央行

黄金需求趋势2018年第三季度

2018年11月01日

央行

全球央行净购买量达到2015年以来最高水平;越来越多的央行开始购金

  • 第三季度央行净购买量为148.4吨,同比增长22%,是2015年第四季度以来最高的季度需求水平
  • 俄罗斯、土耳其和哈萨克斯坦继续占据大部分购买份额……
  • ……但越来越多目的相似的央行开始加入到它们的行列
2017年第
三季度
2018年第
三季度
同比变化
各国央行和其他机构
121.8 148.4 22%

在第三季度,央行保持了可观的148.4吨净购买量,同比增长22%。无论是季度水平还是年初至今的水平,这都是2015年以来最高水平的净购买量。其他多家央行在第三季度也加入了俄罗斯、土耳其和哈萨克斯坦的购买行列,大幅增加黄金储备。

全球央行净购金量达到2015年以来的最高水平

全球央行净购金量达到 2015年以来的最高水平 


来源: 金属聚焦公司, 汤森路透黄金矿业公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

俄罗斯继续增加黄金储备,同时出售美元资产。第三季度92吨的黄金增持量是俄罗斯史上最大的季度净购买量。俄罗斯的黄金储备首次超过2,000吨,占其总外汇储备的17%。1 俄罗斯央行第一副行长Dmitry Tulin今年早些时候曾表示黄金“100%能够抵御法律和政治风险”,强调黄金没有交易对手风险,并具有更广泛的风险对冲属性。2 俄罗斯已经出售了其持有的大部分美国国债3 并 表示将继续推行去美元化政策。4

尽管政治和经济局势动荡,但土耳其仍在持续增加黄金储备。 净购买量(不包括准备金选择权机制的持有量)在第三季度增长18.5吨,土耳其里拉在该季度贬值25%。这使得官方黄金持有总量达到258.6吨。相比之下,土耳其央行的准备金选择权机制的持有量减少了122.9吨。面对与日俱增的金融压力,土耳其央行在8月放松了流动性管制措施,减少了商业银行必须持有的黄金(以及本币和外币)储备。准备金选择权机制中黄金储备随后降低 的原因可能是由于互换合约的放松,而不是出售黄金。请阅读我们近期的《市场快讯:央行的黄金购买》来了解更多信息。

哈萨克斯坦继续稳步买入黄金。该国央行的黄金储备在第三季度继续增长。该季度13.4吨的净购买量使黄金储备总量达到335.1吨。7年来,该国央行首次开始在国际市场上出售少量金条,以提高该国黄金的市场认可度。5

越来越多的央行正在增加黄金储备。 印度央行在最近几个月少量购买黄金后,在第三季度加大了购买量,使储备增加了13.7吨,使得其年初至今的购买量达到21.8吨。欧洲央行也开始买入黄金。波兰国家银行在该季度的每个月都购买黄金,使储备总量增加13.7吨至116.7吨。在10月初,匈牙利宣布该国黄金储备已翻10倍——从3.1吨增至31.5吨,达到1990年以来的最高水平——目的是提高该国外汇储备组合的长期稳定性,并表示黄金的主要优势是没有交易对手风险或信用风险。6

有交易对手风险或信用风险。11第三季度还出现了几次购买报道,但尚未通过国际货币基金组织的国际金融统计数据库进行报告。9月初,伊拉克央行宣称已逢低买入6.5吨黄金,但并未披露是于何时购买的。7 同样,蒙古央行在今年前8个月里购买了12.2吨黄金,购买量与去年同期持平,超过了全年目标的一半。8

第三季度几乎没有净黄金销售量。只有捷克共和国(销售0.5吨)和德国(销售0.2吨)两个国家出现了明显的流出。德国经常进行与其铸币计划有关的黄金销售。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2018

1 November, 2018

Central Banks and other institutions

Highest central bank net purchases since 2015; more banks join the list of buyers

  • Central bank net purchases of 148.4t in Q3 were 22% higher y-o-y, the highest level of quarterly demand since Q4’15
  • Russia, Turkey and Kazakhstan continue to account for the lion’s share of purchases…
  • …but were joined by a growing number of like-minded banks 
Tonnes Q3'17 Q3'18 YoY
Central banks & others 121.8 148.4 22%

Q3 saw another quarter of healthy central bank net purchases of 148.4t, up 22% y-o-y. This is the highest level of net purchases since 2015, both at the quarterly and y-t-d level. A couple of other central banks joined Russia, Turkey and Kazakhstan in significantly increasing reserves in Q3.

Central bank net purchases highest since 2015

Central bank net purchases highest since 2015

Data as of

Sources: GFMS, Metals Focus, Thomson Reuters, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Russia’s gold holdings continued to grow as it sold its dollar assets. Q3’s 92.2t increase was Russia’s biggest quarterly net purchase on record. Russian reserves amounted to over 2,000t for the first time, equivalent to 17% of total reserves.1 Earlier this year, First Deputy Governor, Dmitry Tulin, stated that gold is “a 100 per cent guarantee from legal and political risks”, highlighting its lack of counterparty risk and wider risk hedging properties.2 Russia has already sold the majority of its holdings of US Treasuries3 and said it will continue its policy of de-dollarisation.4

Despite political and economic turmoil, Turkey continued to add gold to its reserves. Net purchases (excluding Reserve Option Mechanism holdings) grew by 18.5t in Q3, a quarter that saw the lira weaken by 25%. This brought official holdings to 258.6t. By contrast, Reserve Option Mechanism holdings at the central bank declined by 122.9t. Responding to growing financial stress, the Turkish central bank loosened liquidity measures in August, reducing the amount of gold (as well as domestic and foreign currency) commercial banks are required to hold as part of their reserves. The subsequent decline in ROM reserves is likely due to the unwinding of swaps rather than sales. Please see our recent Market Update: Central bank buying activity for more information.

Kazakhstan continued its steady accumulation. Gold reserves at the central bank continued to rise throughout Q3. Net purchases of 13.4t for the quarter brought total reserves to 335.1t. For the first time in seven years the bank plans to start selling small amounts of bullion internationally in order to make domestic gold more recognised in the market.5

A growing number of central banks have been adding gold to their reserves. After minor purchases over recent months, the Reserve Bank of India ramped up its buying in Q3, increasing reserves by a further 13.7t. This brings y-t-d purchases to 21.8t. European central banks also started to buy gold. The National Bank of Poland bought gold every month in this quarter, boosting the overall level of reserves by 13.7t to 116.7t.  And in early October, Hungary announced that it had increased gold reserves ten-fold – from 3.1t to 31.5t, its highest level since 1990 –  with the aim of enhancing the long-term stability of its reserve portfolio, citing gold’s lack of counterparty or credit risk as key benefits.6

Q3 was also marked by several reports of purchases that have yet to be reported via the IMF’s International Financial Statistics. In early September, the central bank of Iraq stated that it had taken advantage of lower gold prices to buy 6.5t, but the timing of these purchases remains unknown.  Similarly, the Mongolian central bank bought 12.2t in the first eight months of this year, matching its purchasing to the same period of last year and buying more than half of its full-year target.8

Net sales were virtually non-existent in Q3. Czech Republic (-0.5t ) and Germany (-0.2t ), the latter of which makes regular sales in relation to its coin-minting programme, were the only countries that registered visible declines.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]