投资

2018全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2019年01月31日

投资

2018年的金条和金币投资需求增长4%,而黄金ETF的全年流入量放缓至68.9吨

  • 欧洲上市基金推动了黄金ETF的年度增长,股市波动和经济增长放缓的迹象推高了全球第四季度的增持量
  • 为了应对股市波动和以多种货币计算的当地金价上涨,金条和金币投资需求量增至1,090.2吨
  • 伊朗官方金币的需求暴涨,将全球总需求提高至236.4吨的5年高点
2017 2018 同比变化
投资 1,251.6 1,159.1 -7%
金条和金币 1,045.2 1,090.2 4%
印度 169.3 162.4 -4%
中国 306.4 304.2 -1%
黄金ETF 206.4 68.9 -67%

ETF

2018年全球黄金ETF和类似产品的增持总量为69吨,相当于流入34亿美元资金。这比2017年206.4吨的流入量减少了67%。欧洲上市基金可观的全年增持量(96.8吨)推动了该细分市场的增长。虽然北美的基金在2018年的一段时期内遭遇大幅减持,但第四季度强劲的流入使年底的资产管理总规模达到2,440吨,同比2,371吨增长了3%。自2012年以来,黄金ETF总持有量的年终价值首次高于1,000亿美元(为1,006亿美元)。

第四季度全球共流入112.4吨,扭转了上一个季度流出104吨的局面。美国和欧洲上市基金第四季度的增幅几乎相同,分别为57.1吨和59.1吨。

欧洲是2018年唯一实现净流入的地区。这一年,在普遍存在的区域政治不确定性和主权债及高评级企业债券的负收益的综合影响下,对欧洲上市基金的投资需求得到了支撑。去年12月,在股市波动和中美贸易冲突的背景下,金价上涨,使增持加速。

截至年底,欧洲上市基金的资产管理规模增长到1,097吨(价值452亿美元或394亿欧元),同比增长10%。在过去几年里,这些基金在全球持有量中的占比稳步提高,如今达到45%,而2016年底为42%。

第四季度北美基金57.1吨的增持量抑制了其在第三季度的亏损,但这些产品全年共计流出了13.4吨。在第三季度,由于投资者专注于健康的国内经济、强势的美元、不断上涨的股市和走软的金价,北美产品的持仓量减少了75.3吨。这种投资环境在第四季度发生变化,股市波动加剧,投资者日益担忧美国经济见顶。黄金ETF就受益于这种环境,其综合影响如同金价上涨一样。 

2018年底,北美上市基金的黄金ETF持有量占全球的50%,资产管理总规模达1,230.4吨(价值507亿美元)。

 

第四季度股市低迷,推动黄金ETF流入

第四季度股市低迷,推动黄金ETF流入

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 上海黄金交易所, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

2018年,其他地区上市基金的持有量略有下跌:亚洲上市基金的全年持有量减少4.7吨,原因是下半年的亏损抵消了第而季度16.7吨的流入。这种情况呼应了中国股市的下行和人民币兑美元的贬值,这可能表明投资者以更高的当地金价获利了结,并且/或者将黄金作为一种流动性来源进行卖出。在市场上,博时基金继续被减持(一共流出20.1吨),减持者主要是阿里巴巴平台上的个人投资者。与此同时,华安易富黄金ETF的资产管理规模在2018年增加了7.7吨,投资者寻求对冲风险资产的波动,使该基金跻身全球表现最好的10只基金之列。

2019年迎来了积极的开年。在迄今为止的1月份,黄金ETF受到投资者的青睐:本文撰稿时,全球流入量已达59吨。这一轮增持以北美基金为首,投资者对持续的中美贸易争端保持谨慎,尤其是在全球增长预期被下调之际。美国加息预期的调整和美国政府的持续关门也推高了增持量。

欧洲投资者专注于与本土关系更密切的问题。1月初,欧元计金价达到18个月高点,受到广泛报道,激发了欧洲投资者更大的兴趣。与此同时,2019年的到来令投资者更关注欧洲议会选举(定于5月举行)的前景,担忧民粹主义政党可能会在布鲁塞尔获得更高支持率。对于英国退欧和意大利公共财政及其与欧盟的关系的不稳定状态,投资者已经心存警惕,稳步增持避险的黄金ETF。

