投资快讯 新冠疫情:对全球经济和黄金表现的潜在影响

行业: 投资

新冠肺炎疫情以及随之而来的经济封锁大幅降低了人们对 2020 年全球经济增长的预测。  

基于人们对经济复苏速度的不同预期,我们分析了由牛津经济研究院(Oxford Economics)提供的四种假设情景下黄金的潜在表现:1

1.    迅速复苏

2.    美国企业危机

3.    新兴市场低迷

4.    大衰退

我们的分析显示,更高的市场风险和不确定性,加之更低的机会成本,可能会支持 2020 年的黄金投资需求。而这可能会抵消随经济活动收缩而下降的消费需求对黄金表现的负面影响。

此后,黄金的走势可能取决于经济复苏的速度以及货币政策和财政刺激措施的持续时间。

 

黄金估值不再困难

传统的估值模型并不适用于黄金。如果没有息票或股息,一般的折现现金流模型就不奏效,而且黄金也没有预期收益或账面市值比。但我们的分析表明,对黄金进行估值是非常直观的。它的均衡价格取决于供求关系。了解黄金需求和供应的基本驱动因素和相互作用,可以为投资者提供一个测定黄金表现的可靠框架 (焦点 1)。 

具体来讲,黄金的走势可以用四大类驱动因素来解释:

  • 经济扩张:增长时期对金饰需求、科技用金需求和长期储蓄需求非常有利
  • 风险与不确定性:市场低迷通常会提振黄金作为避风港的投资需求
  • 机会成本:竞争资产的价格,尤其是债券(通过利率)和货币的价格,会影响投资者对黄金的态度
  • 势能:资本流动、仓位和价格趋势可以激发或抑制黄金的表现。
Focus 1 - Diagram

 

1牛津经济研究院 (OE) 是全球预测和定量分析领域的领导者,也是建模方面的专家。OE总部位于牛津,在世界各地设有办事处,拥有400名员工,其中包括250多名经济学家和分析师,使其成为最大的独立预测机构。

重要信息和免责声明


© 2020 世界黄金协会保留所有权利。世界黄金协会和环形是世界黄金协会及其附属机构的商标。

对伦敦金银市场协会黄金价格(LBMA Gold Price)的引用已获得洲际交易所基准管理机构的许可,仅供参考之用。洲际交易所基准管理机构不对这些价格的准确性,或者这些价格所对应的产品承担任何责任。其他第三方内容属于第三方各自的知识产权,所有权利属于这些第三方。

未经世界黄金协会或相关版权所有者的事先书面同意,严禁复制或再分发本信息中任何内容,但符合下述规定的除外。信息和统计是世界黄金协会或其附属机构(合称“世界黄金协会”)或第三方供应商的版权所有和/或其他知识产权。所有者保留所有权利。

允许根据公平行业实践,将本文的统计数据用于评论目的(包括媒体评论),但必须符合以下两个前提条件:(i) 仅允许使用有限的数据或分析摘录;(ii) 使用其中任何或全部统计数据必须注明引用自世界黄金协会,并在必要时注明引用自金属聚焦公司、Refinitiv GFMS或其他明确的第三方来源。世界黄金协会隶属于金属聚焦公司。
世界黄金协会不保证任何信息的准确性和完整性。对于使用本文件而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。

本文仅用于教育目的,接收本文即表示您同意其预期目的。本文所含信息不构成购买或销售黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的建议或要约。本文不考虑任何特定人士的投资目标、财务状况或特殊需要。

分散投资不能保证任何投资回报,也不能消除损失风险。通过配置黄金而产生的各种投资结果的最终表现本质上是假设的,可能不能反映实际的投资结果,也不能保证未来的结果。世界黄金协会不保证或担保在任何假设的投资组合中使用的任何计算和模型或任何此类使用产生的任何结果。在做出任何与服务或投资有关的决定前,投资者应与合适的投资专业人士讨论自身情况。

本文包含前瞻性陈述,例如使用“相信”、“预计”、“可能”或“建议”等词语或类似术语的陈述,此类陈述是基于当前预期,可能会被修改。前瞻性陈述包含一些风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。世界黄金协会不承担更新任何前瞻性陈述的责任。

