ETF每月评论

7月全球黄金ETF现小幅净流入,继续保持增长势头

Published:

PDF XLSX

7月亮点 

7月,全球黄金ETF整体呈积极态势,流入11.1吨(约合6.69亿美元,资产管理规模增加0.3%,下同)。欧洲与亚洲基金的流入量多被北美大型基金的流出量所抵消。总体而言,由于人们对全球经济增长前景不明有所担忧,加之在通胀上升形势下,各国央行重申会继续实行宽松货币政策 ,因此伴随着金价的回升,7月出现了黄金ETF的正向流入(尤其在下半月)。全球黄金ETF总规模为3,636吨(约合2,140亿美元),1  比2020年10月3,909吨的吨位记录高位低约7%。2 

 

 

ZH ETF flows chart

数据截至

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

分区域市场回顾

与6月相反,德国和英国等欧洲基金成为7月全球黄金ETF流入的主导力量,而规模较大的美国基金则是本月黄金ETF流出的主要来源。欧洲基金增持17.1吨(约合9.99亿美元,1.1%),北美基金则流出7.3吨(约合4.02亿美元,-0.4%)。欧洲央行(ECB)承诺承诺会维持宽松货币政策以支持经济增长,随后欧洲各国不同规模的黄金ETF基金也实现了净流入。北美基金的流出趋势主要由美国大型基金主导;事实上,两家规模最大的美国基金总共有超过11亿美元的净流出量,主要流至飙涨的股市。

同时,低成本黄金ETF3持续增长,一定程度上抵消了其他基金的流出,同时为北美和欧洲基金的总流入贡献了约6.95亿美元(12.0吨)。亚洲上市基金规模也增持0.7%(1.0吨,约合5,400万美元),延续了净流入趋势,主要原因在于中国本地金价走强以及由股市下跌激起的黄金投资需求。“其他”地区黄金ETF基金规模增长0.6%(0.3吨,约合1,900万美元)。4

黄金价格表现和交易量

金价较6月有所回升,收复了部分失地;在低利率和有利货币政策前景的作用下,7月收盘时金价报1,826美元/盎司,上涨3.6%。5 进入6月后金价恢复平稳状态,截至目前年内下跌3.3%。7月全球黄金日均交易量与6月水平保持一致,为1,630亿美元/天,与年初至今日均1,650亿美元的交易水平相近,但低于2020年1,830亿美元的日均成交。 但COMEX黄金期货交易量自上月低位开始反弹,最新的交易商持仓报告(COT)显示,COMEX黄金期货净多仓位增至640吨(约合370亿美元),  回升至6月抛售潮之前的水平,与今年以来的周均净多仓位保持一致。7

市场评论

我们的短期金价表现归因模型,表明, 7月份金价表现的关键驱动因素和前几个月类似,均与势能和利率变动有关。我们认为最近金价的回升具体是由以下因素决定的:

  • 金价继6月骤降后其均值已有回升
  • 美国国债收益率降至2月初水平
  • 黄金净多仓位及黄金ETF流入均有增加

展望未来,其他支持因素还包括:

  • 在季节性消费需求的支持下,9月份金价或将有强势表现
  • 通胀预期更高,尤其是如果美联储坚持认为就业比通胀更重要的话

更多信息请见《2021年7月黄金市场评论》

各区域黄金ETF流量数据8

欧洲基金流入量被北美基金流出量部分抵消

  • 欧洲:净流入17.1吨(约合9.99亿美元,1.1%)
  • 北美:净流出7.3吨(约合4.02亿美元,-0.4%)
  • 亚洲:净流入1.0吨(约合5,400万美元,0.7%)
  • 其他地区:净流入0.3吨(约合1,900万美元,0.6%)

主要基金流量变动

7月,美国的iShares Gold Trust Micro和英国的Invesco Physical Gold主导全球黄金ETF流入

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares流出14.3吨(约合8.08亿美元,-1.4%),iShares Gold Trust流出5.2吨(约合3.01亿美元,-1.1%)。而另一方面,新成立的iShares Gold Trust Micro增持9.8吨(约合5.68亿美元),9 SPDR® Gold MiniShares也流入0.5吨(约合2,700万美元,0.6%),再加上美国其他低成本基金也有流入,抵消了部分流出趋势。
  • 欧洲:Invesco Physical Gold流入5.4吨(约合3.13亿美元,2.5%),Xetra Gold 增持3.4吨(约合1.99亿美元,1.5%),UBS ETF Gold增持1.8吨(约合1.03亿美元,5.6%)。
    亚洲:中国的易方达黄金流入1.6吨(约合9,100万美元,13.7%),但被华安易富黄金ETF的流出量部分抵消,后者减持0.7吨(约合4,000万美元,-2.4%)。