金条和金币

全球金条和金币需求同比增长4%,达到1,090吨。第三季度大部分货币计价金价下跌,第四季度股市波动加剧,提振了下半年的个人投资需求,弥补了上半年相对冷清的行情。

 

2018下半年金条和金币需求大增

2018下半年金条和金币需求大增

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

在具体产品类别方面,金条销量为781.6吨,保持稳定。事实上,金条需求在过去5年里非常稳定,年需求量在2014年最低点780吨和2016年最高点797吨之间波动。

但官方金币市场的年需求量暴增26%至236吨,是史上第二高水平,此前的最高点是2013年的270.9吨。

一些国家金币需求旺盛,尤其是伊朗和南非,那里的个人投资者普遍担忧股市波动、货币疲软和地缘政治不确定性。

2018年对中国来说又是一个丰年,全年金条和金币需求为304.2吨,保持稳定。过去两年,个人投资者对货币疲软和股市波动的担忧支撑了需求。2018年不断恶化的中美关系加剧了不祥预感和金融市场的波动性;在这一年里,人民币兑美元贬值5%,上海金基准价沪深300指数下跌25%。但上海金基准价上涨了3.4%。

中国金条和金币需求逐渐强劲,下半年的需求为157.4吨,高于上半年的146.8吨。需求在第三季度见顶,8月金价跌至262元人民币/克,是2016年以来的最低水平。第四季度的市场需求依然健康,为70.9吨,高于2014开年以来的66吨季度均值。2017年第四季度则为68.6吨。

相比之下,全球第二大金条和金币市场印度的全年需求下跌4%至106.2吨。排灯节期间,黄金市场的需求一如既往地获得了季节性提振,使第四季度的需求达到56.4吨,成为2018年需求最大的季度。但第四季度的需求依然同比下跌了5%。事实上,这是2008年以来需求最小的第四季度。

印度的金条和金币市场全年面临挑战。10月印度卢比的贬值使金价涨至31,900印度卢比/10克,为2012年6月以来的最高水平。印度的主要股指SENSEX继续创下新高,吸引了许多城市投资者的注意力。最后,政府对非法资金的持续打击消除了市场上的一个需求来源。

然而,尽管面临这些挑战,印度的黄金投资市场依然继续创新。PayTM Gold、Phone Pe、MobiKwik和Safe Gold等移动APP和线上平台继续增长,1 尽管基数非常低。此类业务让投资者能够以低至1印度卢比的门槛购买黄金,据媒体报道,它们的客户数量迅速增长。

这一年东南亚的金条和金币需求表现不错,印尼、泰国和越南分别出现了10%、7%和9%的年度增幅。这些国家的总需求达131.3吨,相当于2018年东南亚金条和金币市场总份额的82%。

多个主题支撑了这些市场的健康发展。个人投资者担忧其本币的前景。2018年,越南盾兑美元贬值2%,印尼盾贬值6%。泰铢虽然最终保持稳定,但在4月和7月贬值了7%。个人投资者还困扰于股市波动,该地区大部分主要股指都在2018年以下跌收盘。MSCI东南亚股指在1月上涨6%后,在剩余的11个月里下跌了17%。但与此同时,这些经济体继续增长。与过去几年相比,泰国、越南和印尼的失业率稳定在低水平。

此外还存在一些市场特有因素。例如,泰国市场风传来源不明的资金即将遭受打击,因此个人投资者纷纷购买黄金。虽然打击行动并未出现,但传言确实推高了黄金需求。

2018年中东的需求翻倍,从2017年的43.2吨大涨至2018年的87.1吨。这几乎可以完全归因于伊朗,该国的全年金条和金币需求从2017年的19.2吨激增至2018年的61.8吨。伊朗央行增加金币发行数量的决定帮助满足了伊朗投资者的需求,并提振了全球金币需求。

伊朗第三季度需求强劲,随后第四季度略有放缓。伊朗央行干预外汇市场后伊朗里亚尔走强,相关部门关闭了金币期货市场以限制黄金投机。除了伊朗以外,中东其他市场金条和金币需求低迷。

 

