科技

黄金需求趋势 2020年上半年及第二季度

2020年07月30日

科技

新冠疫情继续对整个科技行业供应链产生负面影响,导致第二季度全球科技用金需求进一步大幅下降

  • 电子行业第二季度黄金需求大幅下滑至55.6吨,同比降幅为14%,其他技术应用中的用金量为8.4吨,同比减少了33%
  • 牙科的黄金需求持续下降,同比降幅30%,用金量仅为2.6吨,这是该领域季度需求首次降至3吨以下
  • 2020年上半年科技行业的用金量下降了13%,为139.9吨。
2019年第
2季度
2020年第
2季度
年同比变化
科技 80.7 66.6 -18%
电子用金 64.5 55.6 -14%
其他行业 12.5 8.4 -33%
牙科 3.7 2.6 -30%

总体而言,第二季度科技行业的黄金需求同比下降了18%至66.6吨,创季度新低。尽管新冠疫情继续严重影响该行业,但有迹象表明,随着电子制造中心开始从封锁状态中恢复并重新开始生产,该行业有望在2020年下半年出现部分复苏。但是,这次危机带来的冲击仍然是深远的和前所未有的,因此,未来几周和几个月内我们可能会对预测进行修订。

电子行业

第二季度电子行业用金量同比下降14%,至55.6吨,这使得上半年的总需求量下降了11%至114.5吨,为2002年以来的最低水平。如第一季度报告提到的,如此大规模的用金需求下降是消费者对终端产品需求疲软的直接后果,也是世界各地广泛实施封锁和生产设施停工造成的直接后果。但是,该行业的某些部分已经表现出一定的应变能力,中国台湾省和中国大陆等主要生产中心相对较早地逐步结束封锁,可能会在2020年下半年实现有限的复苏,具体内容将在下文进行详细讨论。

第二季度,内存行业基本仍未受新冠疫情的影响,黄金需求同比增长了5%。疫情为该行业带来了机会和额外需求——特别是对于云计算和数据存储,这两者都需要大量的内存芯片。然而,对该行业的未来前景预测并不乐观。由于在家办公需求的增加而带来的需求上涨将会逐渐消失,而消费类电子产品的需求可能会保持疲软状态,此外一些替代品的威胁仍然存在(例如,可能会使用银丝来代替黄金)。美国一些主要公司可能会在第三季度下大量订单,以满足上半年因供应链问题受阻的内存项目的需求,但是这些额外的需求可以通过封锁禁令出台前生产出的现有组件库存予以满足。

 LED行业用金需求较第一季度有所回升,但仍同比下降15%。据报道,在封锁禁令解除后,韩国和中国台湾省的工厂利用率恢复到了90%,但汽车和消费类电子产品需求持续疲软,限制了终端用户的购买。黄金需求面临的技术挑战也依然存在,据报道,苹果公司计划在2020年第四季度推出一款使用mini-LED技术的新iPad,该技术使用的黄金要比传统LED解决方案使用的少。

第二季度印刷电路板(PCB)行业的黄金需求同比下降了4-8%。中国台湾省解除封锁后迎来了5-10%的同比需求增长,但是中国大陆和韩国的数据显示分别较去年同期仍有5-8%的下滑。第二季度5G和人工智能应用仍保持势头强劲,但是业内持续的小型化趋势仍然对用金量造成威胁。消费者支出受限的阴云仍然笼罩在这个行业,有可能在接下来的几个季度进一步抑制这个领域的黄金需求。

无线行业发展势头强劲,用金需求同比增长了25-30%。在许多国家,基础设施项目的加速发展推动了这一需求的增长,并且有望通过一系列应用将这一优势保持下去:5G部署、3D传感器技术和航空航天项目显示出特别的前景。应该注意的是,虽然该行业的黄金需求增长无疑是积极的,但就绝对数量而言,无线行业的黄金使用量远低于其他应用领域。

中国台湾省本在电子制造业中占比相对较小,但它却是全球唯一在第二季度中用金需求量有所增长(+7%)的生产中心。在此期间,黄金需求在日本(-5%)、中国大陆和香港(-7%)、韩国(-2%)以及美国(-29%)均有不同程度的下滑。

其他行业及牙科

黄金在其他行业和牙科领域的使用量同比大幅下降了33%和30%,分别降至8.4吨和2.6吨。这主要是在全球范围内实施封锁禁令的结果。影响最显著的是印度,在封锁期间,传统服装中使用的金线需求暴跌,意大利用于奢侈品配饰的电镀金盐需求量也明显下降。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Technology