长期趋势

4月以来多数地区黄金ETF的稳定流入仍难抵第一季度的大量流出

  • 年初至今,全球黄金ETF在北美基金主导下流出约合61亿美元(-118吨),但被亚洲的流入量部分抵消
  • 经历了年初的坎坷,欧洲基金在投资者情绪和金价势能改善之后恢复净流入趋势;同时随着金价的波动,美国大型基金继续主导着全球黄金ETF的流入或流出
  • 低成本黄金ETF每月都有流入,年初至今已增长40%(56.2吨),现占全球黄金ETF市场总额的5%以上
  • 尽管亚洲黄金ETF最近流入放缓,但凭借着第一季度的强劲表现仍傲视全球,2021年截至目前已增持超10亿美元(14%) 

脚注

  1. 我们会定期核查全球黄金ETF,并根据最新数据和信息调整基金名单和持仓量。

  2. 基于截至2021年7月31日的LBMA午盘金价。

  3. 美国低成本黄金ETF由世界黄金协会定义为在美国和欧洲设立、交易,且年度管理费率及其他费用(如固定成本)不超过20个基点的黄金ETF开放式基金,由实体黄金支持。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, Goldman Sachs Physical Gold ETF, iShares Gold Trust Micro, CI Gold Bullion Fund, WisdomTree Core Physical Gold以及Xtrackers IE Physical Gold ETC。

  4. “其他”地区包括澳大利亚、南非、土耳其、沙特阿拉伯以及阿联酋。

  5. 基于截至2021年7月31日的LBMA午盘金价。

  6. 基于截至2021年7月27日的LBMA午盘金价。

  7. 基于2021年1月5日至2021年7月27日期间的可用数据。

  8. 我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。自2021年7月1日起,我们对计算方法进行了一些调整和改进,且会对历史和未来的数据产生一定影响。我们具体修订了预估黄金持仓变动的方法,如下所述:

    • 以前,吨位变化是通过将基金AUM(美元)转换为黄金持仓(吨)并估算各时间段差额来计算的。但货币变动及每日/每周的大幅金价变动可能会在短期内造成吨位变化和美元基金流量之间的差额出现偏差。因此,我们将吨位变化调整为基金流量与AUM的函数,并以基金流量(吨)取代吨位变化数据。
    • 现在对于大多数基金而言,我们会预估美元基金流量(如下2.3.2节所述),然后将这些流量转换成基金流量(吨)。
    • 现在,基金流量(吨)和美元基金流量将作为对黄金ETF投资需求的统一解释,而基金的真实黄金持仓(以美元和吨为单位)仍将为近似预估值,受到上述货币和价格波动的影响。
    • 据我们初步分析,这些变动不太可能对历史信息(尤其是全球或区域总量基础)产生重大的长期影响,但会对有时因数据输入和时间变化而导致的短期波动进行调整。
  9. iShares Gold Trust Micro (IAUM) 流入量的很大一部分可能来自 iShares Gold Trust (IAU)的转入,两家公司由同一家母公司运营,后者管理费用更高。

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETFs continue growth with slight inflows in July

Published:

PDF XLSX

July highlights

Flows into global gold ETFs were marginally positive in July, with inflows of 11.1 tonnes (t) (US$669mn, +0.3% AUM). Inflows into European and Asian funds were mostly offset by outflows from large North American funds. Overall, the positive flows came alongside a recovery in gold prices, particularly in the latter half of the month amid concerns of uncertain global growth outlook and a reaffirmed commitment by central banks to continue easy money policies despite elevated inflation. Global Assets Under Management (AUM) stand at 3,636t (US$214bn),1 approximately 7% below the October 2020 record tonnage high of 3,909t.2

 

ETF flows chart

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Regional overview

In a reverse from the previous month, European funds, particularly in Germany and the UK, were the primary source of inflows in July, while larger US funds led outflows. Funds in Europe added 17.1t (US$999mn, 1.1%) as opposed to North American funds, which saw outflows of 7.3t (-US$402mn, -0.4%). Inflows among European gold ETFs occurred across countries and fund size following the European Central Bank’s (ECB) pledge to keep monetary policy supportive of growth, whereas outflows in North America were almost entirely driven by large US funds. In fact, the two largest US funds alone had combined outflows of more than US$1.1bn, amid record high equities.

Meanwhile, low-cost gold ETFs3 continued to drive growth and helped offset outflows, while contributing a combined US$695mn (12.0t) to flows across North America and Europe. Asian-listed funds also continued inflows of 0.7% (1.0t, US$54mn), supported by positive investment demand in China due to strength in the local gold price amid equity declines, while fund flows in ‘Other’ regions grew by 0.6% (0.3t, US$19mn).4

Price performance and trading volumes

Gold recovered some of its losses from June, finishing the month 3.6% higher at US$1,826/oz on the heels of lower interest rates and a favourable monetary policy outlook.5 It is now 3.3% lower on the year after getting back to flat coming into June. Gold daily trading averages remained in line with June levels at US$163bn per day and near the y-t-d average of US$165bn, though still below the 2020 average of US$183bn. However, COMEX volumes increased from last month’s lows, while net long positioning, via the recent Commitment of Traders (COT) report for COMEX gold futures, increased to 640t (US$37bn),6Greturning to levels seen before the June sell-off and in line with the weekly average net long positioning this year.7

Market commentary

Our short-term price performance model suggested that similar to recent months, the key drivers of gold performance during July were related to changes in momentum and interest rates. Specifically, we believe the latest recovery in gold prices is a function of:

  • mean reversion in gold prices following June’s precipitous decline 
  • a fall in US Treasury yields to levels last seen in early February
  • increased net long positioning and ETF flows.

