互联网投资黄金

互联网投资黄金(IIG)让投资者能够在网上购买实物黄金,并让提供商代表投资者将其购买的黄金存储起来。

此类产品的业务在过去10年里大幅增长,新的参与者不断涌现。如今,最大的提供商代表投资者持有价值数十亿美元的黄金。

就像任何产品类别一样,投资者在作出决定之前必须充分了解自己的投资标的,并能够确定合适的解决方案。因此,世界黄金协会制定了一系列指南,供考虑通过互联网投资黄金的投资者参考,帮助他们找到最合适的产品。

《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》

《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》致力于帮助投资者甄别提供商,评估最符合其需求的产品。我们提供作出投资决定时应该考虑的相关问题,并为每个问题提供背景信息和指引。

该指南旨在成为一个投资起点。该指南不构成投资、法律或税务建议,仅用于教育目的。你可以在下方下载该指南:

互联网投资黄金 – 投资者指南全文

 

《互联网投资黄金产品提供商指南》

《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》将以《互联网投资黄金产品提供商指南》作为补充,后者将为互联网投资黄金的产品提供商定义何为良好的实践。

《互联网投资黄金产品提供商指南》将为互联网投资黄金产品提供商制定一份最佳实践蓝图。 我们相信良好实践和紧随其后的客户体验之间存在正相关;因此我们预计《互联网投资黄金产品提供商指南》可以促进该行业的增长。

我们将在2019年第一季度举行一次指南草案公众意见征询,鼓励互联网投资黄金的产品提供商、投资者和其他利益相关者积极参与建言。

面向产品提供商的《互联网投资黄金产品提供商指南》将于2019年晚些时候发布。

问答

什么是《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》?

《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》旨在帮助潜在投资者对投资互联网销售黄金作出知情决策。此类黄金由提供商代表投资者存储。《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》提供了投资者作出投资决定时应该考虑的相关问题。该指南为每个问题提供了背景信息和指引。涉及的主题包括:产品和提供商的特点、营销和销售实践、操作程序(例如金库保管和审计)。

我们的《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》并不致力于论述以黄金为依托的金融证券,例如以交易所交易基金(ETF)或立即交付的网售黄金。不涉及如黄金ETF等证券类产品的原因是,此类产品问世时间已经超过10年,交易和结构化的最佳实践程序已经很完善。

互联网投资黄金涉及哪些产品?

互联网投资黄金涉及由提供商代表投资者存储的互联网销售黄金。这包括新兴的以黄金为依托加密代币领域。

行业规模有多大,哪些地区受到影响?

在全球互联网投资黄金产品或类似产品方面,大约有200多个提供商。最大的提供商代表投资者持有价值数十亿美元的贵金属。产品提供商分布在多个国家,从欧洲和北美遍及亚洲和中东。

为何应该阅读《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》?

互联网投资黄金是黄金市场上的一个快速增长的新兴行业。世界各地经常发布许多产品,但不同情况下的产品特性可能截然不同。黄金市场上的新投资者对于某些实践(例如现存的不同类型的所有权、黄金来源、保管和审计要求)会感到陌生。《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》致力于帮助潜在投资者了解黄金市场的某些特性。

投资互联网黄金的主要好处是?

黄金是一种独特的资产,备受全世界储蓄者和投资者的珍视。黄金投资有许多特点。黄金在投资组合中是一种有效的多元化工具。黄金可以帮助资金抵御通胀和货币贬值的财富侵蚀效应。黄金是一种具有高流动性的资产,没有信用或交易对手风险。互联网投资黄金为投资者提供了合法拥有实物投资黄金、同时将黄金安全地存放在专业金库的方式。投资者通常有权取回自己持有的黄金,但将黄金留在金库中,他们也可以受益于类似其他现代投资产品的效率和便利。

购买互联网投资黄金产品的投资者面临什么风险?

对于黄金或互联网投资黄金的投资决策与所有其他投资一样,都涉及风险。像所有新市场一样,投资者必须谨慎选择新的投资产品(如互联网投资黄金),作出投资决定时应尽量多掌握相关信息。世界黄金协会编写了该指南,以帮助投资者进行投资。

世界黄金协会有何权威发布《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》?

