供应

黄金需求趋势2018年第三季度

2018年11月01日

供应

第三季度供应总量同比略降:更多的套保解除量和较低的回收量超过了矿产金的增长

  • 第三季度金矿产量为创纪录的875.3吨,同比增长1.9%
  • 连续第二个季度出现大幅套保解除;第三季度全球套保量跌至197吨
  • 回收行业的供应量同比下跌4%;金价下跌使消费者无心卖出
2017年第
三季度
2018年第
三季度
同比变化
总供应量 1,185.7 1,161.5 -2%
金矿产量 859.1 875.3 2%
生产商净套保 8.3 -20.0    -
回收金 318.3 306.3 -4%

金矿产量

产量第三季度金矿产量同比增长1.9%至875.3吨。在我们的记录中,这是最高的季度产量水平,远超809.8吨的5年季度均值。在该季度,一些最大的黄金生产国的产量出现了双位数跌幅,但其他地区产量的大幅增长超过了这些跌幅。

在中国,去年出台的环境法规继续影响采矿业。第三季度全国黄金产量同比下跌6%,原因是位于或靠近自然保护区的金矿被关停,以及环保税的增加。这些压力短期内可能会持续。第三季度南非的产量同比下跌10%。Evander、TauTona和Cooke等亏损金矿关停是产量下跌的原因之一,South Deep金矿产量下跌也是一个原因。在印尼(同比下跌13%),Batu Hijau金矿第6阶段采矿结束是产量同比下跌的主要原因。1 在秘鲁,第三季度产量同比下跌17%,原因是成熟金矿的产能降低,例如Lagunas Norte、Orcopampa、La Zanja和LaArena,这些金矿在该季度的产量大幅下跌,生产计划也有所缩减。

马里(34%)和巴布亚新几内亚(25%)在第三季度出现了最大的同比增幅。马里的增幅是由Fekola和Yanfolila项目产能扩大推动的。在巴布亚新几内亚,Lihir和Hidden Valley金矿是黄金总产量增长的主要驱动因素。美国第三季度产量强劲,同比增长9%。Barrick Nevada金矿维护工作的完成,以及Carlin、Fort Knox和Cripple Creek金矿产量的同比增长都增加了美国的产量。加拿大第三季度的产量同比增长13%,原因在于Brucejack、Rainy River和 Moose River金矿的产能继续扩大。

产量继续增长。行业乐观情绪再起,在此基础上,金矿产量如今连续第6个季度取得了同比增长。俄罗斯和加拿大等主要生产国的产量增长,加上不断改善的生产规划,将对2018年产量的继续增长提供支撑。该行业的产能两三年前不断下跌,此后变得较为稳固。

新项目将金矿产量推至新高

生产商净套保

黄金开采公司在第三季度进一步将套保仓位减少了20吨。此前在第二季度出现了43.1吨的净套保解除量——这是2010年以来最高的季度净套保解除水平——此次解除套保使全球套保总量降至197吨(同比减少17%)。市场的总体状况并不利于生产商套保:现有的短期套保仓位即将到期,金价的整体低迷(以多种生产商的本币计算)抑制了签订新套保协议的动力。

套保依然是零散的,并且大部分是战术性的。在第三季度,澳大利亚的Resolute Mining为了应对国内金价的波动,向已有套保仓位增加了35,000盎司黄金。这使得该公司的总套保仓位增至85,000盎司,帮助为Ravenwood扩大项目提供了支持。2 接近该季度末期时,DRDGold宣布将对50,000盎司黄金进行套保,以应对日益严重的流动性风险,这些风险来自该公司对Sibanye-Stillwater的Far West Gold Recoveries项目的收购。但该公司明确表示此次套保是战术性的。3

9月,Polyus首席执行官Pavel Grachev告诉路透社,该公司不打算将其套保计划延续到2019年。17 Polyus Gold一直负责近年来一些最大的策略性套保协议,例如2014年的283万盎司(88吨)以及2016年的625,000盎司(19.4吨)。

回收金

第三季度回收金总量达306.3吨,同比下跌4%,略高于298.5吨的5年季度均值。

黄金回收量略高于5年季度均值

黄金回收量略高于 5 年季度均值 


来源: 金属聚焦公司, 汤森路透黄金矿业公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*2013年第三季度 - 2018年第二季度的季度均值

土耳其和伊朗的回收活动继续保持高位。由于国内金价暴涨,土耳其(30%)和伊朗(50%)第三季度的回收量进一步增长。货币疲软、零售商清理库存、消费者获利了结和急售都是回售量暴增的原因。但这个现象并未出现在整个中东地区。在埃及,持续正常化的国内金价和日益向好的经济抑制了消费者回售黄金的动力。在其他海湾国家,金价下跌(因为很多本币与美元挂钩)和油价上涨提振了消费情绪,从而减少了回收量。

欧洲、美国和印度第三季度的回收量都同比下跌。 该季度金价的走弱是回收量下跌的关键原因,虽然近市场库存耗尽和欧美经济改善也是相关因素。在印度,第三季度上半季度国内金价的下跌吓阻了回售,虽然该季度后期货币的贬值提振了金价。

在东亚,不断走低的国内金价再次促使消费者避免回售持有的黄金。在泰国,资本外流催生了某种货币疲软预期,促使消费者减少回售,一些消费者甚至买入黄金,希望获得短期收益。

脚注

  1. Batu Hijau是分阶段开采的。当现有可用矿石耗尽时,就会扩大坑底以开采更深的矿石(一个新阶段)。第6期矿石已于去年枯竭,目前该矿正在处理较低品位的矿石。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2018

