Our Chairs

The biographies below provide details of the senior industry figures who have fulfilled the role of Chairman of the World Gold Council.

Randall Oliphant     

2012 - 2017

Randall Oliphant is the Executive Chairman of New Gold.

From 1999 to 2003, Randall was the President and Chief Executive Officer of Barrick Gold Corporation, and since that time he has served on the boards of a number of public companies and not-for-profit organizations.

In addition, Randall was the Chairman of Western Goldfields Inc. from 2006 until its business combination with New Gold in 2009, at which time he became the Executive Chairman of the combined company.

Randall presently serves on the advisory board of Metalmark Capital LLC, and on the board of directors of Franco-Nevada Corporation, WesternZagros Resources Ltd. and Newmarket Gold Inc.

Randall is a Chartered Professional Accountant, CA.      


Ian Telfer     

2009 – 2011

Ian Telfer is the Chairman of Goldcorp Inc.

Ian began serving as Goldcorp’s Chief Executive Officer in 2004 after the company acquired Wheaton River Minerals. In 2006, Ian transitioned into his current Chairman role at the company.

Ian is also a Fellow in the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a member of the National Association of Corporate Directors, and a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Ian was recently inducted into the Business Laureates of British Columbia (BLBC) Hall of Fame and, in 2015, was inducted into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame for his long-standing contribution to the industry. In 2007, he was awarded the Western Canada Entrepreneur of the year award by Ernst & Young. 

A noted philanthropist; his donation to the University of Ottawa resulted in the Telfer School of Management, named in his honour.

Awarded a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Toronto and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Ottawa.


Pierre Lassonde  

2005 - 2009

Pierre Lassonde is the co-founder and Chairman of Franco-Nevada Corp. Formerly, President, Newmont Mining Corp.

Designated a Professional Engineer by the Association of Profession Engineers of Ontario and a CFA by the CFA Institute, Pierre holds a Bachelor of Science degree by Ecole Polytechnic of Montreal and a Master of Business Administration by the University of Utah.

Pierre has received seven Honorary PhD's from the Universities of Toronto, Montreal and Utah, as well as from Ryerson, Concordia, York and Western Universities.

Author of "The Gold Book: The Complete Investment Guide to Precious Metals" and a noted philanthropist. In spring 2014, his substantial donation to the University of Utah resulted in the creation of the Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute.

Pierre is a member of the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame and the Order of Canada.



Christopher M Thompson              

2002 – 2005

Chief Executive Officer, Gold Fields Ltd, 1998 to 2002; Chairman Gold Fields Ltd, 1998 to 2005.

Chairman, Golden Star Resources Ltd, 2010 to 2012.


Bobby Godsell                                 


Chief Executive Officer, AngloGold Ashanti, 1998 to 2007.


John Wilson                                     

1999 - 2000

President and Chief Executive Officer, Placer Dome, 1993 to 1999.


Donald M Morley                              

1997 - 1999

Executive Director, Western Mining Corporation.


Harry M Conger                               

1995 - 1997

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Homestake Mining Company.


Robin A Plumbridge                        

1993 - 1995

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Gold Fields of South Africa.


Fraser M Fell                                     

1991 - 1993

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Dome Mines Ltd. and Chairman, Placer Dome Inc.


Hugh M Morgan                               

1989 -1990

Chief Executive Officer, Western Mining Corporation,


Gordon R Parker                              

1987 – 1989

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Newmont Corporation.