2018年中东地区金条和金币投资量翻倍,几乎可以完全归因于伊朗

2018年中东地区金条和金币投资量翻倍,几乎可以完全归因于伊朗

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

2018年土耳其的金条和金币需求同比下跌28%,从52.4吨减至37.8吨。暴跌的部分原因在于,2017年政府的财政刺激计划、投资者的通胀率走高预期和货币贬值使需求相对强劲。

这些预期在2018年成为现实,居民消费价格指数(CPI)翻倍至16%,土耳其里拉兑美元汇率跌至历史最低水平。相反,土耳其里拉金价涨至史上最高水平,压制了需求,提高了回收水平。

第四季度的情况有所改善。土耳其里拉低位反弹,当地金价触顶滑落,个人投资需求复苏:同比增长66%至8.4吨,金币销量超过金条销量。

欧洲金条和金币全年需求为171.1吨,比2017年减少11%,是2007年以来最低的全年需求。德国、瑞士和奥地利的需求分别减少9%、13%和16%。上半年的需求尤为疲软:这是2008年以来需求最低的上半年,部分原因在于金价相对震荡。下半年,股市波动加剧,欧元计金价在第三季度跌至2015年以来的最低水平,随后反弹,黄金购买活动回升。

英国是欧洲的一个亮点。金条和金币全年投资量为11.6吨,同比增长12%。6.87吨的需求是2012年以来最强劲的半年需求,原因是投资者怀着忐忑不安的心情展望2019年3月29日——英国退出欧盟之日。

美国的金条和金币需求依然低迷。全年需求为28.1吨,是2007年以来的最低水平。在2018年的大部分时间里,震荡的金价、繁荣的股市和加息预期降低了投资者对黄金的兴趣。金条和金币投资者经常趁价格下跌时入场,但第三季度的回调未能奏效。随后,股市波动加剧和金价上涨未能激发投资者的浓厚兴趣。

脚注

  1. 世界黄金协会持有Digital Gold India Private Limited的一小部分股权,该公司提供Safe Gold数字平台。世界黄金协会及其附属机构与本报告中提及的其他实体或工具或存在利益关系或关联。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2018

31 January, 2019

Investment

Bar and coin investment grew 4% in 2018, while annual inflows into gold-backed ETFs slowed to 68.9t.

  • European-listed funds drove yearly growth in ETFs, with global Q4 inflows fuelled by stock market volatility and signs of slowing economic growth
  • Bar and coin investment, responding to equity market fluctuations and higher local gold prices in many currencies, increased to 1,090.2t
  • Demand for official gold coins in Iran skyrocketed, helping to drive the global total to a five-year high of 236.4t
Tonnes 2017 2018 YoY
Investment 1,251.6 1,159.1 -7%
Bar & coin 1,045.2 1,090.2 4%
  India 169.3 162.4 -4%
  China 306.4 304.2 -1%
Gold-backed ETFs 206.4 68.9 -67%

Inflows into global gold-backed ETFs and similar products totalled 69t in 2018, equivalent to US$3.4bn of inflows. This was 67% lower than the 206.4t of inflows in 2017. Sizable annual flows into European-listed funds (+96.8t) drove growth in the sector. And while North American funds experienced heavy outflows for part of the year, strong global Q4 inflows propelled total AUM to 2,440t by year-end, up 3% y-o-y from 2,371t. For the first time since 2012, the value of total gold-backed ETF holdings finished the year above US$100bn (at US$100.6bn).

Global inflows of 112.4t during Q4 reversed the 104t of outflows from the previous quarter. Growth in Q4 was split almost equally between US-listed and European-listed funds, with inflows of 57.1t and 59.1t respectively.

Europe was the only region to see net tonnage growth in 2018. A combination of widespread regional political uncertainty and negative yields on both sovereign debt and highly-rated corporate bonds underpinned investment in European-listed funds throughout the year. Inflows gained momentum in December, fuelled by a rising gold price against a background of stock market volatility and the US-China trade conflict. 

AUM in European-listed funds grew to 1,097t (US$45.2bn or €39.4bn) by year-end, up 10% y-o-y. Their share of global holdings has been increasing steadily over the last couple of years and now accounts for 45% of global holdings, up from 42% at the end of 2016. 

