下跌5-8%。 向无需使用黄金的芯片级封装(CSP)的持续过渡影响了第三季度的需求数据。不久的将来还会有更多挑战,中美贸易争端便是最紧迫的因素之一。数十款LED照明产品可能被加征出口关税,或将影响整条供应链。目前尚不知晓黄金需求是否会受到的潜在影响,但事态进展正在受到密切关注。

在第三季度,中国大陆和香港、日本及美国传统科技中心的黄金需求都有增长,增幅分别为1.9%、1.0%和3.0%。台湾地区和新加坡需求微跌,但其在该行业的影响力都不大。

其他行业和牙医业

牙医业需求继续稳步下跌,同比下滑5%至3.9吨。这是牙医业需求首次跌破4吨关口。其他行业的使用量同比小增1%,使该季度的需求达到12.9吨。

正如2018年7月在巴黎举办的GOLD2018大会上所示,黄金本身依然是研发活动中的一种关键金属;来自世界各地的500多位与会者齐集一堂,分享了他们基于黄金的研究,其中有许多技术转向商业化的例子。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2018

1 November, 2018

Technology

Gold demand for technological uses grew for an eighth consecutive quarter

  • Electronics demand grew 2% y-o-y, with notable strength in the printed circuit board (PCB) sector
  • While gains were recorded in other areas of the technology sector, dental demand continued to decline, falling below 4t for the first time
Tonnes Q3'17 Q3'18 YoY
Technology 84.3 85.3 1%
Electronics 67.4 68.5 2%
Other Industrial 12.8 12.9 1%
Dentistry 4.2 3.9 -5%

Gold used in technology grew 1% to 85.3t in Q3, the eighth consecutive quarter of y-o-y growth. This uptick was again driven by strong electronics demand, particularly in the PCB and memory sectors, offsetting a surprising decline in wireless demand.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics grew 2% y-o-y to 68.5t in Q3. The memory sector continued its recent strong performance, with growth estimated to be in the region of 2-5% overall. This was driven by strong demand from servers and smartphones, both of which require ever growing amounts of memory. This strength, however, was tempered by softer demand from crypto mining infrastructure and production capacity issues, which led to CPU shortages in some markets.

Echoing Q2, the strong server market again supported demand for PCBs. Together with growth in the automotive industry and 5G infrastructure deployment, gold used in PCBs was estimated to be 5-7% higher y-o-y. But this sector could face challenges. Tightening environmental regulations in China regarding cyanide usage may indicate a headwind for PCB production, and growing concerns over the US-China trade dispute may impact future growth. 

Recent growth in wireless demand was brought to a halt in Q3. Vertical cavity surface emitting lasers (VCSELs) – one of the key technologies in the sector – experienced a considerable decline in demand because of slower than expected penetration of smartphone face identification functionality, leading to falls of 5-8%. However, we believe this may be a temporary blip and expect recovery in the near term as major smartphone manufacturers use up over-supplied inventory.

The LED sector once again registered a drop in demand, with gold volumes 5-8% lower y-o-y. The continuing transition to gold-free chip scale packaging (CSP) weighed on the numbers during Q3. And further challenges are on the horizon, with the US-China trade dispute one of the most pressing. Potentially, dozens of LED lighting products could be subject to increased export duties, and this may affect the entire supply chain. The potential impact on gold demand is currently unknown but developments are being watched with interest.

The traditional technology hubs of Mainland China and Hong Kong, Japan and the US all registered growth in gold volumes in Q3, with 1.9%, 1.0% and 3.0% respectively. Minor falls in demand were registered in Taiwan and Singapore, both relatively small players in the sector.

Other industrial and dentistry

Dental demand continued its steady decline, recording a 5% fall y-o-y to 3.9t. This is the first time demand has fallen below the 4t mark. Other industrial uses registered a small increase of 1% y-o-y, taking it to 12.9t for the quarter. 

Gold itself remains a key metal in R&D activities, as shown by the recent GOLD2018 conference held in Paris in July 2018; over 500 attendees from around the world gathered to share their gold-based research, with many examples of technologies moving towards commercialisation.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]