短期金价驱动因素

该多变量模型以如下四个月度金价回报率驱动因素为特色:财富和收入、市场风险、机会成本和动能与仓位。这些因素旨在捕捉黄金需求以及更为深刻的投资需求背后的动机;并考虑短期黄金价格的边际驱动因素。

短期驱动因素

数据截至

来源: 彭博(Bloomberg), 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

为了解特定时段的黄金价格(表格最后一行),请将相应列中的上述回报分量求和。

此模型如何工作?

黄金价格是由以下关键类别的驱动因素相互作用所决定:1) 财富与经济扩张;2)市场风险与不确定性;3)机会成本;以及4)市场动能与仓位。

我们的模型提供影响黄金既定时期表现的关键因素及其量化归因。将鼠标悬停在图表上会生成选定期内回报归因的视窗化总结。此信息也会显示在图表下方的表格中。除了四个关键类别外,该表格还列出了我们的模型没有捕捉到的期内回报部分(剩余)。此外,表格还按驱动因素类型比较最近时期内的黄金回报率及其归因。用户可以更改每个柱状条所代表的时间周期:默认为月度,但可以延长为季度或半年度。

以下示例为2016年第4季度

驱动因素类别

黄金价格的驱动因素可以从广义上划分为以下四个类别:

  • 财富和经济扩张:随着金饰、科技用金和长期储蓄需求的增加,收入也随之上涨。我们的模型使用常量捕捉这一驱动因素。
  • 市场风险和不确定性:市场低迷往往会使作为安全避险资产的黄金投资需求大增。在我们的模型中,市场风险通过相对股票/债券流、隐含黄金波动性、联邦储备资产、原油价格和平衡通货膨胀进行捕捉
  • 机会成本:包括债券和货币在内的,竞争资产感知相对价值,会影响消费者对黄金的态度。我们通过三个变量呈现这一主题:10年期国债票面收益、发达市场货币指数和新兴市场货币指数。
  • 动能和仓位:资产流和价格趋势会增强或削弱黄金表现。我们的模型通过三个变量捕获动能和仓位:滞后的黄金回报率、ETF流和COMEX期货仓位。

长度和频率

从2001年到最近一个月的月度数据。

更新时间表

每月更新。

单位

回报率以百分比显示

Short-term gold price drivers

A multiple variable model featuring the four key thematic driver categories of monthly gold price returns: wealth and income, market risk, opportunity cost and momentum & positioning, themes that capture motives behind gold demand and most poignantly, investment demand; considered the marginal driver of gold price returns in the short-run.

Short term drivers

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

To understand the gold price return – in the last row of the table - for a given period, sum the component returns above in the appropriate column.

How does this model work?

Gold prices are determined by the interaction of drivers from four key categories: 1) wealth and economic expansion; 2) market risk and uncertainty; 3) opportunity cost; and 4) momentum and positioning.

Our model provides a quantitative attribution of the key factors that have influenced gold’s performance over a given period. Hovering the mouse cursor over the chart generates a windowed summary of the selected period’s return attribution. This information is also displayed in the table below the chart. In addition to the four key categories, the table also lists the portion of the period return that our model did not capture (the residual) . In addition, the table compares the return of gold and its attribution by driver-type during recent periods of time. Users can change the time period that each bar represents: the default is monthly, but it can be expanded to quarterly or half-yearly.

Here is an example for Q4 2016

Driver categories

Drivers of the gold price can be broadly grouped into the following four categories:

  • Wealth and economic expansion: rising income is associated with higher demand for jewellery, technology and long-term savings. The constant in our model captures this driver
  • Market risk and uncertainty: market downturns often boost investment demand for gold as a safe haven asset. In our model, market risk is captured by relative equity/bond flows, implied gold volatility, Federal reserve assets, the price of crude and break-even inflation
  • Opportunity cost: the perceived relative value of competing assets including bonds and currencies influence investor attitudes towards gold. Three variables capture this theme: nominal 10-year Treasury bond yields, a developed market currency index and an emerging market currency index.
  • Momentum and positioning: asset flows and price trends can intensify or diminish gold’s performance. Three variables capture momentum and positioning in our model: The lagged return of gold, ETF flows and COMEX futures positioning.

Length and frequency

Monthly data from 2001 to most recent month available.

Update Schedule

Update monthly.

Units

Returns are displayed as percentages