North America fund inflows of 57.1t in Q4 stemmed Q3 losses, but overall these products shed 13.4t over the year. During Q3, holdings in North American products fell by 75.3t as investors focused on the healthy domestic economy, strong dollar, rising equity markets and weaker gold price. This environment changed in Q4, with an increase in stock market volatility and mounting concern that US economic conditions may have peaked. And gold-backed ETFs benefited from this environment, combined as it was with a rising gold price. 

At the end of 2018, North American-listed funds represented 50% of global holdings in gold-backed ETFs, with a collective AUM of 1,230.4t (US$50.7bn).

Stock market weakness in Q4 helped fuel inflows into gold-backed ETFs

Stock market weakness in Q4 helped fuel inflows into gold-backed ETFs

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, Shanghai Gold Exchange, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Holdings of funds listed in other regions saw modest declines in 2018: Asian-listed funds lost 4.7t on an annual basis, as H2 losses wiped out the 16.7t of inflows seen in Q2. This corresponded with a downturn in China’s stock market and a weakening of the yuan against the dollar, which may be indicative of investors taking profit at a higher local price and/or selling as a source of liquidity. The market saw further rotation out of Bosera’s funds (which lost a combined 20.1t), mainly among individual investors on the Alibaba platform. Meanwhile, Huaan Yifu Gold ETF added 7.7t to AUM during 2018, as investors sought to hedge fluctuations in risky assets, putting it in the top 10 performing individual funds globally. 

2019 has seen a positive start. So far in January, gold-backed ETFs have found favour among investors: at the time of writing, global inflows have reached 59.0t. North-American funds are headlining this activity, with investors conscious of the continued trade spat between the US and China, particularly as global growth projections are scaled back. Adjustments to US rate hike expectations and the ongoing US government shutdown are also fuelling the inflows. 

European investors are focused on issues closer to home. Early January saw the euro gold price reach a widely-reported 18-month high, spurring further investor interest in that region. Meanwhile, the turn of the year brought the prospect of European parliamentary elections – scheduled for May – closer to mind and raised concerns that populist parties could gain a greater foothold in Brussels. Already wary over Brexit and the precarious state of both Italy’s public finances and its relationship with the EU, investors have steadily added to their safe-haven holdings of gold-backed ETFs.

Bars and coins

Global bar and coin demand rose 4% year on year, reaching 1,090t. A pick-up in retail investment demand in the second half of the year, boosted by the fall in the gold price across most currencies in Q3 and heightened equity market volatility in Q4, made up for the relatively quiet H1.

Bar and coin demand jumped in the second half of 2018

Bar and coin demand jumped in the second half of 2018

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Delving into specific product categories, bar sales were steady at 781.6t. Indeed, bar demand has been remarkably stable over the past five years with annual demand anchored between a low of 780t in 2014 and a high of 797t in 2016. 

The official coin market, however, saw annual demand surge 26% to 236t, the second highest level on record – the previous high was 270.9t in 2013. 

Coin demand flourished in a few countries, most notably Iran and South Africa, where retail investor concerns around stock market volatility, currency weakness and geopolitical uncertainty were common themes. 

China recorded another good year, with annual bar and coin demand steady at 304.2t. Retail investor fears over a weakening currency and stock market volatility have supported demand over the past two years. Deteriorating US-China relations in 2018 added to the sense of foreboding and contributed to heightened financial market volatility; over the course of the year the yuan fell 5% against the dollar while the CSI 300 dropped 25%. The Shanghai Gold Benchmark price, however, rose 3.4%.

China’s bar and coin market finished stronger than it started, with H2 demand 157.4t versus 146.8t in the first six months of the year. Demand peaked in Q3 when in August the price fell to RMB262/g, its lowest level since 2016. The market remained healthy in the fourth quarter at 70.9t, up from 68.6t in Q4 2017 and above the quarterly average of 66t since the start of 2014. 

By contrast, India, the second largest bar and coin market in the world, saw annual demand fall 4% to 106.2t. The gold market received its usual seasonal boost during Diwali, leaving fourth quarter demand at 56.4t – the strongest quarter of the year. But it was still 5% down on Q4 2017. Indeed, it was the weakest fourth quarter since 2008.

India’s bar and coin market faced challenges throughout the year. The weakness of the Indian rupee pushed the gold price to Rs31,900/10g during October, its highest level since June 2012. And India’s leading stock market – the SENSEX – continued to hit new highs, grabbing the attention of many urban investors.  Finally, the government’s continued clamp down on illicit money has removed an element of demand from the market.  