世界黄金协会与政府、国际机构和政策制定者合作,助力疏通和改善黄金投资渠道。我们制定全球认可的标准,力求依靠这些标准弥补清晰度和一致性的不足,增强黄金价值链上的互信,支撑黄金作为主流资产的认可度,提高黄金的投资者吸引力。本指南旨在服务于此目的。

《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》对这些产品的提供商有何影响?

《互联网投资黄金投资者指南》的主要目标群体是潜在投资者而非产品提供商。但世界黄金协会希望该指南也能够成为提供商的有用工具,尤其是想要涉足该行业的新提供商。为了促进这一点,世界黄金协会计划征询公众意见,为该行业制定一份产品设计最佳实践“蓝图”。2019年第一季度将发布一份公众意见征询文件草案。

免责声明:

本网站仅用于教育目的,不构成投资、法律或税务建议,也不构成黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的交易建议或要约。

了解更多条款和条件,请点击这里:

© 2018 世界黄金协会保留所有权利。世界黄金协会和环形是世界黄金协会及其附属机构的商标。

所有第三方内容是各个第三方的知识产权,所有权利属于每个第三方。

事先未经世界黄金协会或相关版权所有者的书面同意,明确禁止复制或再分发本网站上的任何信息。

世界黄金协会不保证本网站任何信息的准确性和完整性,并且这些信息可能会被修改。对于使用本网站的信息而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。

 

本网站仅用于教育目的,不构成投资、法律或税务建议,也不构成黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的交易建议或要约。本网站并未暗示黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务的未来或预期价值,或含蓄推荐或提出任何类型的投资策略。世界黄金协会不对互联网投资黄金或代币化黄金的提供商实施尽职调查。本网站提供的信息不应视为足以构成投资决策基础的信息。在作出与任何服务或任何服务投资有关的决定之前,投资

者应与相关投资专业人士讨论自己的个人情况。

本网站包含前瞻性陈述,例如使用“相信”、“预计”、“也许”或“建议”等词语或类似术语的陈述,此类陈述是基于当前预期,可能会被修改。前瞻性陈述包含一些风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。世界黄金协会不负责更新任何前瞻性陈述。

Internet Investment Gold

Internet Investment Gold (IIG) allows investors to buy physical gold online and have it stored on their behalf.

The landscape of such products has grown significantly over the last decade and new players are continuing to emerge. The largest providers now hold billions of US dollars worth of gold on behalf of investors.

As with any product group, it is important that investors fully understand what they are investing in and can identify the right solution before taking any decisions. The World Gold Council has therefore developed a set of guidelines that investors can use when considering how to invest in gold online, which is stored on their behalf (IIG), to help them identify a product that works best for them.

IIG Investor Guidance

The IIG Investor Guidance aims to help investors understand how to invest in gold online, differentiate between providers and assess which products best meet their needs. We provide relevant questions to consider when making an investment decision, and we provide background information and guidance for each question.

The guidance is designed to be a starting point. It does not constitute investment, legal or tax advice and is provided for educational purposes only. You can download the Guidance below:

Internet Investment Gold – Checklist

Download Checklist

 

Internet Investment Gold – Full Investor Guidance

Download Full Investor Guidance

 

IIG Product Provider Guidance

The IIG Investor Guidance will be complemented by an IIG Product Provider Guidance, which will define sound practices for providers of Internet Investment Gold products.

The IIG Product Provider Guidance will set out a blueprint of best practice for IIG Product Providers. We believe there will be a positive correlation between sound practices and the ensuing client experience; so we expect the IIG Product Provider Guidance to facilitate the growth of this sector.

A public consultation on the draft guidance will be held in the first quarter of 2019 and providers of Internet Investment Gold products, investors and other stakeholders will be encouraged to actively participate and contribute.

The IIG Product Provider Guidance for product providers will be published later in 2019.

Questions and answers

What is the Internet Investment Gold Investor Guidance?

