央行

黄金需求趋势2019年第一季度

2019年05月08日

央行

自2013年以来,全球各国央行最为强劲的第一季度净购金量

  • 第一季度,全球各国央行的净购金量总计145.5吨
  • 这是自2013年(179.1吨)以来最为强劲的第一季度
  • 各国央行继续买入黄金:今年第一季度,9家央行增加了逾一吨的黄金储备。过去四个季度的需求量升至历史最高水平,达715.7吨。
Q1'18 Q1'19 同比变化
央行和其他机构 86.7 145.5 68%

今年第一季度,各国央行的净购金量达145.5吨,同比增长68%。这是自2013年(179.1吨)以来第一季度的最高净买入,远高于129.2吨的五年季度平均水平。计算过去连续四个季度的数字,715.7吨的需求总量达到了历史新高。

 

各国央行购金量:连续四个季度总量再创新高

各国央行购金量:连续四个季度总量再创新高

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

这部分的需求依然强劲。2018年推动各国央行净购金量达到50年最高水平的因素,对于2019年初的购金行为仍具重要意义。贸易紧张局势、增长乏力和低/负利率经济环境所造成的经济不确定性,持续向外汇储备管理者施压。同时地缘政治仍然让人感到恐慌。面对这些挑战,各国央行继续囤积黄金。

各国央行的净购金行为因其购买体量及全球扩张再次引人注目。1 俄罗斯央行再次成为最大买家,其第一季度增持了55.3吨,使其黄金储备达到2,168.3吨(占总外汇储备的19%)。作为“去美元化”策略的措施之一,俄罗斯在2018年购买了274.3吨黄金(连续四年的年均增长达到200吨),同时大幅减持美国国债。第一季度结束后不久,俄罗斯央行副行长Sergey Shvetsov表示,面对“持续存在的制裁风险”,有必要“进一步增加外汇和黄金储备”。 

中国第一季度的黄金净购买量为33吨,在暂停25个月之后,于去年12月再次开始买入。在过去的4个月里,中国人民银行(简称 “中国央行”) 的月度净购买量平均为11吨。截至目前,其黄金总储量为1,885.5吨,不足总外汇储量的3%。

其他几家央行也在第一季度大幅增加黄金储备。厄瓜多尔央行自2014年以来首次购买黄金,黄金持有量增加了10.6吨。土耳其央行也继续推进其黄金储备计划,买入40.1吨黄金。印度央行在中断9年后,于2018年再次开始购金,买入8.4吨黄金。印度央行(RBI)的黄金储备已实现连续13个月增长,第一季度末储备量达到608.8吨。哈萨克斯坦央行增持11.2吨,其黄金储备目前已连续78个月增长,卡塔尔央行增持9.4吨,哥伦比亚央行增持6.1吨,这些国家亦是本季度值得注意的买家。

第一季度的国家央行售金量共计11.3吨。这是近段时间以来黄金销量的最高水平,主要来自三家央行。乌兹别克斯坦央行从3月份开始公布其黄金储备,今年第一季度出售黄金6.2吨,而蒙古(出售3.4吨)和塔吉克斯坦(出售1吨)是另外两家黄金储备至少减少1吨的央行。值得注意的是,第一季度的数据145.5吨包括了2015年委内瑞拉和花旗银行之间16亿美元(约42吨)的掉期交易,这笔交易已于今年3月到期,且尚未通过国际货币基金组织(IMF)进行报告。
 

 

脚注

  1. 引用的各国黄金吨位数据为本报告发布时可用的最新数据:一些数据可能并不包括第一季度的所有月份。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2019

2 May, 2019

Central Banks and other institutions

Strongest Q1 net buying by central banks since 2013

  • Central bank net purchases totalled 145.5t in Q1
  • This was the strongest first quarter since 2013 (179.1t)
  • A diverse breadth of central banks continued to buy gold: 9 central banks added more than a tonne to their reserves in Q1. Demand for the last four quarters rose to a series high of 715.7t.
Tonnes Q1'18 Q1'19 YoY
Central banks & others 86.7 145.5 68%

Net buying by central banks reached 145.5t in Q1, 68% higher y-o-y. This is the highest volume of Q1 net purchases since 2013 (179.1t), comfortably exceeding the five-year quarterly average of 129.2t. On a rolling four-quarter basis, demand reached a record high for our data series of 715.7t.

Central banks buying: rolling four-quarter total reaches new high

Central banks buying: rolling four-quarter total reaches new high

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Demand from this sector remains robust. The factors that drove central bank net purchases to a 50-year high in 2018 remained relevant at the start of 2019. Economic uncertainty caused by trade tensions, sluggish growth and a low/negative interest rate environment continued to weigh heavy on reserve managers’ minds. And geopolitics still cause consternation. In the face of these challenges, central banks continued to accumulate gold.

Net buying was again notable, not only for its volume but also for its global spread.1 Russia was again the largest buyer, adding 55.3t in Q1. This brought gold reserves to 2,168.3t (19% of total reserves). Russia bought 274.3t in 2018 - the fourth consecutive year of +200t increases – while drastically reducing its US Treasury holdings, as part of its ‘de-dollarisation’ drive. Shortly after the end of Q1, Sergey Shvetsov, deputy head of the central bank, stated that it is necessary to “increase forex and gold reserves even more” in the face of “persisting sanction risks”.

China reported net purchases of 33t in Q1, having begun buying gold again in December after a 25 month pause. Monthly net purchases by the PBOC have averaged 11t over the last four months. Total gold reserves now stand at 1,885.5t, less than 3% of total reserves.

Several other banks also made significant additions to gold reserves in Q1. Ecuador bought gold for the first time since 2014, boosting gold holdings by 10.6t. Turkey also continued its programme of gold accumulation, purchasing 40.1t and India, which began purchasing gold again in 2018 after a nine-year hiatus, bought 8.4t in Q1. RBI gold reserves have now grown for 13 consecutive months, reaching 608.8t at the end of Q1. Kazakhstan (+11.2t), whose gold reserves have now grown for 78 consecutive months, Qatar (+9.4t) and Colombia (+6.1t) were also notable purchasers during the quarter.

Q1 saw country-level sales total 11.3t. This is the highest level of sales we have seen for some time and was primarily from three banks. Uzbekistan, which began reporting its gold reserves in March, sold 6.2t in Q1, while Mongolia (-3.4t) and Tajikistan (-1t) were the only other banks whose reserves declined by at least one tonne. It should be noted that our Q1 figure of 145.5t includes – as a sale – the 2015 US$1.6bn (~42t) swap between Venezuela and Citibank, which expired in March and has yet to be reported via the IMF.

Footnotes

  1. Country-level tonnage figures quoted are latest available data at time of publication: some figures might not include all months in Q1.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]