Yet despite these challenges, India’s gold investment market continued to innovate. Mobile apps and online platforms such as PayTM Gold, Phone Pe, MobiKwik and Safe Gold continued to gain traction,1 albeit from a very low base.  Businesses such as these allow investors to gain exposure to gold for as little as one rupee and, according to media reports, have seen rapid growth in their customer base. 

Bar and coin demand in South East Asia enjoyed a good year, with annual demand rising in Indonesia (+10%), Thailand (+7%) and Vietnam (+9%). Combined, these countries accounted for 131.3t, equal to 82% of the South East Asian bar and coin market in 2018.

Several themes underpinned the health of these markets.  Retail investors were concerned about the outlook for their respective local currencies. Over the course of the year the Vietnamese dong weakened 2% against the dollar, while the Indonesian rupiah fell by 6%. And although the Thai bhat finished the year flat, it fell 7% between April and July. They were also unnerved by equity market volatility, with most of the main regional indices finishing the year down. After rising 6% in January, the MSCI South East Asian equity index fell 17% over the remaining 11 months. Yet, at the same time, these economies continued to grow. Unemployment rates in Thailand, Vietnam and Indonesia remained stable at low levels compared to the recent past.   

There were market-specific factors, too. In Thailand, for example, retail investors flocked to gold as rumours of an imminent clamp down on unaccounted money rippled through the market. Although the clamp down failed to materialise, the rumour did spur gold demand. 

Middle East demand doubled in 2018, shooting up from 43.2t in 2017 to 87.1t in 2018. This was almost entirely due to Iran, where annual bar and coin demand ballooned from 19.2t in 2017 to 61.8t in 2018. The central bank’s decision to increase the number of coins it released into the market helped satisfy Iranian investor demand and boosted global coin demand. 

After an exceptionally strong Q3, Iranian demand eased a little in the final quarter. The rial strengthened following the central bank’s intervention in the foreign exchange market, and authorities moved to limit gold speculation by closing the coin futures market. Iran aside, the rest of the Middle Eastern bar and coin market was lacklustre. 

Doubling of annual Middle Eastern bar & coin demand almost entirely due to Iran

Doubling of annual Middle Eastern bar & coin demand almost entirely due to Iran

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

2018 annual bar and coin demand in Turkey fell 28% y-o-y, from 52.4t to 37.8t. The sharp fall is partly due to a relatively strong 2017, which was fuelled by the government’s fiscal stimulus programme and investors’ expectations of higher inflation and a weaker currency. 

These expectations were realised in 2018, with CPI doubling to 16% and the Turkish lira reaching an all-time low against the dollar. Conversely, the Turkish lira gold price hit an all-time high, dampening demand and encouraging higher levels of recycling. 

The picture improved in Q4. The Turkish lira came off its lows, the local gold price came off its highs and retail investment demand recovered: it rose 66% y-o-y to 8.4t, with coin sales outperforming bar sales.  

European annual bar and coin demand was 171.1t, down 11% on 2017 and its lowest annual number since 2007. Demand declined in Germany (-9%), Switzerland (-13%) and Austria (-16%). H1 was especially weak: it was the lowest half year since 2008, partly due to the relatively range-bound gold price. Activity picked up in H2 as stock market volatility increased and the euro gold price fell (in Q3) to its lowest level since 2015 before bouncing higher. 

The one bright spot in Europe was the UK. Annual bar and coin investment was 11.6t, up 12% yoy. Demand of 6.87t was the strongest half yearly figure since 2012, as investors looked ahead to 29 March 2019 – the day the UK is due to leave the EU – with a sense of trepidation. 

US bar and coin demand remained sluggish. Annual demand was 28.1t, its lowest level since 2007. For most of the year a range-bound gold price, buoyant equity market and expectations of higher rates reduced investor interest in gold. Often, bar and coin investors use price dips as entry points, but the pullback in Q3 failed to deliver. Subsequently, increased volatility in stock markets and a higher gold price, failed to tease out much investor interest. 

Footnotes

  1. The World Gold Council holds a minority stake in Digital Gold India Private Limited which offers Safe Gold. The World Gold Council and its affiliates may have an interest in or affiliation with other entities or instruments referenced in this report.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]