关于QaurumSM和黄金估值框架

请注意,通过使用Qaurum、黄金评估框架和其他信息所产生的各种投资回报的最终结果从本质上来说都是假设性的,可能无法反映实际的投资结果,也不能保证未来的结果。分散投资不能保证任何投资回报,也不能消除损失风险。世界黄金协会及其任何附属机构和子公司对该工具的功能不提供任何保证或担保,包括但不限于任何预测、估计或计算。

Rate this content:

Investment Update: COVID-19: potential impact on the global economy and gold performance

Sectors: Investment

The COVID-19 pandemic and ensuing economic lockdowns have slashed global growth forecasts for 2020. 

With varied expectations around the speed of the economic recovery, we analyse the potential performance of gold across four hypothetical scenarios provided by Oxford Economics:1

1) swift recovery

2) US corporate crisis

3) emerging markets downturn

4) deep recession.

Our analysis shows that higher risk and uncertainty combined with lower opportunity cost will likely be supportive of gold investment demand in 2020. This could offset the negative effect of lower consumer demand on gold performance as economic activity contracts.

Gold’s behaviour thereafter may depend on the speed of the recovery and the duration of monetary policy and fiscal stimuli.. 

 

Gold valuation made easy

Gold does not fit within traditional valuation models. Without a coupon or dividend, typical discounted cash flow models fail, and there are no expected earnings or book-to-value ratios either. But our analysis shows that valuing gold is intuitive. Its equilibrium price is determined by the intersection of demand and supply. Understanding the underlying drivers and interactions of gold demand and supply gives investors a robust framework upon which to determine gold’s performance (Focus 1).

In particular, gold's behaviour can be explained by four broad sets of drivers:

  • Economic expansion: periods of growth are very supportive of jewellery, technology and long-term savings
  • Risk and uncertainty: market downturns often boost investment demand for gold as a safe haven
  • Opportunity cost: levels of interest rates and strength of currencies influence investor attitudes towards gold
  • Momentum: capital flows, positioning and price trends can ignite or dampen gold's performance.
Focus 1 - Diagram

 

1Oxford Economics (OE) is a leader in global forecasting and quantitative analysis and a specialist in modelling. Headquartered in Oxford, with offices around the world, OE employs 400 staff, including over 250 economists and analysts – making it the largest, independent forecaster.

Important disclaimers and disclosures

© 2020 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.

All references to LBMA Gold Price are used with the permission of ICE Benchmark Administration Limited and have been provided for informational purposes only. ICE Benchmark Administration Limited accepts no liability or responsibility for the accuracy of the prices or the underlying product to which the prices may be referenced. Other content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to them. 

Reproduction or redistribution of any of this information is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners, except as specifically provided below. Information and statistics are copyright © and/or other intellectual property of the World Gold Council or its affiliates (collectively, “WGC”) or third-party providers identified herein. All rights of the respective owners are reserved.

The use of the statistics in this information is permitted for the purposes of review and commentary (including media commentary) in line with fair industry practice, subject to the following two pre-conditions: (i) only limited extracts of data or analysis be used; and (ii) any and all use of these statistics is accompanied by a citation to World Gold Council and, where appropriate, to Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS or other identified copyright owners as their source. World Gold Council is affiliated with Metals Focus.

WGC does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information nor accepts responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of this information.

This information is for educational purposes only and by receiving this information, you agree with its intended purpose. Nothing contained herein is intended to constitute a recommendation, investment advice, or offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). This information does not take into account any investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person. 

Diversification does not guarantee any investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss. The resulting performance of various investment outcomes that can be generated through allocation to gold are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. WGC does not guarantee or warranty any calculations and models used in any hypothetical portfolios or any outcomes resulting from any such use. Investors should discuss their individual circumstances with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments.

This information contains forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes”, “expects”, “may”, or “suggests”, or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. WGC assumes no responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.

Information regarding QaurumSM and the Gold Valuation Framework

Note that the resulting performance of various investment outcomes that can generated through use of Qaurum, the Gold Valuation Framework and other information are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. Neither WGC nor Oxford Economics provide any warranty or guarantee regarding the functionality of the tool, including without limitation any projections, estimates or calculations.