1 November, 2018

Supply

Q3 total supply slightly lower y-o-y: production growth was outweighed by elevated de-hedging and lower recycling

  • Record quarterly mine production of 875.3t in Q3, up 1.9% y-o-y
  • Second consecutive quarter of significant de-hedging; the global hedgebook fell to 197t in Q3 
  • Supply from recycling fell 4% y-o-y; lower gold prices discouraged consumers from selling
Tonnes Q3'17 Q3'18 YoY
Total supply 1,185.7 1,161.5 -2%
Mine production 859.1 875.3 2%
Net producer hedging 8.3 -20.0    -
Recycled gold 318.3 306.3 -4%

Mine production

Gold mine production rose in Q3 by 1.9% y-o-y, to 875.3t. This is the highest level of quarterly production in our records and comfortably above the five-year quarterly average of 809.8t . Some of the largest producing nations saw double-digit declines during the quarter but these were more than offset by significant gains elsewhere.

In China, environmental regulations introduced last year continue to impact the mining industry. National gold output fell in Q3 by 6% y-o-y as operations in or near nature reserves were closed, and as environmental levies and taxes increased. And these pressures may remain for the short term. South African output fell 10% y-o-y in Q3. The closure of loss-making operations such as Evander, TauTona and Cooke contributed to this decline, as did a reduction in output from South Deep. In Indonesia (-13% y-o-y), the completion of Phase 6 ore at Batu Hijau was the main driver of lower y-o-y production.1 In Peru, Q3 output dropped 17% y-o-y owing to lower production profiles from mature operations – such as Lagunas Norte, Orcopampa, La Zanja and La Arena, which saw production fall significantly during the quarter – and a reduced production pipeline.

Mali (34%) and Papua New Guinea (25%) saw the largest y-o-y growth in Q3. In Mali, this was driven by the ramp-up at the Fekola and Yanfolila projects. Papua New Guinea, Lihir and Hidden Valley were the main drivers of the increase in aggregate gold production. Production in the US was strong in Q3, rising by 9% y-o-y. The completion of maintenance work at Barrick Nevada, as well as y-o-y production gains from Carlin, Fort Knox and Cripple Creek contributed to this increase. Canadian output grew 13% y-o-y in Q3, as the ramp-up of production at Brucejack, Rainy River and Moose River continued.

Continued growth in production. Mine production has now registered six consecutive quarters of y-o-y growth, building on renewed optimism for the sector. A combination of growth from key producing countries – such as Russia and Canada – as well as the improving production pipeline, will be supportive of further growth in 2018. The declining production profile of two or three years ago has since shifted to a more robust picture for the industry.

New projects push mine production to a new high

New projects push mine production to a new high

Data as of

Sources: Metals Focus; Disclaimer

Net producer hedging

Gold miners reduced their hedging positions by a further 20t in Q3. This followed 43.1t of net de-hedging in Q2 – the highest level of quarterly de-hedging since 2010 – and reduced the global hedgebook to 197t (-17% y-o-y). Market conditions were generally unfavourable for producer hedging: existing short-term hedging positions reaching maturity and general weakness in gold prices (across many producer currencies) lowered the incentive for fresh hedging agreements.

Hedging remains sporadic and largely tactical. Australia’s Resolute Mining responded to volatility in the local gold price by adding 35,000oz to its existing hedgebook in Q3. This brought its overall hedged position to 85,000oz, which is helping to support the Ravenwood Expansion Project.2 Towards the end of the quarter, DRDGold announced it would hedge 50,000oz to address increased liquidity risk stemming from its acquisition of Far West Gold Recoveries from Sibanye-Stillwater. But the company was clear that this hedge was tactical in nature.3

In September, Polyus’ Chief Executive, Pavel Grachev, told Reuters that the company does not plan to extend its hedging programme beyond 2019.  Polyus Gold has been responsible for some of the largest tactical hedging agreements in recent years, such as 2.83mnoz (88t) in 2014 and then 625,000oz (19.4t) in 2016.

Recycled gold

Recycled gold totalled 306.3t in Q3, down 4% y-o-y and marginally higher than the five-year quarterly average of 298.5t.

Recycled gold marginally higher than the five-year quarterly average

Recycled gold marginally higher than the 5-year quarterly average

Data as of

Sources: GFMS, Metals Focus, Thomson Reuters, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*Quarterly average between Q3'13-Q2'18

Turkey and Iran continued to see high recycling activity. Both Turkey (30%) and Iran (50%) saw further increases in recycling during Q3 as local gold prices soared. Currency weakness, inventory liquidation by retailers, profit taking and distressed selling by consumers all contributed to the jump in selling back. But this was not replicated across the entire Middle East region. In Egypt, continued normalisation of the local gold price and an improving economic picture have reduced the incentive to recycle by consumers. In other Gulf states, lower gold prices (as many local currencies are pegged to the US dollar) and higher oil prices improved sentiment and consequently reduced recycling.

Europe, the US and India all saw y-o-y declines in recycling in Q3. Weaker gold prices during the quarter were the key driver of these declines, although depleted near-market stocks and economic improvement in Europe and the US were also factors. In India, the fall in the local price in the first half of Q3 deterred selling back, although currency weakness boosted the gold price later in the quarter.

In East Asia, declining local gold prices again caused consumers to shy away from selling back their gold. In Thailand, capital outflows generated some expectation of currency devaluation, which prompted consumers to reduce their selling back, with some even buying gold in the hope of a short-term gain.

Footnotes

  1. Extraction of ore at open-pit mines, such as Batu Hijau, is done in phases. When current available ore is exhausted the pit is expanded to access deeper ore (a new phase). Phase 6 ore was exhausted last year, with the mine currently processing lower grade stockpiles.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]