ETF每月评论

2019年4月,全球黄金ETF持仓总量微降2%,目前呈现年内净流出态势

已发布:

月度流量 月度流量数据

4月全球黄金ETF和类似产品的黄金持仓总量下降57吨,跌至2424吨,相当于流出资金22亿美元。由于本月黄金价格下跌1%,其全球管理资产规模(AUM)下滑3%,余额为1000亿美元。目前全球黄金ETF资金流出(-3.77亿美元,-0.4%资产管理规模),逆转了1月份的强劲开局.

 

黄金ETF流量数据

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 上海黄金交易所, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

主要受流动性最强的黄金ETF的推动,无论是从绝对数字还是从百分比上,北美地区均引领流出量,减仓46吨(-19亿美元,-3.7%)。这是近一年来美国低成本黄金ETF首次出现月度的净流出。这一下行趋势主要受美国股市看涨情绪的影响,美国股市继续创下新高,隐含波动率降至2018年10月前的水平,同时美元升至两年高位。

欧洲黄金ETF逆转月初的流入态势,减仓8吨(-2.57亿美元),其中大部分资金流出来自英国(在2月份达到历史高位后)。由于英国退欧至少推迟了6个月,投资者情绪改善,英镑走强,逆转了黄金ETF前几个月的积极趋势。

亚洲黄金ETF流出4%的资金,主要来自中国的基金,原因在于当地投资者从黄金转向其他资产,并获利了结,大部分投资者将资金转移至今年第一季度上涨逾25%的股市中。

4月份,黄金日交易量降至1.06亿美元,比2018年的平均水平低7%。纽约商品交易所(COMEX)黄金期货的净多头头寸在经过几个月的涨势后跌破历史均值,凸显近期黄金市场的看跌情绪,这与ETF的净流出态势相符。COMEX期货期权的未平仓合约大幅下跌,进一步说明了近期流动性下降。此外,尽管实际波动率有所上升,但黄金期权的隐含波动率已降至近一年低点,这表明市场预计金价的实际波动率不会显著上升。

虽然投资者对全球经济的悲观情绪有所改善,但仍存在潜在风险迹象。股票估值过高,欧洲政治不确定性犹存,中美贸易关系悬而未决,这些都可能造成市场动荡。我们的研究表明,在股市下滑数个标准差的过程中,黄金与股票市场的负相关性变得愈加明显——相当于VIX指数的峰值与股市的负相关性。

此外,市场仍在调整,以适应美联储政策由收紧转向中性,以及美联储最近就其未来决策的“过渡性”发表的评论。目前,债券市场隐含的美联储年底以前降息的概率为54%,在美联储对于“过渡性”评论发表后,美联储降息概率才降至了当前水平(在评论发表前,降息概率曾高达70%)。全球许多央行已从美联储政策中得到暗示:利率可能不会大幅上升。我们认为,这种转变将继续支撑金价,正如我们近期的报告《货币政策对黄金的影响》 所强调的,从历史上看,美联储政策由收紧转向中性,往往导致黄金价格(以美元计算)在随后的12个月内大幅上涨。

展望未来,我们认为金融市场的不确定性、货币政策的转向以及主要黄金市场的结构性经济改革,都将影响黄金在2019年的表现(请参阅《2019展望》)。

各地区流量

4月北美黄金ETF减仓4%,引领全球流出

  • 北美地区:黄金ETF减持46吨(持仓金额减少19亿美元,资产管理规模下降3.7%);
  • 欧洲地区:黄金ETF仓位下降8吨(-2.57亿美元,-0.6%));
  • 亚洲地区:黄金ETF减仓2.5吨(-1.14亿美元,-4%);
  • 其他地区:流出0.4吨(-1600万美元,-1.3%)。

基金流量变化

美国低成本黄金ETF在一年多的时间内首现流出

  • 北美地区:SPDR® Gold Shares减持38吨(-16亿美元,-5%),紧随其后的是iShares Gold Trust,减仓6吨(-2.52亿美元,-2%),占据流出前两位
  • 英国地区:iShares Physical Gold和ETFS Physical Gold各减持6吨,共流出约5亿美元;
  • 欧洲地区:Invesco Physical Gold本月增仓8吨(+3.37亿美元,+7%),成为一大亮点。这只基金是欧洲黄金ETF持仓量增幅最大的,今年截至四月总计增持12吨(+5.2亿美元,+11%)。
  • • 亚洲地区:博时基金的上市基金是亚洲唯一一只增持3吨(+1.15亿美元,+32%)的基金,原因或在于其未上市基金份额持续向主基金的转入。亚洲最大的基金华安黄金ETF减仓5吨(-2.28亿美元,-24%),今年总流出33%。

长期趋势变化

2019年全球黄金ETF持仓减幅约0.4%

  • 目前,由于2019年黄金价格(以美元计算)实际上持平,全球黄金ETF呈净流出。
  • 到目前为止,总持仓量一直与黄金和美元价格息息相关,但长期战略投资者继续增持低成本的黄金ETF
  • 中国黄金ETF持仓量下降对亚洲总持仓量构成了打击,亚洲地区的资产较上年同期减少10%
  • 尽管4月份出现资金流出,但英国黄金ETF持仓量仍接近历史高位,其原因或在于英国脱欧的不确定性在过去几个季度推动了大量资金流入

**吨数/流量差异

**备注:我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。本月,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。

***美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Global gold-backed ETF holdings fell 2% in April, resulting in net 2019 outflows to date

Published:

PDF XLSX

In April, holdings in global gold-backed ETFs and similar products fell across all regions by 57 tonnes(t) to 2,424t, equivalent to US$2.2bn in outflows. Global assets under management (AUM) in US dollars fell by 3% to US$100bn, as the price of gold of gold fell 1% during the month. Global gold-backed ETFs have now lost assets of US$377mn, 0.4% AUM on the year, reversing January’s strong start.