Looking forward, additional supporting factors include:

  • an historically strong September bolstered by seasonal consumer demand
  • higher inflation expectations, particularly if the Federal Reserve stands by its remarks prioritising employment over inflation.

For more details see Gold Market Commentary, July 2021.

Regional flows8

European fund inflows were mostly offset by North American fund outflows

  • European funds had inflows of 17.1t (US$999mn, 1.1%)
  • Holdings in North American funds declined by 7.3t (-US$402mn, -0.4%)
  • Funds listed in Asia had net inflows of 1.0t (US$54mn, 0.7%)
  • Other regions had inflows of 0.3t (US$19mn, 0.6%).

Individual flows

iShares Gold Trust Micro in the US and Invesco Physical Gold in the UK led global inflows in July 

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares lost 14.3t (-US$808mn, -1.4%), while iShares Gold Trust had outflows of 5.2t (-US$301mn, -1.1%). On the other hand, recently launched iShares Gold Trust Micro added 9.8t (US$568mn),9 and SPDR® Gold MiniShares added 0.5t (US$27mn, 0.6%), which, combined with other low-cost US funds, helped offset some of the outflows
  • In Europe, Invesco Physical Gold had inflows of 5.4t (US$313mn, 2.5%), while Xetra Gold added 3.4t (US$199mn, 1.5%) and UBS ETF Gold increased holdings by 1.8t (US$103mn, 5.6%)
  • In Asia, inflows into E Fund Gold in China of 1.6t (US$91mn, 13.7%) were partially offset by outflows from Huaan Yifu Gold ETF, which lost 0.7t (-US$40mn, -2.4%).

Long-term trends

Steady inflows across most regions since April have not sufficiently offset heavy Q1 losses

  • To date, global gold ETFs have seen outflows of US$6.1bn (-118t), led by North American funds while partially offset by growth in Asia 
  • After a rocky start to the year, European funds are back to net positive following improved investor sentiment and price momentum, while large US funds continue to drive net global flows, both positively and negatively, in tandem with gold price fluctuations
  • Low-cost ETFs, having posted inflows each month and growing by 40% y-t-d (56.2t), now represent more than 5% of the total global gold ETF market
  • Despite slowing inflows recently, due to a robust Q1 Asian gold ETFs have led global growth y-t-d, adding more than US$1.0bn (14%) in 2021 thus far.

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information.

  2. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 31 July 2021.

  3. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined by the World Gold Council as exchange-traded open-ended funds listed in the US and Europe, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees and other expenses like FX costs of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, Goldman Sachs Physical Gold ETF, iShares Gold Trust Micro, CI Gold Bullion Fund, WisdomTree Core Physical Gold, and Xtrackers IE Physical Gold ETC.

  4. ‘Other’ regions include Australia, South Africa, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

  5. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 31 July 2021.

  6. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 27 July 2021.

  7. From 5 January 2021 to 27 July 2021, based on available data.

  8. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance-industry standard that gives a perspective on how much investment reaches the funds. We have made a few adjustments and improvements to our calculation methodology as of 1 July 2021 that will impact historical and future data. Specifically, we revised the methodology used to estimate changes in gold holdings as described below:

    • Previously, changes in tonnes were calculated by converting a fund’s AUM (in USD) into gold holdings (in tonnes) and computing the difference over periods. However, currency movements and large daily and weekly gold price movements could distort the difference between tonnage change and US-dollar fund flows during short time horizons. We therefore adjusted tonnage change as a function of fund flows versus AUM and replaced the tonnage change field with fund flows (tonnes).
    • Now, for most funds, we estimate US-dollar fund flows, as described in section 2.3.2 below, and then convert those flows to fund flows (tonnes). 
    • Fund flows (tonnes) and US-dollar fund flows will now represent a more aligned explanation of investment demand for gold ETFs, while the true holdings of a fund, in US dollars and tonnage, will remain a close estimate, impacted by the currency and price volatility described above.
    • Based on our initial analysis, the changes are not likely to have a material long-term effect on historical information, particularly on a global or regional aggregate basis, but will adjust short-term fluctuations that can sometimes occur due to input data and timing variations.
  9. A large portion of iShares Gold Trust Micro (IAUM) inflows was likely a transfer from iShares Gold Trust (IAU), which operates under the same parent company with higher management fees.

Rate this content: