央行

2018全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2019年01月31日

央行

各国央行2018年的黄金需求暴增至651吨,为数十年来的最高水平

  • 2018年的各国央行净购买总量达651吨,是布雷顿森林体系终结以来的最高水平
  • 俄罗斯、土耳其和哈萨克斯坦央行依然是2018年主要的黄金购买者……
  • 更多央行也加入黄金购买行列
2017 2018 同比变化
央行和其他机构 374.8 651.5 74%

2018年各国央行的净购买总量达651.5吨,同比增长74%。这是1971年美元兑黄金停止以来最高的全年净购买量,也是史上第二高的年度购买总量。1 全球央行如今持有将近3.4万吨黄金。

在整个2018年,地缘政治紧张和经济不确定性加剧使各国央行加强了外汇储备多元化,并重新关注投资于高安全行和流动性资产的主要目标。

 

自尼克松关闭美元兑换黄金的窗口以来,2018年的央行购金需求创下新高

自尼克松关闭美元兑换黄金的窗口以来,2018年的央行购金需求创下新高

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

尽管全球金融危机已经过去10年,但不确定性似乎一如既往。为了应对日益加剧的宏观经济和地缘政治压力,各国央行纷纷增加黄金储备。这些措施与世界黄金协会近期一项调查的结果相符:76%的央行认为黄金作为避险资产的作用非常重要,59%的央行认可黄金作为投资组合多元化工具的效果。将近五分之一的央行表示有意在未来12个月里增加黄金购买量。 

类似于我们近年来看到的情况,需求量主要集中于少数几个央行。俄罗斯央行正在对其储备进行“去美元化”,2018年共购买了274.3吨黄金,资金来源是几乎尽数出售的美债投资组合。这是史上最高的全年净购买量,也是购买量连续第4年超过200吨。2 俄罗斯的黄金储备连续增长了13年,在此期间增加了1,726.2吨,到2018年底总计达到2,113吨。

 

由于俄罗斯外汇储备的“去美元化”,该国央行的黄金储备有所增加

由于俄罗斯外汇储备的“去美元化”,该国央行的黄金储备有所增加

来源: 彭博社, 国际货币基金组织, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

2018年土耳其央行的黄金储备增加了51.5吨。这是该国央行连续第二年出现净购买,比2017年的85.9吨低了40%,当时该国央行时隔将近25年重返市场。11月时其黄金储备减少16吨,加剧了同比跌幅。自2017年5月以来,土耳其的黄金储备共增加了137.4吨。3

2018年哈萨克斯坦央行的黄金储备增加50.6吨,达350.4吨。2018年是其连续实现年度增长的第8年。在月度层面,其黄金储备已连续增长75个月,期间的净购买总量为可观的246.4吨。

自2016年10月以来,中国央行的黄金储备保持不变。在2018年12月,中国宣布其黄金储备增加了近10吨,至1,852.2吨。4 截至年底,黄金占其外汇储备总量的2.4%,而2017年底为2.3%。同时,其外汇储备在2018年减少670亿美元,跌至3.1万亿美元。

更多央行将目光投向黄金。2018年的大部分需求依旧来自俄罗斯、哈萨克斯坦和土耳其。但它们的份额从2017年的94%跌至58%,因为其他央行开始大幅增加黄金储备,黄金作为储备资产的重要性得以加强。

值得注意的是,欧洲多国央行去年也购买了黄金。匈牙利央行是最大的购买者之一,其黄金储备增加了10倍,达到31.5吨。这是近30年来的最高水平。该国央行表示,购买黄金的理由是黄金可作为国际金融体系未来结构性改革的对冲工具,没有交易对手或信用风险。同样,波兰也是去年购买了黄金的欧洲央行之一。2018年,其黄金储备增加25.7吨,同比增长25%。

印度的净购买量也是2018年值得注意的央行需求之一。月度购买从3月开始,在下半年加速。其黄金储备总计增长40.5吨,这是2009年向国际货币基金组织购买200吨黄金以来最高的全年增幅5 在其2017-2018年报中,印度央行表示:“2018年,印度继续进行外币资产(FCA)多元化,侧重于包括网络安全风险在内的风险管理。黄金投资组合也已启动。”

蒙古宣布该国央行在2018年根据既定目标购买了22吨黄金。这意味着比2017年的购买量增加10%。这一增幅的驱动因素之一是为期5个月的“向国家财富基金贡献黄金”活动,该活动鼓励黄金开采公司和个人将黄金出售给蒙古央行。6

9月,伊拉克央行表示已趁金价下跌买入6.5吨黄金。这是2014年以来的首次年度增长,使其黄金储备总量达到96.3吨,占总外汇储备的6.7%。

阿塞拜疆国家石油基金(SOFAZ)去年也重新入市。到第三季度末,其黄金储备增加14.3吨,比2017年底增长近50%。7 该基金自2013年底开始退市,此次入市标志着该基金的政策发生变化。2018年12月,总统伊尔哈姆·阿利耶夫批准了更新后的投资指导方针允许SOFAZ将10%的投资组合投资于黄金。 目前黄金在SOFAZ投资组合中的占比为4.3%。

净购买量再次远超净销售量。净购买量令人瞩目的同时,全年净销售量依然非常低迷。澳大利亚(4.1吨)、德国(3.9吨)、斯里兰卡(2.4吨)、印尼(2吨)和乌克兰(1.2吨)是最值得注意的净卖出者。总体而言,总净销售量为微不足道的15.6吨。这个数字意味着,近期的央行黄金需求是由高购买量和低销售量共同支撑的。

脚注

  1. 最高的全年购金量出现在1967年,当时跟过央行黄金储备增加了1,404吨

  2. 通过国际货币基金组织报告的俄罗斯黄金储备数据最早只能追溯到1993年

  3. 所有数字都不包括波动性更高的准备金选择权机制(ROM)的持有量

  4. 这是过去4年里的第3次外储下滑;2017年的外储增加了1,290亿美元

  5. 在出版时,国际货币基金组织的统计数据仅报告截至2018年11月底的印度黄金储备

  6. 在出版时,国际货币基金组织的统计数据仅报告截至2018年11月底10.8吨的黄金储备增量

  7. 在出版时,SOFAZ仅报告截至2018年9月底的黄金储备

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2018

31 January, 2019

Central Banks and other institutions

Central banks’ demand for gold soared to a multi-decade high of 651t in 2018

  • Net central bank purchases totalled 651t in 2018, the highest level since the dissolution of Bretton Woods
  • Russia, Turkey and Kazakhstan remained key buyers throughout the year…
  • …and were joined by greater numbers of central banks purchasing gold
Tonnes 2017 2018 YoY
Central banks & others 374.8 651.5 74%

Central bank net purchases reached 651.5t in 2018, 74% higher y-o-y. This is the highest level of annual net purchases since the suspension of dollar convertibility into gold in 1971, and the second highest annual total on record.1 These institutions now hold nearly 34,000t of gold.

Heightened geopolitical and economic uncertainty throughout the year increasingly drove central banks to diversify their reserves and re-focus their attention on the principal objective of investing in safe and liquid assets. 

Central bank demand in 2018 was the highest since Nixon closed the gold window

Central bank demand in 2018 was the highest since Nixon closed the gold window

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Despite a decade passing since the global financial crisis, times seem no less certain. Central banks reacted to rising macroeconomic and geopolitical pressures by bolstering their gold reserves. These actions are consistent with a recent survey commissioned by the World Gold Council: 76% of central banks view gold’s role as a safe haven asset as highly relevant, while 59% cited its effectiveness as a portfolio diversifier. And almost one fifth of central banks signalled their intention to increase gold purchases over the next 12 months

Similar to what we’ve seen in recent years, demand volume was concentrated amongst a handful of central banks. Russia, which is “de-dollarising” its reserves, bought, 274.3t in 2018, funded by the almost total sale of its US Treasuries portfolio. This is the highest level of annual net purchases on record and the fourth consecutive year of +200t purchases.2 Russia’s gold reserves have increased for 13 consecutive years, growing by 1,726.2t over the period to total 2,113 at the end of the 2018.

