科技行业

黄金需求趋势2019年第一季度

2019年05月08日

科技行业

2019年第一季度,科技行业用金量进一步下降,主要缘于电子行业需求的疲软

  • 电子行业中,汽车电子、消费电子产品及电子照明行业普遍疲软
  • 其他技术应用行业的黄金需求量有小幅增长,但牙医业用金量持续下降,同比下滑11%
Q1'18 Q1'19 同比变化
科技 81.8 79.3 -3%
电子行业 65.3 62.9 -4%
其他行业 12.5 12.9 3%
牙医业 4.0 3.6 -11%

总体而言,第一季度科技行业的黄金使用量降至79.3吨,同比下降3%。这是连续第二个季度需求量下降,亦是电子行业疲软和中美贸易争端持续的直接后果。

电子行业

第一季度电子产品的黄金使用量下降4%,至62.9吨,原因在于整个行业增长放缓。该行业领军企业苹果(Apple)在第一季度发布了17年来首次盈利预警,这是消费电子产品销售疲软的明显信号。据世界半导体贸易统计组织(World Semiconductor Trade Statistics organization)预计,2019年半导体市场将整体下滑3%,2020年将恢复适度增长。 

LED行业再次经历疲软季度,相应应用领域的黄金使用量同比下跌5-8%。持续不断的中美贸易摩擦继续造成严重影响:目前,30多家照明应用企业面临额外关税,已导致部分生产基地迁出中国。从长远来看,LED行业的黄金需求预计将进一步承压,因为微型LED封装开始取代小型LED,导致键合金丝的需求量下降。1

印刷电路板(PCB)行业的黄金需求量同比下降5%-7%。第一季度历来是PCB销售淡季,这是因为制造商调整生产线,加之智能手机销售疲弱也对需求量产生了直接影响。展望未来,5G相关应用预计将为黄金需求提供支持,特别是在汽车行业,提供5G功能的汽车将需要30多种不同的PCB产品。

无线行业的黄金需求显著下降:同比下降了10%-15%。其原因在于智能手机销量疲软和5G基础设施安装持续拖延。然而,我们预计这些延迟将在未来几个月内得以解决,在此之后,我们预计消费电子产品采购量将有所上升,无线领域的黄金使用量也将随之增加。

第一季度,存储器行业同样继续放缓,平均同比下滑2%到5%。智能手机行业增速放缓持续对需求造成负面影响,为应对这一情况,许多制造商纷纷降低资本支出投资。技术转移仍是威胁;例如,96层硅穿孔(TSV)芯片封装的日益广泛使用(与目前标准的64层封装相比,金丝使用量要少得多)将进一步蚕食这些应用中的黄金使用量。

中国(中国大陆和香港特别行政区)的主要东部制造中心和日本的第一季度黄金使用量分别下降了6.7%和5.4%。与之相反的是,美国的黄金使用量增长了3%。

其他行业及牙医业

牙医业的黄金需求量再次下跌,同比下降11%,至3.6吨,市场面临全线下滑。与此同时,用于其他行业应用的黄金需求量小幅上涨(3%)至12.9吨,这得益于欧洲品牌镀金配件和东南亚市场服装首饰需求的适度增长。

在医疗保健领域,一系列以黄金为依托的创新纳米技术在市场投放方面取得了进展。欧洲推出了一项试验性设施,旨在制造用于临床测试的金纳米颗粒疗法,此举推动了医疗保健应用。14 多年来,缺乏此类设施一直是一大瓶颈,因此我们预计,这将加速发展以黄金为依托的全新疗法。

脚注

  1. 微型LED 是新一代LED显示技术,相对于小型LED,具有亮度更高、对比度更高、使用周期更长、发光效率更好、含金量更低的优点。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2019

2 May, 2019

Technology

Q1 2019 saw further falls in technology demand, chiefly due to a weakened electronics sector.

  • The electronics sector saw weakness across the automotive, consumer and lighting sectors
  • Other technology applications registered a small increase in demand, but dental demand continued its decline with an 11% y-o-y fall.
Tonnes Q1'18 Q1'19 YoY
Technology 81.8 79.3 -3%
Electronics 65.3 62.9 -4%
Other Industrial 12.5 12.9 3%
Dentistry 4.0 3.6 -11%

Overall, the volume of gold used in the technology sector fell to 79.3t during Q1, a 3% y-o-y decline. This was the second consecutive quarter of falling demand, a direct consequence of a weaker electronics sector and the ongoing trade dispute between China and the US.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics fell 4% to 62.9t during Q1, a consequence of a sector-wide slowdown. Apple, a bellwether for the sector, issued its first profit warning in 17 years during the quarter − a clear signal of weakening consumer electronics sales. And according to the World Semiconductor Trade Statistics organisation, the broader semiconductor market is expected to fall 3% in 2019, with modest growth returning in 2020.   

The LED sector suffered another weak quarter, with gold used in these applications 5-8% lower y-o-y. Ongoing US-China trade friction continued to weigh heavily: more than 30 lighting applications are now subject to additional duties and this has led to some production shifting out of China. In the longer-term, gold demand within the LED sector is expected to come under further pressure as micro-LED packages begin to replace mini-LEDs, leading to lower gold bonding wire demand. 

Gold demand in the Printed Circuit Board (PCB) sector fell by 5-7% y-o-y. Q1 is traditionally a slow season for PCBs, as manufacturers adjust production lines, but weak smartphone sales also had a direct impact on demand. Looking ahead, 5G-related applications are expected to support demand, particularly in the automotive sector, where vehicles offering 5G functions will need over 30 different PCB products. 

Demand for gold in the wireless sector saw a very significant decline: in the region of 10-15% y-o-y. This was driven by slowing smartphone sales and ongoing delays to the installation of 5G infrastructure installations. However, we expect these delays to be resolved in the coming months, after which we would anticipate an increase in consumer electronics purchasing and an associated upturn in gold usage in the wireless sector. 

The memory sector also continued to slow in Q1 with an average decline of 2-5% y-o-y. The smartphone slowdown continued to negatively impact demand, with many manufacturers lowering CAPEX investment in response. Technology migration remains a threat; for example, the increasingly widespread use of 96-layer Through-Silicon-Via (TSV) chip packages (which use much smaller amounts of gold wire than the current standard 64-layer packages) will further erode gold usage in these applications.

The key eastern fabrication hubs of China (Mainland China and Hong Kong (SAR) combined) and Japan registered falls in Q1 gold volumes of 6.7% and 5.4% respectively. The US bucked this trend, with a 3% increase.

Other industrial and dentistry

Dental demand again declined, falling 11% y-o-y to 3.6t with losses across all markets. Meanwhile, gold used in other industrial applications registered a small (3%) rise to 12.9t, helped by modest growth in demand for branded gold-plated accessories in Europe and costume jewellery in South East Asian markets. 

In the healthcare space, a range of innovative gold-based nanotechnologies made progress towards market launch. Healthcare applications were boosted by the launch of a pilot facility in Europe designed to manufacture gold nanoparticle therapeutics for clinical testing.  The lack of such a facility has been a considerable bottleneck for many years, so we expect this to accelerate the development of new gold-based therapeutics. 

Footnotes

  1. Micro-LEDs are the latest generation of LED display technology, offering advantages of improved brightness, contrast, lifespan and efficiency. They contain less gold than mini-LEDs.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]