 

ETF monthly flows

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, Shanghai Gold Exchange, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

North America led outflows in both absolute and percentage terms, losing 46t (US$1.9bn, 3.7% AUM); a loss driven primarily by the most liquid gold-backed ETFs. This was also the first month in over a year that low-cost gold backed ETFs in the US had net outflows.2 This negative trend has been influenced by bullish sentiment as the US stock market continued to reach new highs, implied volatility fell to pre-October 2018 levels, and the US dollar strengthened to a two-year high.

Europe gave up early-month inflows and lost 8t (US$257mn), with most of these outflows coming from the UK (after holdings reached all-time highs in February). The Brexit minimum six month delay improved investor sentiment and strengthened the pound, creating a shift in the positive trend seen in earlier months.

Asia lost 4% of assets, mainly from Chinese funds where local investors appear to be shifting assets away from gold, taking profits in local terms and moving money into local stock markets, which rallied over 25% during the first quarter.

Gold trading volumes in April decreased to US$106mn per day, 7% below the 2018 average. Net long positioning in COMEX futures fell after a few months of gains and now sit below historical averages, providing further evidence of the recent bearish gold market sentiment and coinciding with net outflows in ETFs. Open interest in COMEX futures options has fallen considerably – another example of a recent drop in liquidity. Additionally, implied volatility in the gold options space has fallen to a near one-year low despite the increase in realised volatility, suggesting the market does not foresee meaningfully higher realised volatility in gold prices in the near future.

While investor sentiment on the global economic outlook has improved, signs of potential risks remain. Stock valuations are stretched, there is political uncertainty in Europe, and US/China trade-relations remain unresolved; all factors that have the potential to create volatility in the markets. Our research indicates that gold becomes much more inversely correlated with the stock market when the stock market has multiple standard deviation moves to the downside – equivalent to spikes in the VIX.

In addition, the market continues to adjust to a shift in Federal Reserve policy from tightening to neutral and react to its most recent comment on the ‘transitory’ nature of its future decisions. And the bond market is currently pricing a ~50% chance of a cut by the end of the year; prior to the ‘transitory’ comment it had been as high as 70% during the month. Many global central banks have taken cues from Fed policy, indicating that rates are unlikely to increase by much. We believe this shift will remain supportive of gold as highlighted in our recent report The impact of monetary policy on gold, which finds that, historically, a change in the Fed’s policy from tightening to neutral results in a meaningful rise in US$ gold prices over the subsequent 12 months.

Looking forward, we believe that expectations of financial market uncertainty, shifts in monetary policy and structural economic reforms in major gold markets will influence gold’s performance in 2019 (see our 2019 Outlook).

Regional flows1

North American funds led global outflows losing 4% in April

  • North American funds saw outflows of 46t (US$1.9bn, 3.7% AUM)1
  • Holdings in European funds fell by 8t (US$257mn, 0.6%)
  • Funds listed in Asia decreased by 2.5t (US$114mn, 4%)
  • Other regions saw outflows of 0.4t (US$16mn, 1.3%)

Individual flows

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares lost 38t (US$1.6bn, 5%) and iShares Gold Trust lost 6t (US$252mn, 2%), the lion's share of the region's outflows
  • iShares Physical Gold and ETFS Physical Gold in the UK each lost ~6t, collectively losing around US$500mn
  • Invesco Physical Gold was a bright spot in Europe, adding 8t (US$337mn, 7%) over the month. This fund has the largest growth in Europe this year, having added 12t (US$520mn, 11%)
  • Bosera's listed fund was the only one in Asia to have inflows 3t (US$115mn, 32%), which is likely the effect of the continued unwind of its unlisted funds. Huaan Yifu, Asia's largest fund, lost 5t (US$228mn, 24%), making a total loss of 33% this year.

Long-term trends

ETF holdings have fallen 0.4% in 2019

  • Global gold-backed ETF flows are negative on the year as the price of gold during 2019 is now effectively flat in US dollars
  • Total holdings have been heavily gold- and dollar-price driven as of late, but long-term strategic holders continue to add to low-cost gold-backed ETFs
  • Holdings in Chinese funds have put a damper on total Asian holdings with assets in the region falling 10% on the year
  • Despite outflows in April, holdings in UK-based gold-backed ETFs remain near all-time highs, likely due to Brexit uncertainty driving heavy inflows over the past few quarters

Footnotes

  1. Note: We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. This month, the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction of the dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, Europe experienced outflows early in the month when the price of gold was low but gained assets later in month when the price of gold increased.

  2. Low-cost US-based gold backed ETFs are defined as gold-backed ETFs that trade on US markets with annual management fees of 20bps or less.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]