Russian gold reserves have grown as a result of “de-dollarisation”

Russian gold reserves have grown during “de-dollarisation” of its reserves

Sources: Bloomberg, IMF IFS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

The Central Bank of Turkey increased gold reserves by 51.5 t in 2018. This is the second consecutive year of net purchases, 40 % lower than the 85.9 t it bought in 2017, when it re-entered the market after a nearly 25 year absence. This y-o-y decline was exacerbated by a 16t reduction in gold reserves in November. Since May 2017 Turkish gold reserves have increased by 137.4 t.3

Kazakhstan’s gold reserves rose 50.6t in 2018, to 350.4t. 2018 marks the eighth consecutive annual increase. On a monthly basis, gold reserves have risen for 75 consecutive months, with net purchases totalling an impressive 246.4t over that period. 

And having been dormant since October 2016, China announced that its gold reserves had increased by just under 10t in December, to 1,852.2t.4 Gold accounted for 2.4% of total reserves at year-end, up from 2.3% at the end of 2017, while FX reserves fell US$67bn over the year to US$3.1tn.

More central banks look to gold. Russia, Kazakhstan and Turkey again accounted for a large portion of demand in 2018. But their share fell to 58 % – from 94 % in 2017 – as other central banks chose to significantly increase their gold reserves, reinforcing the importance of gold as a reserve asset.

Notably, European central banks also bought gold last year. Hungary made one of the largest purchases, increasing its gold reserves ten-fold in October, to 31.5t. This is the highest level for nearly 30 years. The central bank cited gold’s role as a hedge against future structural changes in the international financial system, as well as its lack of counterparty or credit risk, as reasons for the purchase. Similarly, Poland was another European central bank which bought last year. Gold reserves rose by 25.7t during 2018, +25% y-o-y. 

Indian net purchases were another notable component of central bank demand in 2018. Monthly purchases began in March and picked up in the second half of the year. In total, gold reserves rose by 40.5t, the highest annual growth since the purchase of 200t from the International Monetary Fund In 2009.5 In its Annual Report 2017-2018 the bank stated: “Diversification of India’s Foreign Currency Assets (FCA) continued during the year with attention being ascribed to risk management, including cyber security risk. The gold portfolio has also been activated.” 

Mongolia announced that it had bought 22t of gold in 2018, in line with its stated target.  This represented a 10% increase on 2017 purchases. One of the drivers of this growth was a five-month “National Gold to the Fund of Treasures” campaign, which encouraged miners and individuals to sell their gold to the central bank.6

In September, the Central Bank of Iraq stated that it had taken advantage of lower gold prices to buy 6.5t. This was the first annual increase since 2014 and took total gold reserves to 96.3t, accounting for 6.7% of total reserves. 

The State Oil Fund of Azerbaijan (SOFAZ) also re-entered the market last year. Gold reserves grew by 14.3t by the end Q3, an increase of nearly 50% from end-2017.7 Having been on the side-lines of the gold market since the end of 2013, this marked a change in policy for the fund. In December 2018, President Ilham Aliyev approved updated investment guidelines that would allow SOFAZ to invest up to 10% of its portfolio in gold. Currently, gold accounts for 4.3% of SOFAZ’s portfolio. 

Net purchases again dwarf net sales. And while net purchases have been eye-catching, net sales remained minuscule throughout the year. Australia (4.1t), Germany (3.9t), Sri Lanka (2.4t), Indonesia (2t) and Ukraine (1.2t) were the most notable net sellers. Overall, net sales totalled a paltry 15.6t. This serves as a reminder that recent central bank demand is supported by a combination of high purchases and low sales.
 

Footnotes

  1. The highest annual total was in 1967, when central bank gold reserves increased by 1,404t

  2. Russian gold reserve data reported through the IMF extends back to 1993 only

  3. All figures exclude the more volatile ROM holdings

  4. This is the third decline in FX reserves the last four years; they rose by US$129bn in 2017

  5. At the time of publication, the IMF stats only reported Indian gold reserves to end-November 2018

  6. At the time of publication, only an 10.8t increase in gold reserves has been reported in IMF stats to end-November 2018

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]