科技行业

2018全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2019年01月31日

科技行业

尽管受到第四季度需求放缓的抑制,2018年科技行业的黄金使用量仍略有增长

  • 科技行业2018全年的黄金需求达到334.6吨,是2014年以来的最高水平
  • 电子行业推动了年度增长,主要原因在于消费电子产品需求强劲,以及汽车行业继续进行电气化
  • 但迅速变化的经济形势导致第四季度的需求同比减少5%,由于LED、存储器和无线领域的需求大跌,预计需求将进一步放缓
2017 2018 同比变化
科技 332.6 334.6 1%
电子行业 265.6 268.3 1%
其他行业 50.7 51.0 1%
牙医业 16.3 15.4 -6%

在增长1%达到334.6吨的4年高点后,科技行业的黄金使用量于第四季度跌至84.1吨,这是2016年第三季度以来的首次季度同比下跌。一些主要经济体增速放缓,加上不间断的贸易争端,导致电子行业的需求受到压制。

电子行业

电子行业2018年的黄金使用量增长1%至268.3吨。在2018年的大部分时间里,高端消费电子产品和汽车电气化的需求增长推高了黄金需求。但这一趋势止步于第四季度,需求同比下跌5%至67.8吨,原因是智能手机销量放缓以及5G网络延迟推出。实际上,从苹果近期发布的利润预警已经可见一斑;第四季度iPhone销量同比下跌15%,预计2019上半年的跌幅更大,这对整个电子行业产生了重大影响。

全球智能手机出货量放缓令电子行业警惕

全球智能手机出货量放缓令电子行业警惕

来源: IDC, Statista, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*预测。

 

第四季度历来是LED行业的淡季,而2018年第四季度的行情尤为低迷:LED应用的黄金使用量同比下跌8-10%。中美贸易的持续摩擦严重打击了LED行业:现在超过30款照明应用要缴纳额外关税,导致一些产能迁出中国。芯片级封装(CSP)的日益普及,尤其是在汽车领域,也对该行业的黄金使用量形成压力。

存储器行业在连续多个季度出现强劲需求后,也在第四季度放缓。智能手机销量的放缓对此产生了影响,英特尔CPU的持续短缺也对DRAM的需求产生了负面冲击效应。正如LED行业中所见,技术迁移也是一个威胁;例如,硅通孔(TSV)可能会成为大型3D NAND封装的互连解决方案,从而可能进一步缩减这些应用的黄金使用量。

这个原本充满挑战的季度里中,唯一地亮点来自印刷电路板(PCB)行业,该行业出现了1-4%的同比增长。这个亮点是由汽车行业和5G基础设施的强劲需求带来的。预计这也将在今年推高多种应用的PCB需求,尤其是对于无线通讯模块和电源管理的集成电路板而言(为了满足日益增长的数据传输需求)。

中国大陆及香港、日本和韩国这些东部主要的制造中心第四季度的黄金需求都出现了下滑,幅度分别为9.6%、9.5%和4.9%。美国的需求则逆势增长4.5%。

其他行业和牙医业

牙医业的需求连续第14年下滑,同比下跌6%至15.4吨。相比之下,其他行业应用的需求增长1%至51.0吨,原因是某些地区的镀金首饰需求有所增长。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2018

31 January, 2019

Technology

2018 saw marginal growth in the volume of gold used in Technology, tempered by Q4 slowdown

  • Full-year gold demand in the technology space reached 334.6t in 2018, the highest since 2014
  • The electronics industry drove annual growth, primarily due to strong demand for consumer electronics and ongoing electrification in the automotive sector
  • But a rapidly changing economic landscape led to a 5% y-o-y drop in Q4 demand, with further weakness forecast as demand from the LED, memory and wireless sectors slowed sharply 
Tonnes 2017 2018 YoY
Technology 332.6 334.6 1%
Electronics 265.6 268.3 1%
Other Industrial 50.7 51.0 1%
Dentistry 16.3 15.4 -6%

After climbing 1% to a four-year high of 334.6t, gold used in technology fell to 84.1t in Q4, the first y-o-y fall in quarterly demand since Q3 2016. Slowing growth in some major economies combined with the ongoing trade dispute dampened electronics demand.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics rose 1% to 268.3t in 2018. Growth in demand for high-end consumer electronics and vehicle electrification throughout much of the year fuelled the rise. But this came to a halt in Q4, when demand fell 5% y-o-y, to 67.8t, on slowing smartphone sales and delays in the rollout of the 5G network. Indeed, recent profit warnings issued by Apple put this into some perspective; a 15% y-o-y fall in iPhone sales during Q4, with the prediction of even sharper falls in 1H19, are having a significant impact on the broader electronics sector. 

Slowing global smartphone unit shipments sound caution for electronics sector

Slowing global smartphone unit shipments sound caution for electronics sector

Sources: IDC, Statista, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*Forecast

 

Traditionally a low season for LEDs, Q4 2018 was particularly weak: the volume of gold used in these applications was 8-10% lower y-o-y. Ongoing US-China trade friction weighed heavily on the LED sector: more than 30 lighting applications are now subject to additional duties, as a result of which some production has shifted out of China. Increased penetration of Chip Scale Package (CSP), particularly in the automotive field, also exerted some pressure on gold usage in this sector. 

After repeated quarters of strong demand, the memory sector also slowed in Q4. The smartphone slowdown had an impact here, as did the ongoing shortage of Intel CPUs, which had a negative knock-on impact on DRAM demand. As seen in the LED sector, technology migration is also a threat; for example, Through-Silicon-Via (TSV) may become the interconnection solution in larger 3D NAND packages, thus potentially further hampering gold usage in these applications.

The one bright spot in an otherwise challenging quarter came from the Printed Circuit Board (PCB) sector, which registered a rise of 1-4% y-o-y. This was driven by strong demand in the automotive sector and 5G infrastructure, which is also expected to catalyse PCB requirements this year in various applications, especially for integrated boards in wireless communication modules and power management (to meet rising data transfer demand). 

The key eastern fabrication hubs of Mainland China and Hong Kong, Japan and South Korea all registered falls in gold volumes during Q4, with 9.6%, 9.5% and 4.9% respectively. The US bucked this trend with a 4.5% increase.

Other industrial and dentistry

Dental demand registered it’s fourteenth consecutive annual decline, falling 6% y-o-y to 15.4t. Other industrial applications, by contrast, grew 1% to 51.0t, due to improvements in plated jewellery demand in some areas.
 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]