The IIG Investor Guidance is designed to help potential investors make an informed decision regarding how to invest in gold online where that investment is stored by the provider on their behalf. The IIG Investor Guidance provides relevant questions that investors should consider when making an investment decision. For each question, background information and guidance are included. The topics covered include: product and provider characteristics, marketing and sales practices, and operational procedures, such as vaulting and auditing.

What products are covered by Internet Investment Gold?

Internet Investment Gold covers gold products that are sold via the internet and stored on the investor’s behalf. This includes the emerging area of gold-backed crypto tokens. Our IIG Investor Guidance is not intended to cover gold-backed financial securities such as exchange-traded funds (ETFs) or gold that is sold via the internet for immediate delivery. The reason for not including securities such as ETFs is that, having been in existence for over a decade, best practice procedures in trading and structuring are already well established.

How big is the sector and what regions are affected?

There are estimated to be more than 200 providers of Internet Investment Gold products or similar products globally. The largest providers hold billions of US dollars in precious metals on behalf of investors. Product providers are spread across numerous countries, ranging from Europe and North America to Asia and the Middle East - so it is not just a question of ‘how to invest in gold online’ but also where.

Why is the IIG Investor Guidance necessary?

Internet Investment Gold is a new, fast-growing sector in the gold market. Many products are regularly being launched around the world so there are many new ways to invest in gold online. However, the features between products can vary significantly in some cases. For investors that are new to the gold market, certain practices such as the different types of ownership that exist, the sourcing of gold, custody, and audit requirements will be unfamiliar. The IIG Investor Guidance aims to help educate potential investors about some of the unique features of the gold market.

What are the main benefits of investing in Internet Investment Gold?

Gold is a unique asset that is highly valued by savers and investors around the world. Its investment characteristics are numerous. It acts as an effective diversifier in a portfolio. It protects funds against the wealth eroding effects of inflation and currency depreciation. It is a highly liquid asset with no credit or counterparty risk. Internet Investment Gold provides investors with a means to legally own physical investment gold, while having it kept safely in professional vaults. Investors typically have the right to withdraw their holdings, but by leaving it in the vaults they benefit from an efficiency and convenience which is similar to that of other modern investment products.

What is the risk to investors buying Internet Investment Gold products?

Investment decisions for gold or IIG involve risks as with all other investments. Like all new markets, it is important that investors act with caution when picking a new investment product such as IIG and arm themselves with as much information as possible when making investment decisions. The World Gold Council has created the guidance to help investors with this process and understand how to invest in gold online.

Why is the World Gold Council issuing the IIG Investor Guidance?

The World Gold Council works with governments, international agencies and policymakers to help reduce barriers and improve access to gold. We develop globally recognised standards in seeking to create clarity and consistency where they are lacking and reinforce trust across the gold value chain, bolstering gold’s acceptance as a mainstream asset and broadening its investor appeal. The Guidance is intended to serve this purpose as well as educate investors on the ways they may invest in gold online.

What implications does this have for providers of these products?

The IIG Investor Guidance is aimed primarily at potential investors, not at product providers. However, the World Gold Council hopes that the guidance will serve as a useful tool for providers too, especially new providers who want to step in to this space. To facilitate this further, the World Gold Council intends to consult on a “blueprint” for best practice product design in this sector. A draft consultation document will be released in Q1 2019.

Disclaimer:

This website is provided for educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, legal or tax advice or a recommendation or an offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”).

Further Terms and Conditions

© 2018 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.
All third-party content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to each such party.
Reproduction or redistribution of any information on this website is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners.

World Gold Council does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information in this website, and the information is subject to change. World Gold Council does not accept responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of any such information.
This website is provided for educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, legal or tax advice or a recommendation or an offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). This website does not suggest the future or expected value of gold, any gold-related products or services, or implicitly recommend or suggest an investment strategy of any kind. World Gold Council does not conduct any diligence on providers of Internet Investment Gold or Tokenised Gold. Information available in this website should not be considered as information sufficient upon which to base an investment decision. Investors should discuss their individual circumstances with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments in any Services.

This website contains forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes,” “expects,” “may,” or “suggests,” or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. World Gold Council does not assume any responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.