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2020

30 July, 2020

Technology

COVID-19 continued to negatively impact the entire technology supply chain, leading to further significant falls in gold demand in Q2

  • The electronics sector recorded a large fall in demand in Q2, dropping 14% y-o-y to 55.6t, and gold used in other technology applications was 33% lower y-o-y at 8.4t
  • Dental demand continued its decline with a 30% y-o-y fall to just 2.6t, the first time demand has slipped below 3t in a quarter
  • Gold used in technology for the first half of 2019 was down 13% at 139.9t.
Tonnes Q2'19 Q2'20 YoY
Technology 80.7 66.6 -18%
Electronics 64.5 55.6 -14%
Other Industrial 12.5 8.4 -33%
Dentistry 3.7 2.6 -30%

Overall, demand in the technology sector in Q2 fell 18% y-o-y to 66.6t, a record quarterly low. While COVID-19 continues to severely impact the sector, there are signs of a partial recovery in the second half of 2020 as electronics fabrication hubs begin to emerge from lockdown and restart production. However, the shock of the crisis remains far-reaching and unprecedented, and as a consequence, forecasts may be revised in the coming weeks and months.

Electronics

Gold used in electronics in Q2 fell 14% to 55.6t y-o-y, taking H1 demand down 11% to 114.5t, the lowest since 2002. As reported in Q1, declines of this magnitude are a direct consequence of weak consumer demand for end products, and of the widespread lockdowns and production facility shutdowns that have been enforced around the world. However, some parts of the sector have shown resilience and the gradual, relatively early end of lockdown in key production hubs such as Taiwan and Mainland China may feed through to a limited recovery in H2 2020, as discussed in more detail below.

The memory sector remained largely unaffected by COVID-19 in Q2, recording a 5% y-o-y increase. The pandemic created opportunities and additional demand – particularly for cloud computing and data storage, both of which require considerable numbers of memory chips. Looking forward, however, the forecast is less positive. The spike in demand due to greater homeworking needs is set to dissipate, while consumer electronics demand is likely to remain weak and some substitution threats remain (for example the potential use of silver wire in place of gold). Some major US firms are likely to place significant orders during Q3 to support memory projects that were hindered by supply chain issues in the first half, but some of this additional demand could be met by existing stocks of components that were manufactured prior to lockdown. 

The LED sector registered a slight recovery from Q1, but was still down 15% y-o-y. Emerging out of lockdown, factories in South Korea and Taiwan were reportedly back to 90% utilisation rates, but weak automotive and consumer electronic demand continued to temper end-user purchasing. Technology challenges to gold demand also remain, with Apple reportedly planning a new iPad launch during Q4 2020 using mini-LED technology, which uses less gold than traditional LED solutions. 

The Printed Circuit Board (PCB) sector recorded a 4-8% y-o-y decline in Q2. Taiwan’s emergence from lockdown led to a 5-10% increase y-o-y, but Mainland China and South Korea both registered declines of between 5-8% y-o-y. 5G and artificial intelligence applications both remained strong during the quarter, but the ongoing trend of miniaturisation continues to pose a threat to demand.  Constrained consumer spending remains a dark cloud on the horizon, and this is likely to further impact demand in the sector over the coming quarters.

The wireless sector saw robust momentum, with a 25-30% y-o-y increase in demand.  Growth has been driven by the acceleration of infrastructure projects in many countries, and this strength is expected to continue via a range of applications: 5G deployment, 3D sensor technology and aerospace projects show particular promise. It should be noted that, while the growth in this sector is undoubtedly positive, in absolute terms the volume of gold used in the wireless sector is considerably smaller than in other application areas.

Taiwan, which represents a relatively small percentage of electronics fabrication, was the only fabrication to record an increase in demand during the second quarter (+7%). Demand fell in Japan (-5%), Mainland China and Hong Kong (-7%), South Korea (-2%) and the US (-29%).
 


Other Industrial and dentistry

Other industrial and dental applications registered significant falls of 33% y-o-y to 8.4t and 30% y-o-y to 2.6t, respectively. This was primarily a consequence of lockdowns being imposed around the world. The most notable impacts were felt in India, where gold thread used in traditional clothing collapsed during lockdown, and a marked fall in the production of plating salts for luxury accessories in Italy.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]